We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

As regular visitors to Barbados, we recently took the opportunity to book a couple of nights to see a different side of the Island. We booked the Martin's Bay room in the main hotel. The setting is stunning, the view over the Atlantic from the full length windows in the bedroom is fantastic. The room itself was spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortable. So why an average rating? Two reasons; the hotel facilities are limited (small pool, no lounge area) with the majority of the communal space downstairs given over to dining facilities for tour parties which descend on Wednesday and Sunday for the Bajan buffet lunch; and, overall, we didn't think that the hotel represented good value for money. A interesting place to stay if you can get a good deal for a night, but avoid Wednesday and Sunday.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moondance2010, Owner at The Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I must say that I do agree with the writers comments on coach tours passing through for a drink.
This happens once or twice a week and during February, the busiest month of the year, the numbers to tend to rise. The tour lasts about 20 minutes - and whilst can be a little overwhelming at times, I do not think it is a deal breaker ( if you know what I mean ) I will also add that our 10 room hotel needs the restaurant trade if it is to survive, so we do tend to be a busy restaurant during the winter months - being one of very few places to have lunch for all the people doing their own island tours.
Our swimming pool ( I think ) is a good size for the 10 rooms we have - check out the images on line.
Anyhow, the writer was very fair, and I thank him for his comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    35
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
133
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

You probably come to the Atlantis because you've heard that the views are fabulous (and they are breathtaking) and because you know the food is legendary (the best lobster in my life, not to mention the goat curry), but what really grabs you about this place is the people. They are so charming, friendly and engaging, and care a lot about what they do. If you want stiff-shirted, silver service formality, go to the West Coast. If you want the most delightful Bajan hospitality, come here.

Room Tip: Best to ask for an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our first ever overnight stay at the Atkantis. We own a house on the west coast of Barbados and often go to this hotel for lunch but as we had friends visiting we decided to mark his birthday by spending a night on the East Coast. We stayed in " 3 boys" with amazing views of the Atlantic. The accommodation just like the food is amazing - special thanks to Diane, Adrian and Victor for their friendly service - but all the staff are lovely just didnt catch all their names. Will be advising all my guests to spend a night over in the Atlantis - it is such a beautiful place and such a contrast to the platinum coast .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are Barbadians and we just spent a fantastic three nights at your hotel. When you are at the Atlantis Hotel, you feel that you are in a different part of the world - so tranquil and peaceful. We booked the Glenbernie room which had a most amazing view of the Atlantic. We left all of the windows open so that we could enjoy the view, breeze and hear the waves crashing on the rocks below. Truly relaxing place. All of the staff were efficient and extremely friendly. The dinners were all tasty, but we felt that the menu could have been varied more each night. Breakfast was good as usual. Truly an enjoyable time spent at your hotel. Looking forward to next year!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Atlantic are THE BEST!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had booked the room called Soup Bowl with a spectacular view. we left windows open to let the breeze and fresh air in. wonderful overall experience. Food was good and staff very friendly and helpful. To be recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea eg Soup Bowl
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are waiting for the Taxi to take us to the airport. We have had a wonderful time in this beautiful hotel. The staff and management are as friendly as anywhere we have ever stayed, the views of the Atlantic Ocean from our room and from the restaurant are mesmerising. The food was of a universally high standard for every sitting, all in all a magnificent break. We travel all over the World frequently and I wholeheartedly commend it all.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just arrived back after two weeks in Joe´s River room, the place is amazing and the staff do everything to you have the best Bathsheba experience. I surfed every morning at Soup Bowls, and after that I returned to Atlantis to enjoy the brekfast with the family watching the oceanview of Tent Bay. In afternoon a car ride to another unknown beatiful beach and at night usually a tasteful dinner at Atlantis. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.