We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bathsheba
dorset england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantis for Xmas and New Year but the IMPORTANT thing to note is that we were actually staying elsewhere on the Island until we visited The Atlantis for lunch one day and fell head over heels!!
We felt so welcomed and our waitress Tenile arranged for us to look around. The Manageress, Diane, was delightful and the rooms with sea views were nothing short of "wow!"
And so despite having paid accommodation already, we chose to come and stay for Xmas & N Year.
The setting is stunning with access to the coastal villages & the scenery whether inland or on the coast is amazing.
All the staff ,and we mean ALL the staff, are super. Tenile and Mischa and Diane made us feel so,so special but really. they all did, we just can't remember everyones names.
It was nice to see the owners on site and we will definitely visit their other hotel at Little Good Harbour (think that's it) when we return.
As for the food - well, I wish I could have taken the chef home. EVERY meal was a delight, breakfast, lunch and dinner, Superb. The Xmas buffet was fantastic, and they offer a buffet on a Sunday & one day in the week, I think.
The hotel had unexpected history of the old railway, fascinating.
This is not a place for nightlife, but for romance, relaxation, excellent food and service & simple "happiness" - is a must
The pool area is lovely ( occasionally a little "wiff" from somewhere - my only negative)
DEAR OWNER: Be proud of your staff - I have worked in a customer facing environment for 34 years, trust me - they are really great. All of them. And keep that Chef - he is a star!!

Left with tears in our eyes and hope to return and in the meantime we wish you every success for 2013 and beyond! Ged and Hilary Bracken

Room Tip: sea view is amazing !!!!!! Suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moondance2010, Owner at The Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review.
I must say that I totally agree with all that you have mentioned - I have said before that the staff - mainly from the Bathsheba area - are very welcoming and do give off a good vibe most of the time.
Well done to all of them.
We also hope to see you again sometime - spread the word that we exist and that Barbados does have an east coast with a great small, romantic hotel that everyone should check into for a few days during their holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    41
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
33
129
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

East coast Barbados. Waves. Wild. This hotel (we have visited 3x over 25 years) just was restored. OH WOW! The room. The people. The Bajan food. The rum (Mt. Gay please).
The east coast has it hands down over the west coast. The rugged beauty and most delightful people and maybe not so many visitors.

And surfers. Definitely worth watching with a Banks in hand.

Room Tip: Capernum. Faces the sea. 10 feet away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We went here for Sunday buffet again, and it's a perfect Sunday lunch! Can't beat the view - the beautiful rugged East Coast and the food is superb! Service is friendly, this really is a must do on any visit to Barbados!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's a great hotel with really big rooms, nice staff and great food. For sure is the best option if you are staying on the east side of the island. The only bad thing is that they don't have any SPA or massages like they announce.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moondance2010, Owner at The Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanks for the review.

We do have a SPA at our sister hotel Little Good Harbour, which we promote in our rooms at The Atlantis. Perhaps the writer was confused or unaware that the Spa is located at our sister hotel.
We can arrange in room massages at The Atlantis with prior notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The East Coast of Barbados is totally different, with refreshing breezes and Atlantic breakers, invariably blue skies with the odd white clouds and a clear blue sea.
Everyone visiting Barbados should drive out to experience it for themselves.
And every trip should include a stop at the Atlantis. Beautifully restored, it has a great terrace for lunch (the Sunday Buffet is very popular but we do recommend the A La Carte on other days). Even better stay overnight, the sea-view rooms are really special, with shaker style fixtures and lovely wooden floors. The sound of the sea is really romantic - and the bed linen and pillows are gorgeous.
And all the staff are lovely too. It's privately owned and sister to the very popular Fish Pot, the restaurant at Little Good Harbour on the West Coast. Both are great.

Room Tip: Go for the sea side rooms in the main building and open your floor to ceiling French doors to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Atlantis for 9 nights for our honeymoon in November. The Atlantis Hotel far exceeded our expectations! The room was amazing with an outstanding view - literally right on the ocean! The hotel was private, quiet, and romantic. For such a small and intimate hotel we had plenty of privacy. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and made us feel like family! The hotel is on the East coast but easily accessible to any of the attractions on the island with a short drive. The food at the Atlantis is outstanding. Bathsheba is very charming. My only word of caution would be once you get there you never want to leave! We dream of coming back - the perfect honeymoon destination!

Room Tip: Three Boys ocean view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 11 days in Barbados. The last 4 nights we spent at the Atlantis on the East coast. Everything from the nature and scenery down to the personal and kind attention of the staff was great.

We stayed two couples and I found very few things to wish for. We stayed in the Upper Capernum which has a small veranda overlooking the Atlantic Ocean crashing in. Seriously one of the most wonderful views you can hope to get.

This is not a 5-star property with 24 hr room service. Nor should it be. This is a very personal and great little property with a heritage story to tell.

We loved the staff and management. When you see the owner and his manager clear tables during a short downpour you know there is attention and care.

East coast in not great for swimming but we did small trips all the time and it is less than 30 minutes to Crane Beach. We had a car but the hotel will arrange for transports if need be.

Great restaurant with kind service.

I am not necessarily the greatest fan of Barbados but if I go back Atlantis is definitely on the must-go-again list.

I´d say it is absolutely great for couples and if you have a car bring the kids as well!

Special thanks to Diane (manager) who made our stay very memorable in deed.

Room Tip: Ocean facing makes sense. Views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moondance2010, Owner at The Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Happy New year to all that may read this review.

And thank you to the writer for the review.

I keep rehashing that if you treat people how you appreciate being treated, you will find that people are receptive. I personally think our staff at The Atlantis are genuinely a nice group of people who go out of their way to try a make our guests as happy as can be.

Well done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.