We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the fish!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cone Heads

Cone Heads
8020 Cape San Blas Rd., Cape San Blas, FL 32456
+1 850-229-5252
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Takeout
Lakeville, MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Try the fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stopped in for lunch just the other day and ordered the fish and chips basket for lunch at $5.99. I ordered it grilled. It was excellent. I'm not a huge fish lover but this was really good. It came with homemade potato chips . Top it off with some sweet ice tea and you have a perfect size lunch. The place doesn't look like much from the outside and in the winter months, business is slow so you almost wonder if it's open. Their hamburgers are wonderful also, but trying to eat a little less red meat so went for the fish. The waitress was very friendly and said the fish was Basa. A great white fish. I will go again....soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    60
    40
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetumpka, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I wish I could rate other foods here, but dang..the bugers are soo good, I can't try anything else. Did I mention how good the burgers are? The best is clean, the staff is friendly and its a neat little place. When you are out at the Cape, don't go past ConeHeads and go into town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Basic, good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Cape San Blas and our 2nd time eating at this restaurant. We were not disappointed either time. Menu is limited and pretty basic: seafood prepared grilled or fried. We had a combo platter of grilled shrimp and bay scallops (bay scallops are small - think the size of dice), complete with cole slaw, fries and hush puppies. The platter was enough food for us to split along with the black bean dip appetizer. Both dishes were good, and freshly prepared. Oftentimes, restaurants can overcook shrimp and scallops and they are rubbery - these were perfect and tender. We washed it down with a couple of beers and the total came to around $35 with tip.

This is not a place to go for gourmet food and great atmosphere. It is simple and basic and the decor is "tacky beach" having hot pink and purple painted walls.

This restaurant is family owned and the waiter was friendly (even to the woman that changed her to go order 4 different times).

We'll definitely be back to Coneheads next time we are on Cape San Blas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Would not go back....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The shrimp was spoiled but still served, could not even eat it. The scallops are tiny and tasteless. Got the order some what wrong. Unfortunately, I feel this place only makes it because it is nearly choice for travelers to eat. There for they also charge double the price. So it is not worth your time or money. The waiter was very nice though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food & excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We ate here during off season so the only options for seating were outside or a very small area indoors. Since it was still rather warm, we chose indoors. The waiter doubled as the ice cream attendant, however, he was very attentive and extremely personable and pleasant. The fish and shrimp baskets range from $12-$15. Since we had 2 small grandchildren we were thankful they did offer a Kid's Menu. The food was very good and plentiful. We BRIEFLY considered finishing off the meal with an ice cream cone but 3 scoops on a waffle cone was $7.50. I suppose if that's all you're going in for, then it would be considered reasonable given the location.
Tip: the menu does state that an 18% gratuity will be charged for parties of 6 or more so be sure and check your tab before adding a tip. There were 4 adults and 2 kids so our gratuity was included.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cone Heads also viewed

Cape San Blas, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Cone Heads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cone Heads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.