We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place, best beach in cr, beautiful beach with no one around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahari Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahari Beach Bungalows
Matapalo de Aquirre, Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place, best beach in cr, beautiful beach with no one around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Matapalo beach was the best I have ever been to, beyond beautiful, very clean with no one around, Loki and Johon were wonderful. After you stay here then stay at rafiki which is the same theme but in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent five days at the Bahari Beach in late November 2011. The big Safari tents with brick-built bathrooms that Ludwig and Andrea offer are very comfortable and clean. The location is the perfect place to relax – only four tents in a beautiful garden, a private pool, and numerous kilometers of Paradise like empty Pacific beach.
The drawback is the fact that it is difficult to find restaurants nearby and since we did not have a car we had dinner at the Bahari Beach every evening (for lunch we bought bread and fruits in Matapalo, which is roughly 40 min walk). They have a menu from which they offer two meals to choose every day. They name these meals to you and the prices are not shown as long as you not explicitly ask for them. For good reason: Ludwig is a good cook, but the food unfortunately is too expensive. We finally ended up with a $ 950 bill for the five days with the room only being $ 75 per night. Maybe, one should recommend to Andrea and Ludwig to add a simple and cheap Gallo Pinto on the menu.
In summary, the place is very beautiful and the Safari tents are worth the money. But you should come by car for having the chance to get dinner somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Bahari Beach Bungalows are a great place to stay if you enjoy the outdoors and being close to nature.  The tents we stayed in had comfortable beds and the tents were large enough to fit 2 adults comfortably.  The tents are yards from the beach and ocean, so it is lovely to be able to hear the waves rolling is as you sleep. The bathrooms in the tent are a bit dirty and are woefully outdated.  If you are particular about your restroom, this is not the spot for you.

Our host and one of the two men who live on the property, Johan, was average. He was responsible for the preparation of our meals and is likely there to help make the trip a good experience.  We found Johan to be unhelpful when it came to planning our adventures and slightly unapproachable.  We found ourselves tiring of Johan by the end of a 4-day stay.
The other man who lives on site is Alex. He was kind, friendly and always providing suggestions for how we might enjoy our stay. If you decide to go to Bahari, find Alex!

Buyer beware!  The meals at Bahari are VERY expensive for what you are provided.   A breakfast meal consists of granola, coffee, juice, fruit and cold toast. This meal is $7 per person plus the gratuity the tack on.  If you can avoid it, eat somewhere else!
We also had a lunch and dinner meal at Bahari. Neither meal was great or worth the price.  Again, if you can drive elsewhere to eat it is worth it.  

Room Tip: There are four tents available, all equally as good as the next!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

LOVED Bahari Beach Bungalows! The tents were much nicer than we expected. Lovely gardens surrounding them and a short walk to the beautiful and mostly deserted beach.

We purchased breakfasts at the restaurant for convenience sake. They were basic and if I had any complaint it was that some of the fruit served was bordering on too overripe. That's a shame for a place where GOOD fresh fruit is abundant.

After reading reviews on the cost of dinners, we chose to eat out. There are plenty of little sodas around and are easy to get to if you have a car. One of our favorite family memories is having dinners at a small restaurant close by called "Langosta Feliz". Tiny little place with wonderful owners and very good food.

In defense of the dinner prices, they weren't all that far off from other restaurants in the area. We didn't get 1/2 board option but the cost seemed reasonable compared to other places.

If you are looking for a cool experience, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Nice, modern tents with solid-brick bathrooms, decorated with fresh tropical flowers. A bit expensive, away from the bigger villages. Clean pool, hammocks, well-maintained gardens around the tents. Breakfast not included.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

we stayed in one of the safari tents four nights and enjoyed the pool, the beach and the tent. BUT the food in the restaurant is overpriced and whats worse is that prices are not shown. You will get a surprise when you see your bill.
So enjoy the place but buy your food down the road.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Ludwig and wife were pleasant and accommodating. the weather, November 2011 was hot and humid - not a surprise. The tents on the beach were neat, clean and could be spruced up a bit as they are showing signs of aging. No parking to speak of; typical Costa Rican dilapidated road including a harrowing bridge (no guard rail, gaps in the steel planking and obviously makeshift).

The food was pretty tasty particularly given the location (in the proverbial boondocks) but breakfast was a disappointment. The jam had no less than 5 flies drowning in the sweetness- it was disgusting. The eggs appeared to be prepared in an oven or microwave. A recent add to staff, Katarina, was very pleasant, although it must be culture shock to come from Austria to this desolate location.

If privacy and seclusion is what you want, this may be the place for you. If you do not like bugs (mosquitoes, flies and scorpions) maybe this is NOT the place for you.

Please go over the bill closely. Ludvig is very nice but fast with numbers and converts in his head. We paid for two nights, stayed for one night; after having paid the bill, we were charged another $64 for drinks, which even though they were on the bill, he says were not included in the payment. Caveat emptor. My bad. Enjoy but do be mindful this is a limited service, no air conditioned, natural site.

Room Tip: two tents are beach side; others are set back a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahari Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahari Beach Bungalows

Also Known As:
Bahari Beach Bungalows Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Bahari Beach Bungalows Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
Hotel Bahari Beach
Bahari Beach Bungalows Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo
Address: Matapalo de Aquirre, Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Playa Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahari Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bahari Beach Bungalows to your Saves list