We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice setting but a little run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bahari Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahari Beach Bungalows
Save
You added Bahari Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Matapalo de Aquirre, Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Matapalo
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“nice setting but a little run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Ludwig and wife were pleasant and accommodating. the weather, November 2011 was hot and humid - not a surprise. The tents on the beach were neat, clean and could be spruced up a bit as they are showing signs of aging. No parking to speak of; typical Costa Rican dilapidated road including a harrowing bridge (no guard rail, gaps in the steel planking and obviously makeshift).

The food was pretty tasty particularly given the location (in the proverbial boondocks) but breakfast was a disappointment. The jam had no less than 5 flies drowning in the sweetness- it was disgusting. The eggs appeared to be prepared in an oven or microwave. A recent add to staff, Katarina, was very pleasant, although it must be culture shock to come from Austria to this desolate location.

If privacy and seclusion is what you want, this may be the place for you. If you do not like bugs (mosquitoes, flies and scorpions) maybe this is NOT the place for you.

Please go over the bill closely. Ludvig is very nice but fast with numbers and converts in his head. We paid for two nights, stayed for one night; after having paid the bill, we were charged another $64 for drinks, which even though they were on the bill, he says were not included in the payment. Caveat emptor. My bad. Enjoy but do be mindful this is a limited service, no air conditioned, natural site.

Room Tip: two tents are beach side; others are set back a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We've just spent two days in one of the tents in Bahari Beach and I must say the whole experience has been amazing. Although I didn't sleep very well the first night as it took a little while to get used to being so close to the sea I was told by another tourist that she experienced the same! The bed in the tent is king size with a memory foam mattress and extremely comfortable. The bathroom is generously proportioned and modern. Most of the time we were on our own on the beach which stretches 30 km. We ended up taking all our meals at the hotel as other tourist told us not to bother with neither Quepos nor Dominical. The food was absolutely delicious. On the first night we had a Ceviche with three types of fish, main course was a filet of Marlin marinated in garlic and ginger on a bed of rice with a salad and desert a homemade chocolate tart with a strawberry coulis. Ludwig, the Austrian owner told us that he would alternate fish and meat each evening. We paid USD 30 + tax for half board and just had to pay separately for wine and lunches. For lunch we had pasta and salad with chicken stripes and all was very tasty. I found the USD 30 Ok as this was for a very nice breakfast and a 3 course dinner. The couple Andrea and Ludwig were extremely accomodating to the point you didn't actually want to leave! I higly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Safari tents were amazing. They are set 25 yards from the beach and you can hear the waves all day and night long. It is not exactly roughing it in these tents - they were so comfortable with a beautiful bathroom attached in the back! The hosts are so great and have wonderful suggestions and advice for the area.

The sleepy town of Matapalo is great for anyone who wants to get away and check out for a few days!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Andrea & Ludwig are great hosts and their staff (the cook, Alex, the masseur) were wonderful. Sleeping in those safari tents was like sleeping right outside in the nature but with much more comfort. The food cooked by Ludwig and his cook from Peru was excellent. Although we enjoyed our stay at Bahari one has to know that accommodation and the meals are pricy, both quality is very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This unique little gem location has all the potential to be a true treasure...a lovely quiet beach, remote but easlily accessed, wild-life; but there's a broken down pavillion with a obivioulsy soggy broken down massage table littering the beach, other small stuctures also littering the beach creating homes for mosquitos--Lovely and gracious owners who are too busy with their personal life to know if they are coming or going...cooks that don't show for meals that are scheduled...and outragously priced meals (no menu to guide us) when they are finally prepared. 150.00 for dinner for two with a bottle of wine (which the owners wife had to run to the store to get- not a vintage Bordeaux) and continental b'fast. I would recommend to others but plan to eat elsewhere and go for the peaceful beach experience and conversation, NOT service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We intended to stay 2 days in Bahari beach in Matapalo beach, but ended up staying 5 nights. I was not sure to write this review not to let the secret out, but the beach is absolutaly stunning and completely desserted, except for the people staying at Bahari beach and a couple of other folks, staying or living in the "village" of Matapalo. We had tent 2 with views directly over the beach, which was excellent. We found just the luxuary, we were looking for ( clean tent and fully equipped bathroom, excellent food, swimming pool, etc) cooked by our host Usi from Austria who did everything to make our stay very pleasant. Its informal but personal knows exactly how to give you your own space and be present at the same time. I Note that obviously the place is very humid as your tent is straight on the beach. If you cannot cope with that, you can better stay away. would with no doubt recommend this place to stay several nice and enjoy the quite beach of Matapalo and spot some wildlife now and then. We hope this place remains as untouched and unique as it we found it during our three week trip in Costa Rica. This was definitely one of the most special places we stayed !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We sought a secluded beach vacation away from high-traffic tourist areas, and this fit the bill perfectly. Nearly every minute at this intimate resort was a delight, from watching monkeys in the trees to strolling the empty beach to watching sunsets that put one at a loss for words. Consider this a rustic experience with luxury touches. We found the tent "bungalows" spacious, comfortable and sparkling clean. While not inexpensive the prepared meals were reasonably good, and everthing was fresh. Tip: bring your own for sipping on the beach or lolling on your tent porch--we purchased mixed drinks one evening, and those were mediocre and overpriced. For us, this was a special place, one we have recommended to many friends.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahari Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahari Beach Bungalows

Address: Matapalo de Aquirre, Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bahari Beach Bungalows Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Bahari Beach Hotel
Hotel Bahari Beach
Bahari Beach Bungalows Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahari Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.