We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahari Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahari Beach Bungalows
Matapalo de Aquirre, Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Playa Matapalo
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We've just spent two days in one of the tents in Bahari Beach and I must say the whole experience has been amazing. Although I didn't sleep very well the first night as it took a little while to get used to being so close to the sea I was told by another tourist that she experienced the same! The bed in the tent is king size with a memory foam mattress and extremely comfortable. The bathroom is generously proportioned and modern. Most of the time we were on our own on the beach which stretches 30 km. We ended up taking all our meals at the hotel as other tourist told us not to bother with neither Quepos nor Dominical. The food was absolutely delicious. On the first night we had a Ceviche with three types of fish, main course was a filet of Marlin marinated in garlic and ginger on a bed of rice with a salad and desert a homemade chocolate tart with a strawberry coulis. Ludwig, the Austrian owner told us that he would alternate fish and meat each evening. We paid USD 30 + tax for half board and just had to pay separately for wine and lunches. For lunch we had pasta and salad with chicken stripes and all was very tasty. I found the USD 30 Ok as this was for a very nice breakfast and a 3 course dinner. The couple Andrea and Ludwig were extremely accomodating to the point you didn't actually want to leave! I higly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Safari tents were amazing. They are set 25 yards from the beach and you can hear the waves all day and night long. It is not exactly roughing it in these tents - they were so comfortable with a beautiful bathroom attached in the back! The hosts are so great and have wonderful suggestions and advice for the area.

The sleepy town of Matapalo is great for anyone who wants to get away and check out for a few days!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Andrea & Ludwig are great hosts and their staff (the cook, Alex, the masseur) were wonderful. Sleeping in those safari tents was like sleeping right outside in the nature but with much more comfort. The food cooked by Ludwig and his cook from Peru was excellent. Although we enjoyed our stay at Bahari one has to know that accommodation and the meals are pricy, both quality is very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This unique little gem location has all the potential to be a true treasure...a lovely quiet beach, remote but easlily accessed, wild-life; but there's a broken down pavillion with a obivioulsy soggy broken down massage table littering the beach, other small stuctures also littering the beach creating homes for mosquitos--Lovely and gracious owners who are too busy with their personal life to know if they are coming or going...cooks that don't show for meals that are scheduled...and outragously priced meals (no menu to guide us) when they are finally prepared. 150.00 for dinner for two with a bottle of wine (which the owners wife had to run to the store to get- not a vintage Bordeaux) and continental b'fast. I would recommend to others but plan to eat elsewhere and go for the peaceful beach experience and conversation, NOT service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We intended to stay 2 days in Bahari beach in Matapalo beach, but ended up staying 5 nights. I was not sure to write this review not to let the secret out, but the beach is absolutaly stunning and completely desserted, except for the people staying at Bahari beach and a couple of other folks, staying or living in the "village" of Matapalo. We had tent 2 with views directly over the beach, which was excellent. We found just the luxuary, we were looking for ( clean tent and fully equipped bathroom, excellent food, swimming pool, etc) cooked by our host Usi from Austria who did everything to make our stay very pleasant. Its informal but personal knows exactly how to give you your own space and be present at the same time. I Note that obviously the place is very humid as your tent is straight on the beach. If you cannot cope with that, you can better stay away. would with no doubt recommend this place to stay several nice and enjoy the quite beach of Matapalo and spot some wildlife now and then. We hope this place remains as untouched and unique as it we found it during our three week trip in Costa Rica. This was definitely one of the most special places we stayed !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We sought a secluded beach vacation away from high-traffic tourist areas, and this fit the bill perfectly. Nearly every minute at this intimate resort was a delight, from watching monkeys in the trees to strolling the empty beach to watching sunsets that put one at a loss for words. Consider this a rustic experience with luxury touches. We found the tent "bungalows" spacious, comfortable and sparkling clean. While not inexpensive the prepared meals were reasonably good, and everthing was fresh. Tip: bring your own for sipping on the beach or lolling on your tent porch--we purchased mixed drinks one evening, and those were mediocre and overpriced. For us, this was a special place, one we have recommended to many friends.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

If you're looking for a secluded area, this is a great place. There wasn't a lot to do in this small town, which is exactly what my boyfriend and I were looking for. We wanted a quiet location without a lot of people. This definitely fit what we were looking for. The town is very small, which we enjoyed. The deluxe tent was clean and spacious. We stayed in one of the deluxe tents in the front, which I would recommend as it has the best views of the ocean. It was very relaxing to sit on the front porch at night. The beach was beautiful.

As others have mentioned, the cost of food was high--$7-10 for breakfast and $25-30 for dinner per person. We stayed 4 nights, so we only ate dinner there one night and breakfast twice. We ate at Pulperia Del Mar several times and it is close enough to walk to. It was nothing fancy, but cheap. There is also a little grocery store there. We were able to get a few things and keep them in the fridge in the room. We also ate at Los Incas, which was off the main road.

The owners are kind and helpful. They set up a horseback riding tour for us. If you're looking for a quiet, secluded place, this is great. Just know that there are other places to eat because their meals add up quickly. Also, don't forget the mosquito repellent. We were expecting them to be bad in Monteverde, but it they were worse here. We would consider staying here again if we headed back to this area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahari Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahari Beach Bungalows

Address: Matapalo de Aquirre, Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Playa Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bahari Beach Bungalows Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Bahari Beach Hotel
Hotel Bahari Beach
Bahari Beach Bungalows Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahari Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bahari Beach Bungalows to your Saves list