We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury tenting on a beautiful Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafiki Beach Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rafiki Beach Camp
Save Saved
You added Rafiki Beach Camp to your Saves list
1 Km North of the Soccer Field, Beach Road, Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury tenting on a beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Rafiki Beach Camp is a lovely quiet paradise with a unique accommodation experience. There are only 4 tents so you escape the crowds and noise of large hotels. The beach is private and so beautiful. It is miles and miles long. There is plenty to do here. Swimming, surfing, horseback riding, kayak tours etc. If not right on the property they will arrange it for you. It is a family run business and has a very personal touch. The breakfasts were great. Most of the guests that were there when we stayed were families. We were 3 adults and we loved it just as much as the families did. The kids seemed to love the pool. The tent accommodations were fantastic. Not like camping at all except for the sounds of nature. Thanks to the owners and great staff. We highly recommend this place for anyone looking for something different.

Room Tip: request one of the two tents facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rafiki beach Camp is awesome for families, and true to the name of Costa Rica, the coast and beach is beautiful, pristine and you feel right at home in the lovely tents right at the edge of the Pacific. It is fun to have the kids playing on the hammocks and swings out front as you enjoy a cold glass of white wine on the porch. Not to mention the sloth friend we made and the amazing kayak trip through the mangroves with Lautjie- a special way to end an incredible day and welcome in 2013 with fireworks and beach BBQ!
Glamping it up at Rafiki Beach Camp!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here one night, October 30, 2012, as part of a Costa Rica tour. I will never forget this place. The "tent" was large, with a king sized bed and full bathroom including a shower and refrigerator. The place was in the process of changing hands and the new owners, Lautjie (Loki) and Mauren took great care of us. I woke up here on the morning of my 60th birthday and it couldn't have been better. I took a nice long walk on the beautiful deserted beach. (I did encounter a couple of friendly dogs.) Then we had a nice breakfast prepared by our hosts.
I intend to come back here when I return to Costa Rica and spend at least a week next time!

Room Tip: There are four tents. Two of them are right on the beach and two of them are behind the others. If e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A pleasant and practical relaxing atmosphere :) I would go back in a hear beat - very chill atmosphere, beautiful beach, very great owners and a wonderful experience. The flora and fauna in Matapalo and nearby reserve were amazing. The beach was secluded, quiet, and very peaceful. But cold beers were still available.

Travis Christie

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the BEGINNING to the END of my family’s twelve day stay, we never disappointed. Not only were all of our needs met, but Rafiki felt like home. The safari tents were both inviting and elegant at the same time – bringing a small piece of African adventure to Costa Rica. The outdoor kitchen was set up by the management so that we could cook for ourselves as a family, on the nights that we did not wish to eat in the nearby village of Matapalo. The lodge served amazing fruits, coffee and eggs every morning – and we ate breakfast while looking out into the Pacific Ocean.

While we were not far from larger towns, we felt as if we were on a remote beach. Every employee of Rafiki became a part of our family during this trip, and treated us also as part of their family. The managers – Maureena and Loki – shared their equipment and advice with us every step of the way. Through Rafiki we kayaked the Savegre river, seeing mangroves, birds, and reptiles while paddling through a nearby nature reserve. A ten minute walk down the road brought us to a local horse farm, where we could ride on the beach in early mornings to see dolphins, monkeys and sloths. Oh – and the most beautiful sunsets in all of Costa Rica!

Elizabeth Clapp
Ithaca, NY

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Amazing owners - amazing location - amazing price.

Rustic, simple, and perfect. We spent two weeks at Rafiki and it felt like home after three days. I would recommend this place to anyone - the only thing stopping me is the fact that I want it to remain small, sweet, and unknown :)

Room Tip: tent lodging - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This used to be Bahari Beach Bungalows and changed owners / management about in Fall 2012. I think this place will further improve as the new management works on upgrading the hotel. Service and management was very friendly and helpful. This "hotel", with its tent cabin rooms, is essentially right on the beach (100m to walk). The beach here is large and goes as far as the eye can see. Rooms and pool were clean, if a bit outmoded. Breakfast was in the open area next to the pool. There is no longer a restaurant at the hotel, but there are several pretty good options nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rafiki Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafiki Beach Camp

Address: 1 Km North of the Soccer Field, Beach Road, Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Playa Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Rafiki Beach Camp Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafiki Beach Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.