We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food in a traditional setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayview Hotel

Mayview Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Monans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayview Hotel
Save
You added Mayview Hotel to your Saves list
40 Station Road, St Monans, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 St Monans B&B and Inns
Tarleton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quality food in a traditional setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I like the Mayview as it shows a real determination to flourish and please its customers.In a small community it offers bar food ,resturaunt,B&B and functions.So it is a real asset to St monans.Several of my family have used it for various reasons.The recent meal we had in the bar was of the highest quality ,in particular our children enjoyed the steak pie.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here at the end of August and we really enjoyed it. The staff members were very helpful and made us feel welcomed. Our room was nicely decorated and clean and it had an en suite shower room which had everything we needed, from towels to shower gel. We had dinner here and we were very impressed with our fishy selections especially since they were locally caught and very fresh. Breakfast was delicious!
St Monans is a beautiful place right on the coast, with loads of history and interesting places to see like the windmill, the old church, the harbour and the local heritage centre. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very professional, friendly and helpful team made me feel welcome and pampered from the start to the end of my stay here.

The room was comfortable and spotless with a wide variety of channels on the tv to choose from. The thick curtains blocked out the daylight at bedtime from the long Scottish summer light and coupled with the rooms being nice and quiet, made for a good nights sleep.

The restaurant was excellent and menu offering a wide choice. My favourite is always seafood in this part of the world and the fish was always cooked to perfection.

The bar had a very warm, local feel to it with friendly patrons only too keen to have a "blether" or chat about pretty much anything. The old well in the bar brings an unique charm to the place indicating that this building has a long history.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stay or indeed even a meal or a pint in this beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel but had a meal there on a rainy Monday night while holidaying in St. Monan's. The bar was quiet but began to fill up as the evening went on. The menu was adequate and there was quite a lot of fish dishes to choose from. I had a seafood platter which was enjoyable and my husband had scampi and chips. The staff were friendly and the service was good. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We used this Hotel,before a wedding,had a fantastic meal,and used it for the wedding reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hotel, has restaurant & bar/lounge serving good food, Well above average pub food, seafood is fresh, well cooked & very good. Other mains etc are again well above average for pub food. Staff very nice & attentive, wine very reasonable.
Have been here on numerous occasions and never had any issues.
If your in he area & looking for a nice meal hat is not too pricey then try the Mayview.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Had the occasion to visit the Mayview Hotel at the weekend with family foir a meal. The food was gorgeous. The carrot and corriander soup was delicious; the roast beef was plentyful and the sticky toffee pudding with toffee sauce and ice cream was to die for. You will not be disappointed with the food here. The female who looked after us all was exceptionally polite and friendly, as were most of the other staff. Would definately visit again when back in the area. Thank you very much for a beautiful meal x

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayview Hotel

Address: 40 Station Road, St Monans, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Monans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Monans
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mayview Hotel St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.