We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the time of my life” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club to your Saves list
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
| East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
glasgow
1 review
“the time of my life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

this is the third time ive stayed at kilconquhar castle,the setting is lovely.horses in the paddocks,beautiful views,wildlife all around,a lovely tranquil retreat for all the family,the staff are lovely,granted it may not be five star material or anything that resembles it.but the surroundings make up for the lack of luxury advertised,my family stayed at one of the premier homes,was very clean'but premier it was not.it is very over priced and not prepared very well,bulbs not replaced hoover not working.lots of silly little jobs that should be done for ones arrival,all this estate needs is some t l c,and brought back into the 21st century.even the staff agreed and spoke with the owner,but to no avail,the sad thing is,it would take very little to bring thishidden gem back to its formar glory,whats that old saying,you have to speculate to accumilate,they would come in their flocks if the owner of this estate put his hands in his pocket,go o0n make my day,spend some of that hard earned cash we give you and make kilconquhar castle something special.

  • Liked — the conservatory
  • Disliked — worn out furniture
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    96
    54
    17
    24
See reviews for
116
87
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

As a timeshare owner for many years I had always dreamed of staying in this prestige resort. My husband's dream trip of golf at St Andrews for his 50th birthday presented an ideal opportunity. This place does not live up to any expectations - very few actually stay in the resort itself, the cabins in the grounds are very ugly and dated (although roomy), the electrician from hell wired the place, a million switches and hardly any worked, the washing machine/dryer didn't work and no-one could help us.

Don't believe what they say about a world-class equestrian facility - it's staffed by patronising rude people who don't care a jot whether you've ridden before or not - everyone gets the same nags that won't do anything but walk the standard trail.

I'm over timeshare - you are treated as second class citizens everywhere, and this resort is a great example of how things are written up as wondeful, but it's all smoke and mirrors.

Our whole party loved the area though - visited many local villages and it was just beautiful. Elie golf course is awesome!

  • Liked — The location - local restaurants and scenery.
  • Disliked — Dreadful facilities, everything run down and being asked to pay to use the trampoline!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We booked a 4 night New Year break at Kilconquhar. We paid £850 for 4 nights self catering for 2 adults and 2 children.
When we checked in we were directed to Rose Cottage which turned out to be about 1/2 mile away from the centre of the resort with the last few hundered yards down an unlit, muddy, pot holed track. Dangerous!
The cottage was really shabby, with a strong smell of damp and yucky stains on the furniture and carpets. This looked nothing like the images on the web site, so we went back to reception and explained that we would not stay in such sub standard accommodation. After discussing this with the reception manager for about an hour and a half - we were left with no alternative but to leave - a diappointed family, new year break ruined and no refund of £850! As directed by the reception manager I wrote a letter of complaint to the owner asking for a refund, I have so far received a letter from him saying that we will not be getting any money back, and giving me the name of his lawyer! I think he must be accustomed to complaints if he has a lawyer to deal with them. Anyway, stay well clear - not only because the web site is totally misleading about this cottage but also because the customer servive policy is ' if you don't like it - TOUGH!'

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

My friend had points with RCI, basically a timeshare. We flew into Edinburgh and had arranged for transportation to the castle. It is a castle though we did not stay in it. Instead we were in a little bungalow or "villa". It was very nice. 3 bedrooms and 3 baths. Fresh towels on Tuesdays. It is in the country and within walking distance of the town for which it is named. There is another town within walking distance and a bus does run semi regularly by the castle. If you want to stay connected to your business, don't try to do it here. Internet is inconsistent and wireless connections are unheard of. There was a possibility of wireless at one of the towns, but they weren't sure. Wifi was found in St. Andrews at a little cafe. You pay for electricity if you are staying there. There is a little store with limited hours, but you may purchase things in town. When we were there at the beginning of Fall, it was a little chilly, but usually quite nice and not too much rain. I quite enjoyed myself. I went to the traditional dinner. It was full of fun. There was dancing and we all had the opportunity to try haggis, if we so desired. I thought the people were quite nice and seemed to be helpful. I would go back again.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

There were 16 of us staying in 2 cottages, which were very clean, spacious and had the most beautiful view from the patio doors....
We were there for a hen weekend, and as there were so many of us, we were concerned that some people may not find an activity to their liking. We need not have worried, some of the "hens" enjoyed the pool and steam room, some went a walk into the village and found a nice local pub and the rest went on a horse ride which was just wonderful...we had a lovely sunny (but bitterly cold) weekend there and loved every minute of it!
We were lucky enough to have booked on a weekend when there was a murder mystery taking place. The food was lovely and the entertainment was great, we had a good giggle with the actors and they were all really nice...later we all went back to the cottages and had a lovely time drinking and playing daft games!
How any body could fault this place is beyond me... I am already planning with friends to go back, of course on a murder mystery weekend....not laughed so much in a long time....I would recommend this for girly weekends and families...not so much for groups of men though, and not for anyone looking for a really wild weekend.....great place though!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

I booked a stay at this estate for a few nights as my husband and I were celebrating our 8th Wedding Anniversary and decided to get away for a few days.

Once we checked in (which was very staight forward) we booked into our room, I was not very impressed with the rooms decor however it was clean and enough for what we needed.

The food in the castle restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly and very happy to assist.

Our overall stay was excellent, we swam in the pool which was clean and free of children around 7:30pm.

I had a massage which was excellent and very proffessional.

As a part of the price and package we received for our stay we were required to go on the tour for a time share. Once we were shown the deluxe villas we were hooked. We bought two!

I can't wait until New Year and I can invite my family for a fun filled relaxing break in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Liked — The gym, pool, spa, villas, restaurant
  • Disliked — Location of the reception
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Stayed here using timeshare "points". Having read mixed reviews, not sure what to expect, but enjoyed our stay. Can't understand why only one key is supplied for the unit, when the one we had could have accommodated 6 people. The 3 bed castle suite was very spacious and extremely well equipped with crockery, towels etc. Ample supply of toilet paper, dishwasher detergent etc. ! Oven and microwave worked fine.( See previous review ). Took up the " dine in the pub on Sunday night, get a free breakfast in the Lindsay Room " offer, but had to negotiate to get breakfast on a day other than Monday. Disappointed then to find that the " Scottish " breakfast did not have porridge on the menu !
Avoid the pool between 5p.m. and 6p.m. which is kids "splashdown" time, after that it was quiet. Nice to have golf driving range facility on site. It is a pleasant walk to village, but no shop there. We also walked to Elie, about 2 miles, but a car is essential here. Decided to go to Edinburgh by train, receptionist very helpful re train times from Kircaldy, and gave us a map to show station car parking. For any middle rande golf handicappers, would recommend the Eden course at St. Andrews, excellent value at only £35.
For a dining treat go to theSeafood Restaurant in St. Monans, expensive but good . For cheaper good food go to the Ship inn in Elie.

  • Liked — spacious and well equipped
  • Disliked — poor lighting for reading in lounge
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.