We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel with first class management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel
59 Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaglesham B&B and Inns
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel with first class management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is clean and well presented with first class staff & management.
We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, the rooms superb with the building well presented and clean, the restaurant is very good with staff and management of the first order. We did however have a blip with hotels relief manager who lacked people skills and basic manners. Sadly he failed to deliver the high level of service we had been receiving from other staff, he was less than accommodating during our evening meal to say the least. This was soon rectified by the manager the next day whom I have to say handled our complaint extremely well.
The owners of this hotel have a first class manager in Carolyn and I commend her professionalism. I have no reservations in recommending this hotel who I feel truly have the guests best interests at heart. I look forward to returning when next in the area.

Room Tip: RECOMMENDED HOTEL... Great service, all our groups rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments, and delighted that you have a positive view point on the blip! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    52
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
85
87
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We held our wedding here on Sunday 5th May 2013 and cannot fault the venue, food or staff at all. The hotel has been fully refurbished to a high standard, rooms are light and airy - honeymoon suite is exquisite and the food is excellent. the staff cannot do enough to help and assist you. Special thanks to Carolyn and Russell who helped make our special day perfect and were very attentive with nothing being a problem. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, so glad you enjoyed your BIG DAY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now on business and always comfortable. The staff make it for me really always friendly, chatty and glad to help. As has been mentioned the rooms are on the snug side but very well decorated with very comfortable beds. In a village so no loud road noises at night. Restaurant and the attached bar are very nice too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments, so glad you keep coming back to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I held a Golden Wedding lunch party for over fifty guests. Beforehand, we were well advised by the Manager on suitable arrangements and, on the day, found the private room very suitable and the lunch menu excellent.
Many of our friends have commented on how fine the facilities were and the friendliness of the staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your day! Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Due to a last minute crisis, I booked in here. Wow - from start to finish, what a soothing experience. Really relaxed me after what was an exceptionally stressful night beforehand. 10/10 for everything.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
So glad you managed to chill - thanks for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The 'Eg' was home for my family for 7 weeks whilst our house was being renovated. The staff couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome and it truly was a home from home.
Every member of staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and made a fantastic job of acting 'in loco parentis', much to the annoyance of my boys!
The bedrooms are beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and exceptionally comfortable. Tea, coffee and shortbread were provided every day and nothing was too much to ask. Housekeeping bent over backwards for us.
Restaurant staff took time to chat and make us feel welcome, and the Chefs 'tweaked' the menu to suit us on several occasions. The food was consistently excellent, breakfast was excellent too and served with a cheery smile.
What was a very stressful time turned out to be a thoroughly pleasant experience.
The management team and staff are exceptional and deserve the highest of accolades.
Whilst it is great to be home we were all very sad to leave and thank every member of staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Even the night porters did not grumble when my boys appeared back in the 'wee small hours'. On our departure we were presented with a basket of goodies and wine to take with us, and a card signed with a personal message from each member of staff.. I was so touched!
The hotel is faultless, there is nothing I would change, and I have stayed in many hotels in this country and abroad. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for occasions such as weddings, christenings, family reunions etc. Each occasion receives the personal attention of management to ensure everyone has a great time.
We shall certainly not forget our prolonged stay at the Eg and can't thank everyone enough for their kindness and professionalism.
Lindsay and Mark Allen and Family

Room Tip: Room 19 was very comfortable and at the back of the hotel, but having seen the Honeymoon suite I wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Well, we really missed you all coming & going! I am sure you were really all delighted to get home and I can't thank you enough for the very kind comments you have posted. I am pleased that our chef's tweeked the menus for you, as after 7 weeks you must have been delighted to get home for beans & toast - although I am sure we could have done that for you! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a lovely, special day made not only by the celebration of two friends getting married but by the excellent venue, professional, efficient, helpful staff, fabulous food and atmosphere.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is getting married, the whole wedding took place in the hotel and from arriving to leaving you were treated excellently.
I look forward to visiting again this time for dinner with my partner and myself whether it be a special occasion or a Saturday night dinner, the venue, food, value for money, ambience will be well worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
What kind comments - I am glad you enjoyed the wedding, hopefully as much as the bride & groom! Each wedding day is special for family & friends as much as the happy couple. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel

Address: 59 Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Eaglesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaglesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1835, the BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel is an old coaching inn, privately owned set at the edge of the village green in the heart of the rural village of Eaglesham. Highly reputated locally and open for meals all day, the split level restaurant is tastefully decorated with feature fireplaces, tartan carpets and stag's heads with a nod to a Scottish country house hotel with a modern contemporary twist. The hotel has 34 en-suite rooms, comprising single, double & twin options as well as a banqueting suite catering for up to 120 for weddings & family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.