We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirleton Castle & Garden

Dirleton Castle & Garden
Dirleton Road, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5ER, Scotland
01620 850 330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Dirleton
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
London
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was here in the Summer - it was a lovely day as well [lets face it we were short of a few of those this year ! ] and had a great time.

Its a short drive from North Berwick and Dirleton is a charming little Village . I've eaten in the Dirleton Arms as well.

Tantallon Castle is my other favorite and whilst I think it has the most spectacular setting , Dirleton is better preserved imho. There is definitely a feeling of old times/people long gone about the place and I loved wandering around. In particular there is a little room with seats [ you can see it in a previous reviewer's photo's ] which is amazing. Certainly you could let your imagination run riot here but if you prefer something a little more factual there is a wikipedia page.

Overall a great place for an outing in a charming village in wonderful East Lothian.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Fun, Beautiful too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Absolutely Stunning Castle and gardens. We had great fun, playing with the kids, discovering all the nooks and crannys

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Romantic castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

One of the best preserved castles along the coastline. Nothing really special, but you can feel the atmosphere of a medieval fortress. The garden is worth a visit, too...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Lots to see and do, well worth a visit especially if you have young children with you. The youngsters who were there the same time as us had a fantastic time! The gardens are immaculately kept and very impressive!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birlin' Dirlton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Took some american friends here after a recommendation from the Tantallon castle ticket office, well worth visiting this impressive castle, it has a mishmash of rooms and cellars, some of the rooms seemed well spooky to me, my friends wouldnae go down the the dungeon...neither did I!. The DeVaux room impressed me the most, you could stand there and imagine what it must have looked like in the 15th century, the massive fireplace still had soot in the upper chimney. A stroll around the gardens is nice and if you fancy an evening meal, the Open Arms Inn, only a couple hundred yards away, is recommended. Five golden stars for all this.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirleton Castle & Garden also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
East Linton, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Dirleton Castle & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirleton Castle & Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.