We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Box Charm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Open Arms Hotel

Open Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dirleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Open Arms Hotel
Save
You added Open Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5EG , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dirleton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Picture Box Charm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were given a night at the Open Arms Hotel as an anniversary present!
We stayed for 1 night on the 1st Dec 2012 and it was absolutely charming.
The Hotel is spotless, white linen on beds, food excellent standard, service very attentive and owner extremely hands-on!
The interior was bedecked in Christmas decorations and the exterior on the village green opposite Direlton Castle was picture postcard just perfect for a weekend get away.
Would we return? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    33
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent three wonderful days at this gem of a hotel, with friends who were returning for their third visit. Situated in the picturesque village of Dirleton, with easy access to North Berwick the Open Arms is ideal for golfers with many fine courses nearby, John Muir trails for ramblers and beautiful beaches to enjoy.
Our room was spacious and very comfortable, with access to the garden, which had a gate leading to a lane, perfect for walking our Lakeland terrier - dogs are welcome - what a bonus - no kennel fees!!
We had dinner in the Bistro, excellent food from an extensive menu, beautifully presented and served by friendly staff. Breakfast menu was equally first class.
This was our first visit but will not be our last!

Room Tip: Garden rooms 21-24 - although I'm sure all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our first visit to Dirleton proved to be a high quality experience with the hotel exceeding our expectations. Dinner and breakfast menus offered a good range of choice with ingredients from local sources. Staff were pleasant and obliging - a warm welcoming cup of coffee on our early arrival the prelude to excellent service at both meals.. Essentially, a Scottish hotel with character and one which we will revisit happily. Real value for money,too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

everything about this hotel is first class with really friendly staff providing wonderful service. Both breakfast and dinner was of exceptional quality and i am sure i will return in the future. There is nothing bad i could find to say about this hotel, even the location and surroundings are really nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lovely hotel, delightful village. Our room was spotless, warm, big and comfortable. Though we didn't eat dinner here, the restaurant was busy and the staff helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent, but the main breakfast and dining room rather tired and a little basic compared with the rest of the hotel. Their private dinning room is superb. Would I visit again? Sure will!

Room Tip: Room ten has great view of the village, opposite the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went here on our first outing with a very nervous wheelchair user. The welcome and thoughtfulness could not have been surpassed. As the main room was busy, we were able to use a larger room at the back where they lit the fire and arranged the chairs especially for us in order to accommodate the wheelchair. The whole experience could not have been more pleasant. Just one thing would have made the trip ideal - there is a slight step outside the hotel which means that you either need to be be really strong to hoist the chair up or have a small ramp. We brought our own ramp as the hotel was a bit vague about whether they had one when we made our pre-visit visit. Toilet for wheelchair users clean and accessible. We will definitely be back and will also aim for dinner. Well done and many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went here for lunch with family and everything was just wonderful. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome as soon as you walk in. That excellent level of service and friendliness continued during out entire time there - they didn't forget us as soon as the next customers came in!
The menu and food are excellent - a lot of local East Lothian produce, which is great to see (and taste!). I would recommend the Open Arms to anyone - it really was wonderful. I'm sure it gets busy during the weekends, so booking ahead may be advised. Dirleton and the surrounding area are also worth exploring if you are visiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Open Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5EG , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick > Dirleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dirleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned hotel in conservation village. Known for our friendly staff, good food, wine and comfortable lounges. Relax in front of a real fire during Winter weather and enjoy a good book whilst sipping the drink of your choice or sit outside in fine weather in the Courtyard and enjoy the sun. Golf available on the many courses surrounding the hotel and we are happy to arrange a package for you.The little shops in North Berwick, Gullane and Haddington are of interest whilst the Seabird Centre, Museum of Flight and Dirleton Castle are almost 'must do' visits.Return to the hotel to enjoy a pleasant dinner, a good night's sleep and look forward to our ample breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Open Arms Hotel Dirleton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.