We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and tasty food and beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dirleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle Inn
Save
You added The Castle Inn to your Saves list
Manse Road | Dirleton, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Dirleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and tasty food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We've been to this pub for food and drinks on 3 different occasions now. The setting is lovely and we had the opportunity to sit outside in the beer garden and enjoy the best cold beers. We also ordered food which was tasty and satisfying. The staff members appeared friendly, apart from the older gentleman behind the bar. He seemed put out by our questions about a couple of dishes on the menu, and there was no smile or welcome when we entered - if this is the owner, then 'selective friendliness' is something he needs to improve upon in making a positive first impression of his business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Visited while camping and found the food to be expensive for what it was, a large glass of wine at £6.35 way too expensive and when I ask for a coke and get a poor substitute flat cola out a big plastic bottle it puts me right off.
Need to up their game.
D

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Well, I have dined here many a time, found the staff to be excellent,well mannered and helpfull....As for the owner Bert...how can I describe him...BRILLIANT HOST...Food always plenty and good...value for money is good...the restaurant is amazing...meals can be taklen in the bar...the bar looks like it has not changed since the building was built...really snug and great range of beers to suit all..

Room Tip: did not stay overnight. sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

bert and the staff could not be better just stopped there for a weeks golf and the castle inn is in a perfect spot the food and beer at this gaf is spot on oh sorry and ideal location for the golf courses.

Room Tip: just turn up and pay all rooms good as there was 9 of us in a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This inn is very well placed as accommodation for this golfing area and Bert and his staff will certainly make you very welcome nothing is too much trouble for them. The four double bedrooms are spacious and comfortable but the highlight is the food! The restaurant is excellent with a wide variety of interesting and imaginative dishes on the extensive menu. The single room is rather small and does not have a great view however the other rooms look out across an extensive green and Dirleton Castle. A great place to stay for golfers and couples alike with good access to Edinburgh and the East Lothian Area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

visited the bar and restaurant on two occasions in the last week whilst staying in the area.

Good selection of freshly prepared food and the staff are enthusiastic and pleasant.

A nice location overlooking the village green. Nice beaches nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Mu husband and I have just stayed at the Castle Inn for four nights. We found the staff most friendly and helpful, the room clean and comfortable, and the food excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: Manse Road | Dirleton, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick > Dirleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dirleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Inn is a family run coaching inn overlooking the village green and the 12th century Dirleton Castle. All rooms are ensuite with flat screen TV and full free wireless internet access. We have a Bistro and a Restaurant serving award winning food all day every day from noon with last orders at 9:00 pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Dirleton
The Castle Inn Dirleton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.