We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And it had so much promise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield's Tapas and Wine Bar

Garfield's Tapas and Wine Bar
59 Princes Street, Ardrossan KA22 8DE, Scotland
01294 463155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Ardrossan
Price range: $5 - $38
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“And it had so much promise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was looking forward to going here for so long, however when we eventually got there it was a bit disappointing. The décor leaves a bit to be desired, the portions were disappointing, the atmosphere was a little, er, how can I put it erm . . . disappointing.
After the anticipation the experience was a little disappointing.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a relaxed meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have passed this Tapas Bar many many times and always siad we would have to give it a try. Eventually we did and just wish we had given it a try long before now.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and even the live music was "low key" and helped to make an enjoyable evening.
This is not your typical Spanish tapas bar as they have included dishes such as smoked salmon and prawn parcels, haggis and such like. Not only were they are change but both were lovely especially the haggis which was probably they best we have eaten.
the staff are very laid back and even after the meal you can sit with a bottle of wine and just listen to the music.
As mentioned, it took us a while to give this restaurant a try but it will certainly not take long to return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Regular attender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My Husband and I have been going to Garfeild's intermittantly over the last year. We always have a fabulous meal. The atmosphere is pleasant and friendly and the Coffe is the best in Ayrshire.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Excellent service and Tapas food. Very enjoyable and the service was brilliant. the live music was an added bonus over the weekend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Whilst spending a few hours in Ardrossen waiting for the ferry, we went in search of some food and found this delightful establishment on a corner of a road that looked clean and inviting.
Neither my wife or myself have any experience of tapas and were both pleased when the people that run it made some suggestions re our order; we had three dishes each all cooked and presented well. The decor in the bar is very Spanish but without being tacky.
All the staff are friendly and while we were there a number of locals came in which is normally a good sign.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield's Tapas and Wine Bar also viewed

Ardrossan, North Ayrshire
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire
 
Saltcoats, North Ayrshire
Saltcoats, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Garfield's Tapas and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield's Tapas and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.