We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherrytrees Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Creetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherrytrees Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Cherrytrees Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
59 St John Street, Creetown DG8 7JB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Creetown B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

First class welcome and a first class service. Great to have a separate sitting and TV room, The roooms were clean, the beds comfy and the breakfast excellent and tailored to our likes.

You will have to search a long time for a better place to stay in this area.


Peter & Dorothy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a warm welcome from Ken, as soon as we got there we were offered tea in the guest sitting room, which was just lovely. We have stayed in other B&B that were double the cost and not offered the same service. the room (double) was high standard and the bed was so comfortable best every slept in. there was a flatscreen TV with DVD. Really nice breakfast. and Dougle the dog amazing more human than animal.

lovely stay and holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeheim-Jugenheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Cherry Trees was the most wonderful place to stay. Ken's warm hospitality, the absolutely delicious breakfast, the tastefully decorated, emaculate rooms make this the best bed and breakfast in Scotland. We will definitely be back for a longer stay to explore this beautiful area. Thank you again, Ken.

Ann and Hubert

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What can i say.We had an absolute fantastic 3 night stay at Cherry Trees wish it had been longer . The wonderful host Ken made us feel at home nothing was to much trouble,all the rooms including the sitting rooms are to a very high standard. The food is better than some 5 * hotels that i have stayed in, Looking forward to the bank holiday as i have booked to go back. As other reviewers have said its a great base. See you soon Ken & Dougie. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cherrytrees. Lovely warm welcome from Ken. Our daughter was with us and we both had large and well equipped rooms with spacious en-suite facilities. The guest house was spotlessly clean everywhere. The separate lounge was ideal for a quiet read and the TV room next door to it was a great place to settle down and relax in the evenings. Breakfasts were delicious with top quality ingredients and a range of options. Would not hesitate to recommend Cherrytrees. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We booked the Cherrytrees after reading the good reviews and we wern't disappointed. Our room was clean an spacious with a large ensuite bathroom. The Cherrytrees also has two sitting rooms for guest use, one with a TV, we thought that this was a nice addition. We received a warm welcome from Ken and Dougall, who likes to get to know the guests!
We attended a wedding in Gretna Green and planned to spend a week travelling around Scotland by car ending the week in Edinburgh. Ken was a wealth of local knowledge a gave us some great tips on local places to visit as well as making some suggestions for the rest of our trip. We took Ken's advice and are really glad we did, the views from Bruce's stone were stunning and the revised route we took following his advice meant that we got to see more of the unspoilt West Highlands.
The breakfasts were generous in size and as a vegetarian I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was catered for. Overall, we found the Cherrytrees to be a great place to stay and Creetown a good base from which to see other local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

There is simply nothing to complain about and many aspects of Cherrytrees life to rave about.

My partner and I spent three days and nights here in November of this year having basically stuck a pin in a map and thought 'we'll go there'.

To start with the basics; the bedroom we stayed in was very clean, well decorated, warm and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious, modern and spotless. Although we didn't utilise the communal areas they too were beautifully furnished and enhanced the whole relaxed feeling of this B&B.
The breakfasts are clearly legendary judging by the comments of others and we were certainly not disappointed. Local ingredients and LOTS OF THEM were available every day and one of Ken's fry ups would keep you powered up for a week never mind a morning! Well cooked and delicious.
And on to Ken. Well, what can we say? Ken went out of his way to be helpful and informative with regard to the surrounding area. He was friendly and chatty but never intrusive and his local knowledge was invaluable. In short Ken went way above and beyond that which could be expected of someone running a business like his and we hope to return to experience such hospitality again in the future.
Cherrytrees has much more of a small hotel feel rather than that of a mere B&B. First class, excellent, marvellous!
Oh and Dougal the bearded collie is quite simply the loveliest dog in the world!

Room Tip: All good! Nothing to worry about here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_Lawton, Owner at Cherrytrees Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
I have passed your comments on to Dougal, as if his head isn't big enough already. It was great meeting you and many thanks for taking time out and for the kind words in your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherrytrees Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrytrees Bed and Breakfast

Address: 59 St John Street, Creetown DG8 7JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Creetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Creetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrytrees is a Scottish Tourist Board 4 star rated B&B. Situated in a quiet coastal village on Wigtown Bay close to the river Cree estuary. A historic listed building that has been modernised without losing any of its character and charm. Guests have sole use of the public rooms and with only two guest bedrooms in their own wing, the feel is more that of a small hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherrytrees Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.