We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balcary Bay Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auchencairn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Save
You added Balcary Bay Country House Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shore Road, Auchencairn DG7 1QZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Breakfast sitting by the bay window watching the tide and birdlife is wonderful.
This is not a hotel for bright young things in search of a Boutique experience. The age range of those there will be more 50 and upwards. Dogs are welcome though not in the public rooms.
The food has improved and was good this year, fully earning its 2 rosette rating.
This is somewhere for a different pace in the world, an escape from the hectic pace of modern life.
Our bedroom with ensuite was comfortable and well decorated and appointed.
Criticism - it depends where you are coming from - I am not 25 any more and it suit me fine.
I just wish the bedroom biscuits were a bit more original but that IS nitpicking.

Room Tip: You pay more for a bay view but splash out, it is worth it. There are ground floor rooms for the le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    44
    18
    13
    13
See reviews for
25
138
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome, and treated to a wonderfu afternoon tea by the sea, a really special experience in the most gorgeous setting. The fresh salmon and cucumber sandwiches and warm scones were to die for. A delightful way to spend an afternoon on holiday.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just came back today from a superb weekend at Balcary Bay - what a spot !
It was a real treat and such an incredible place to be.
Much has been made of the lack of communication by the owner - it's true, but it didn't detract at all from the hotel itself, the surroundings & the incredible food.
We were lucky to get a bay view room and at £180 a night for 2 of us for dinner, b&b it's not cheap, but an exceptionally special treat.
The room was beautiful, the sea views amazing & the 5 course dinner out of this world.
Most importantly for us, Sam our dog was with us & he enjoyed his weekend too !

Room Tip: It does cost more, but a sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have tried to book superior bay room today for 1 night in October, but have been unable to do so, I was told it was hotel policy that you can not book for 1 night !! I think this is what I was told but due to accent of receptionist I'm unsure? Very disappointed since I was given vouchers for this hotel for my birthday, but seems I will have difficulty using them.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been visiting Balcary Bay Hotel for over 7 years, after stumbling on the place on a walking trip. We have noticed year on year improvements in the fabric and decor of the building, and great leaps forward in the cuisine. This is our second visit this year - which speaks for itself! So if you want a quiet hideaway hotel in a glorious coastline location, with plenty of local walks and interesting Border towns nearby - this is the place for you! Very doggie friendly and floral displays in all the rooms. Bring your walking boots and work up an appetite for the Chef's glorious seafood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A superbly located hotel. It is quite magical to watch the changes of sea and light from the dining room windows. Superb, friendly staff and food to die for! We shall certainly return.

Good coastal walk from the hotel. Kirkcudbright with its galleries and Broughton House (National Trust for Scotland) are near at hand and should definitely be visited.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were only able to get away for a couple of days, so wanted somewhere with a bit of luxury. Couldn't have picked a better place. Room was more like a junior suite with beautiful views of the bay. Food was excellent - fine dining at its very best. Staff were attentive but not obtrusive. The hotel location, almost on the beach, was perfect.
We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: If there are 3 in your party, book the superior bay view room (separate single bedroom in the suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcary Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcary Bay Country House Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Auchencairn DG7 1QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Auchencairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcary Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Balcary Bay Country Hotel
Hotel Balcary Bay Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcary Bay Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.