We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food like a Michellin star restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe

Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe
Lynfield Yard, Perranuthnoe TR20 9NE, England
+44 1736 719584
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open since 2010 - Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe is situated 50 yards from the beach at Perranuthnoe and adjacent to the popular walking route of the south coast of West Penwith.The menu is fresh and vibrant - all dishes are prepared fresh each day - and offers a varied selection for all tastes. Gluten free, vegetarian, vegan - all are catered for. The menu takes its inspiration from Middle Eastern cuisine, although there are also sandwiches and toasties available for those of simpler tastes!You can sit and enjoy an espresso or cappuchino with morning cakes and giant meringues, or come for a delicious lunch or afternoon tea - choose between the colourful cafe or the lovely garden overlooking the sea - the staff will always be delighted to see you, and make you welcome.Open 10-4pm in the summer and 10-3pm in the winter.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food like a Michellin star restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A great little cafe.
Popped in for lunch while on holiday in the area. Interesting menu with a nice variety of standard dishes with some more unusual options. My partner thought the smoked mackerel pâté would not seem out of place in The Hand and Flowers. Look out Tom Kerridge!
The cakes and meringues looked great. Would definitely return if we find ourselves anywhere near again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
We are very glad that you visited Peppercorn this week - even if the weather was a little inclement! We're also delighted that you loved our food. Please come back when the sun is shining and try lunch in the garden; it tastes even better!!

we hope to see you again soon

Jenni and Lisa
Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Cornish gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This cafe was recommended to us. The beach is lovely here and there are a couple of craft shops too. Visited several times and its just a delight. Inspired menu, delicious food, choice of cakes and scones, homemade cordials and my boyfriends favourite - a huge pyramid of delicately flavoured homemade meringues to greet you as you walk in. Staff are so pleasant - they are genuinely pleased to feed you. They have created the perfect cafe. Good luck girls - you deserve it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello Sandra - we are thrilled at your lovely review of Peppercorn - you're absolutely right, we DO love to feed our customers. We also love creating our dishes and flavours. Your boyfriend will be delighted to hear that we are always developing new flavours for our meringues - lime basil is up our sleeve for the summer.....
Hope to see you soon; meanwhile keep up with all our news by checking our website:

peppercornkitchen.co.uk

best wishes
Jenni. Lisa and the crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

what a find, cosy fire on a blustery March afternoon. Clean and light with good service and a good looking menu (although we only had tea). It must be amazing in the summer, it has a lovely outside seating area. Overall relaxed and friendly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review - it means a great deal to us to know that we're making people happy with Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe and with our food.
W hope you come back soon and try the lunch menu!

with best wishes

Jenni and Lisa
Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Votes of excellent by my daughter and boyf!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We can't stop bringing friends and family to this lovely cafe. Today I had the fritters and they all had the fish provencal with creamy mash. Votes of excellence from everyone. Hollie and James are dedicated foodies, and loved Peppercorns. James, who is a chef, mentioned that this is just the sort of place he would like to open when they have stopped travelling the world - small menu but plenty of delicious variety for meat/fish eaters like them and veggies like me - which James assures me means that the food is really good - and it was. No problems with waiting a little while because we know that everything is fresh and prepared on the spot. Beautiful to look at and luscious to eat... of course the foodies could manage a whole meringue - it was voted the best cafe/restaurant experienced so far in this visit!!! Please do tell us about the evening supper club, as we were busy on the date for the one before Christmas - the only drawback to this place is that it is not open in the evenings!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for bringing lots of new people to Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe!
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your lunch so much and in response to your comment about opening in the evenings - do please look on our website where we post all the latest information about our monthly themed evenings.
We look forward to seeing you soon!

Jenni and Lisa
Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We happened upon this little place on a Sunday afternoon drive in February. The welcome, the wood burner and best of all the menu were an experience to behold. Some simple, some a little more exotic items on the menu suited my husband and myself brilliantly, as I tend to go for a little different fare to that of my beloved.
The food was a delight, well made, carefully and ethically sourced and cooked to perfection, and to follow, what a treat, the best of deserts, even the most simple rice pudding was presented in an exquisite fashion and tasted amazing!
Please find your way to this lovely cafe, meet the girls and sample the great tasting food. Open lunchtimes and some evenings, usually a themed evening now and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Wow, Liz B.! - what lovely comments, thank you!

We love what we do- and the food we cook; so it's really, really rewarding when someone like you comes along and loves it too.
Please come again soon, and spread the word for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.