We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totally wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Ignace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez Ignace to your Saves list
Chez Ignace
1455 Chemin Bellerive sur le lac, Nominingue, Quebec J0W 1R0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 6 Nominingue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chatham NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A totally wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

While biking along Le P'tit Train du Nord, a smooth, easy to ride, scenic bike path, one of our stops was Chez Ignace.
We were greated by the owner's son and their very comical dog, Patou. He showed us the bike shed, which was dry, safe and secured at night. He was very helpful in directing us to our various accommodations.
Later that evening, we met Ignace and his wife. They are hard working, dedicated to excellence and create a very relaxed atmosphere. Ignace has a great sense of humor!
We were seated at a lovely table overlooking the gardens and then the love affair began.
One course after another, so beautifully served that it deserved to be photographed. Delicious beyond description.
Breakfast the next morning was the same, with lots of choices.
None of us really wanted to leave, but alas the time came. Ignace even provided a quality bike tire pump, instead of the small ones we carried.
First rate in every way, this family deserves so much credit for the incredibly hard work it takes to produce a 5 star experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I and two friends stayed at this inn on the first night of a bicycle tour along the P'tit Train du Nord linear park from Mont-Laurier, Quebec to St-Jerome, Quebec. Our stay was part of a tour package booked through Cyclo-Gites Voyageurs B&B, and L'Auberge Chez Ignace appears to cater almost exclusively to cyclists riding the linear park. We arrived in the middle of the afternoon after riding about 58 kM from Mont-Laurier. The inn is right beside the bike path, across a quiet road from Lac Nominique. My French is very poor, but we had no trouble communicating with the staff. There was a shed, securely locked at night, in which to store our bicycling gear. There is a hot tub in the back yard, but we chose to cross the road and follow a short path to the lake. The water is a bit shallow there, but we managed to get in a refreshing swim and a nap before dinner.
Our room, on the third floor, was rather spare and small to the point of being cramped. The bed was full-size, but not queen-size. But it was very clean, and there was an a/c unit, although we did not need it. The rooms on the second floor appeared to be more spacious and have queen-size beds.
Dinner, as well as breakfast, was served at the inn, and it was truly superb. We ate out on a covered porch on a very pleasant evening. Appetizers included smoked salmon and venison terrine; main courses included dore, rabbit, lamb. Truly a memorable meal. The selection of Belgian beers and ales was also quite impressive. Breakfast the next morning was similarly delectable, with green onion omelet, croissants, fresh fruit, etc.
I will definitely try to stay at L'Auberg Chez Ignace again the next time I ride this bike tour. But I will try to get one of the larger rooms on the second floor next time.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room on the second floor, rather than the third floor. The rooms on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Two very tired 10 year olds, and two adults, after 57 km of biking. Wasn't sure what to expect for the kids for dinner, but we had a wonderful experience! 5 courses. Delectable food. The opportunity for my adventurous child to eat escargot, venison, and rabbit all in one meal. And chicken (with sauce on the side) white bread and soup for the other child :) A fantastic family game of larger-than-life-chess in the backyard. A quick dip in the lake. A relax in the hot tub. Breakfast was fantastic. Rooms were fantastic. Bathrooms were fantastic. Well, you get the idea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our plan was to go cycling on the P'tit Train du Nord with our two children. We were not sure how children would be welcomed in a B&B but took a chance. It was p-e-r-f-e-c-t! Chez Ignace feels like a huge home where everyone is welcomed. There are three dining aeras so people can choose the type of atmosphere they would like.

The owners are sensitive and caring and our week was filled with kindnesses and delights. Examples out of many: a special box given to my son to put his treasures found by the lake, a special menu on the fifth night because we had stayed a full week, a towel swan found on the side of the bath, etc, etc.....

Thank you Ignace and Yolande, it was an amazing vacation :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here 1 night after riding in the rain and temps in the low 50's(11 C). Arrived wet and cold and were greeted warmly. Room was great and they had a nice fire place to dry our clothes. Dinner was unbelievable. Food was great! Breakfast was equally fantastic. Beat of all it's right on the bike path. There are 2 PC's available to guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a beautiful small B&B lovingly run to a friendly Belgian couple. They've been in the business for 16 years and it shows. The food was wonderful, all home made and delicious. They also import their own beer from Belgium twice a year, so you can expect a great selection of drinks. Although it's not on the lake, they have their own lake access and a small dock where you can sit or swim.

Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent one night at Chez Ignace while biking on Le P'tit Train do Nord. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip!!

Chez Ignace is a few meters from the lake, although not directly on the shore. It has a beautiful garden and the rooms are beautiful. Our room (#4, I believe) was very quiet (I overheard another guest complaining about the noise from the highway, though). There was a jacuzzi in our giant bathroom ... how can I explain how great it felt to use it after a 6 hour bike ride???

The best thing about Chez Ignace (and there are many) is the food. Ours was included in the package we bought for the trail. The vegetables were fresh, the meat exceptionally good, the breakfast to die for. We had a couple of imported beers that were a bit pricey but totally worth it.

We were traveling with a toddler and found the staff always ready to accommodate her needs (we found that not to be the case in all the B&B we stayed in).

The only thing I didn't love about this place was the decor. Too many stuffed animals for my taste. Other than that, we'll make sure to go back whenever we're near Nominingue!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Ignace

Address: 1455 Chemin Bellerive sur le lac, Nominingue, Quebec J0W 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Nominingue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nominingue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the High-Laurentians, at Nominingue. Locate beside the "P'tit Train du Nord" cycle path, at Km 142, and the great Nominingue lake, Yolande and Ignace are welcoming you and receive you in the simplicity of a rustic environment. B&B ****,Relaxation, comfort and gastronomic cuisine can be found here. Laureate 2001 and 2013 best B&B in the Laurentians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chez Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Ignace Nominingue, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Ignace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.