We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great night's stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Lodge Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added West Lodge Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barnet
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thames Valley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another Great night's stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at the hotel. We took advantage of a Saturday night Autumn Break Offer which is excellent value.

Our room was immaculate and overlooking the lawn at the front of the property.

Dinner was as before delicious and although the restaurant was very busy, the service was attentive and all the restaurant staff were friendly and efficient.

Indeed one of the many great features of the Hotel is the staff. From Reception to Room Service everyone is courteous and responsive and always happy to help.

We'll be back soon. Thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review following your second visit to West Lodge Park.

I am so delighted you have enjoyed both visits and found the staff the factor that makes the difference.

Of course a long established family business will always have a different atmosphere from a chain hotel where the staff tend to change with great frequency.

In fact as I write, I am just about to celebrate one of our team's 40th anniversary since starting work at the hotel !

Marion Taylor, who looks after many hundreds of banqueting guests at the hotel, started in 1973 - a fantastic record but just one of many very long serving members of staff.

At our last long service staff lunch, over 780 years of service was in the room, represented by 54 members of the team with an average of over 14 years each, a record unsurpassed in the hospitality business.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again for a third visit.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    110
    33
    20
    10
See reviews for
68
208
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Me and my wife stayed on the 20th October for the evening to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary ,
We booked the autumn package I believe which included room , 3 course dinner , breakfast , for £110
Have to say well worth the money , infact surprised it's so cheap ,
It was excellent the room was nice , the dinner was superb we were both so pleased with our meals , great service , even had a Piano player whilst eating which must say topped it off just brilliantly he even played mine and my wife's wedding song which I had asked really made our night ,
Bar area is nice to we overdone it on the drinks which I regretted in the morning lol , but you only celebrate your anniversary once a year so think I can be forgiven ,
Breakfast was superb next morning and must say well needed ,
We would not hesitate to book again both so pleased
Thanks West Lodge

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Congratulations on your first anniversary, and I am so glad you were able to celebrate it at West Lodge Park.

I am also delighted that our resident pianist Paul Jaffa was able to play your requests - he is a superb asset to the team, and now plays during Sunday afternoon tea as well as Friday and Saturday evenings and Sunday lunch.

With plenty more anniversaries to go, there are any number of excuses to come again to West Lodge Park - it will be a pleasure to welcome you both back.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at West Lodge in September (2013 ) . The first thing that grabs you are the grounds - magnificent . The Arboretum is a joy to wander around . We had an executive room overlooking the front . It was smart and comfortable with the added feature of a small walk in ward robe which left more pace in the room proper and also housed the tea and coffee facilities . Breakfast was excellent . We were there for a Murder Mystery night ( which in itself was brilliant ) and our evening meal was part of that package . All 50 diners had the same food and I was expecting something ordinary but in fact the food was superb . Served well , piping hot , wonderful steak and every course was cooked to a very high standard . The staff are very welcoming and helpful . I would definitely return . They are located close to Hatfield House which is a must see for anyone staying here .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park following your stay with us for a Murder Mystery evening at the hotel.

I am delighted that the evening went off well - my experience of these events in other hotels is that frequently the food is secondary to the evening, and while the actors work hard, the impression is that the hotel has been counting the pennies.

Our view is that any special event we put on should have the same quality of food as any one else is having. I hosted a wonderful concert evening on Friday night with the Allegri String Quartet, and while the music was quite exceptional, so too was the food.

I agree with you about the unmissability of Hatfield House, a quite superb Elizabethan mansion, and still lived in by the Salisbury family to this day, generations later.

Do come again soon, we are planning our Murder mystery evenings at West Lodge Park for 2014 as I write.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at the hotel, we found the accommodation of exceptional standard, the setting idyllic, and so easily accessible from London. The staff are well trained, and dealt with our every need. The food was of a high standard. The gardens surrounding the property is awesome, with great walks, and maintained beautifully. A real gem. Special thanks to David Seward, the general manager, who made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am so delighted that you found the hotel to be ideal for your requirements, on the edge of London, with easy access to all the sights, but with a lovely peaceful atmosphere.

Our General Manager, Dave Seward is from Zimbabwe originally, as you know, but has been in the UK for over a decade now.

We see quite a lot of guests from South Africa over the course of each year, and it is always a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel.

Do come again when you are next over in the UK, and if I am around, I would be delighted to meet you and show you around the Arboretum.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited for Sunday lunch to celebrate our daughter landing her first proper job. We have been using Beales for years, although until last year we always went to the Hatfield hotel. We prefer the atmosphere here and the grounds are stunning. I have never had a dish at a Beales hotel which hasn't been beautifully presented and the food was very nice. Every member of staff was extremely polite, even those I just happened to pass around the hotel.
A couple of little quibbles. We were charged for 6 puddings when we had only had 3 although this was easily resolved.
More worryingly, we booked online, had a confirmation text, yet the restaurant had no record of our booking. We were quickly found a table and showed the text we had confirming our booking and were told that this is not uncommon.
So my advice is, if you book online, telephone to confirm your booking although this does somewhat defeat the object of booking online.
A couple of small issues, but don't be put off. A lovely spot with stunning food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about West Lodge Park Hotel.

I am very pleased that bar a couple of quibbles, you enjoyed everything about Sunday lunch at the hotel.

Sorry that we overcharged for the desserts, but I am glad we rectified it instantly.

We never received your email unfortunately. The broadband lines into the hotel broke down at BT's Barnet exchange about four weeks ago, and it might have been related to this incident which took over 72 hours to get fixed.

However if it was more recently than that, we apologise, and will look into it with our online booker Livebookings.com.

Do come back again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back for Sunday lunch or at any other time !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very stylish typical British hotel just outside London. Very good food in the restaurant. Extremely comfortable beds.
And you will get the pleasure to walk through perfectly maintained arboretum for free

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am delighted that you had such a good stay with us.

The beds at both West Lodge Park, and at our sister Beales Hotel are made by Hypnos, reputedly the most comfortable beds in the world, and as used by the Royal Family.

I am glad you were able to wander freely around the Beale Arboretum which is starting to become particularly beautiful with very fine autumn colours. The weather remains very warm so the best of the colours may be slightly delayed this year towards the later half of October.

Do come again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had our wedding reception at West Lodge Park 23 years ago (September 1990) and have subsequently visited from time to time. This hotel holds many happy memories for us and we can truly say it is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at in the UK.

We took advantage of the special rates currently on offer and stayed on Sunday last weekend to belatedly celebrate our wedding anniversary (it was fully booked on our actual anniversary the previous day). As usual, West Lodge Park looked as lovely as ever, we could find no fault with the staff or service and enjoyed a fantastic dinner with my nephew and his girlfriend. All in all it was exceptional value for money.

Our first floor room was number 29 (Rosemary) which was very comfortable and pleasantly furnished. When we arrived in the room mid-afternoon the window was slightly open (it was a warm day) and we both noticed noise coming from what appeared to be a fan from the nearby kitchen area. At this stage the noise did not concern us since we assumed the fan would stop once the kitchen had finished serving dinner.

By the early hours of the morning the fan was still running and my wife was struggling to get to sleep as she finds this kind of noise very intrusive. In the end we had to close the room window at about 4 am which virtually eliminated the noise but it made the room very stuffy and ultimately my wife had a totally sleepless night which was the last thing she needed as she was playing in a golf match that morning.

I mentioned this issue to reception when we booked out and their response was that we should have asked to be moved to another room. This is not a very practical suggestion for a problem which crystallised in the early hours of the morning. Based on the occupied room list which we spotted at breakfast, it would seem that the hotel was far from full that evening so we cannot understand why guests were not accommodated in rooms well away from the kitchen area.

It was a shame that this issue tainted a lovely stay and it will not stop us from returning to West Lodge Park but in future we will ask for a room well away from the kitchen area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which are close to the kitchen area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park,

I am delighted that in all aspects bar one you found your stay as enjoyable as ever, and am pleased you were able to celebrate your 23rd wedding anniversary back at the hotel you were married in.

We think we have got to the bottom of the issue with the noise, which may be from a faulty beer cooler below your bedroom window.

We will get this fixed immediately and apologise that your night was disturbed in this way.

Do come again, and maybe celebrate your silver wedding anniversary with us in a couple of years time !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Address: Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Lodge Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.