We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Lodge Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added West Lodge Park Hotel to your Saves list
West Lodge Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I've stayed at West Lodge Park on a number of occasions over the last 12 months on business and have been impressed on each visit.

The rooms that I have stayed in have always been of a good standard, large, well appointed with plenty of space and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant is excellent as many previous reviewers have already stated and the service is always friendly, courteous and efficient. The free wifi is an added bonus and I've always found it to be quick and reliable. The hotel is close to good transport links and is easily accessible from the M25 and Cockfosters tube station.

Overall an excellent hotel where service comes first - if you are looking to stay in this area then look no further!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel following several visits to West Lodge Park over the past year.

I am particularly pleased that our service and food has been consistent for you over this period - I find consistency in hotels a very hard thing to achieve as it is a seven day a week business that never closes, and is thus dependent on hard working staff on shifts - and thus some variation in service is to be expected depending on who is on and who is off.

A hotel is very similar in this respect to a hospital and we all know how wildly variable they can be !

Do come again soon and thank you for taking the time to write your comments for the benefit of other Tripadvisor readers.

Kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    158
    49
    29
    12
See reviews for
104
288
24
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here for a night excellent all round service. Breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the service and the breakfast at West Lodge Park.

We take pains to ensure that the full english breakfast is as good as it can be with quality local sausages from Waltham Abbey, free range eggs from Royston, and yoghurts from Chalfont St Peter.

Come again soon, I am so glad we looked after you well.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I didn't stay at this hotel, but rather, went for lunch and was given a tour by the MD, Andrew. I ate in the bar area adjacent to the Mary Beale restaurant, which filled out as the lunch hour progressed. The food was fantastic, comprising of fresh local ingredients put together to order. I had a beef sandwich, which was succulent and tasty.

The tour of the hotel was insightful. There is a rolling refurbishment programme, which means that the rooms (at least those I saw) are in a good state of repair and each has its own individual decor. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and it is obvious that the management takes a long term view when it comes to preserving and improving the building.

I spoke with various members of staff and they all enjoy working at the hotel and take pride in its success. Other diners and guests had equally impressive comments to make. I happened upon this hotel by chance but am now looking forward to staying there with my wife before too long. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following an all too brief visit to the hotel.

It was a pleasure to show you round West Lodge Park, which is a bit of a maze of bedroom corridors upstairs, but I am pleased that you could make the time for a tour.

It would indeed be a pleasure to welcome the two of you for an overnight visit - do come when the weather cheers up a bit and you can enjoy the gardens at their best !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have just had the most wonderful stay at West Lodge Park, a weekend of peace, tranquility and pure enjoyment. Thanks to everyone who works there, who helped made it perfect.

I booked direct with the hotel, as they had such a good deal for Dinner Bed and Breakfast for the weekend. The highlight of booking was the ability to see each room on the hotel website, as the rooms are all individual. The pictures, however. do not do the rooms justice. The room I chose (room 70) was very spacious, well laid out and had three times the number of windows in the photograph shown, it was a beautifully lit room.

Our arrival up a long private drive was lovely, we could see the hotel coming into view and it did not disappoint. The reception staff were curteous and most helpful. They got someone to carry our bags to our room, and they showed us how to open/lock the door (just the fact that the hotel had real keys - albeit nothing like our front door key was a novelty to us!). The facilities were just as described. A 6ft bed with feather duvet and cotton sheets, loads of tea/coffee/bisuits/water/coke. The bathroom was quite small, but adequate (after all how long do you spend in a hotel bathroom), and the only small improvement I could see here was perhaps an area to put our washbags on. Lovely toiletries and fluffy towels/bathrobes. Our room was in a separate building around the back of the hotel, the room was quiet and had great blackout linings, and a wonderful view of the grounds. I liked the dark wood in this room, it suited the room perfectly.

We had dinner both evenings, and it was just so blissful, so tasty, so beautifully presented. From the time we went in the bar, we were treat like the only diners, service was flawless and well co-ordinasted, and the food - well this was divine, I asked our waitress to thank the chef's they just did such a wonderful, wonderful job of ensuring a very pleasurable meal. The fixed price menu was the same on both nights, but I found different things to eat on both nights, not a problem. You could also transfer the allowance for dinner onto the a la carte, so the hotel was very flexible in their approach.

We went around the grounds, and even in winter there were some fine tree specimens, and flowers coming into bud. I would love to come back as spring brings the magnolias into bloom, and also use the wellingtons provided by the hotel to ensure shoes don't get dirty.

I forgot to give the feedback form to the reception, but I am hoping Mr Beale will feedback to them what a wonderful job they did to ensure my stay was a relaxing one. I thought the staff appeared to be very happy to work there, and were trained to the highest standards.

This was my first time at the hotel, but it won't be the last, I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Look on the website to book your ideal room. Room 70 is great, but you have to remember this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for such a detailed review of your stay at West Lodge Park.

I am delighted that we looked after you so well !

Your room 70 was my Grandparent's bedroom from 1945 to 1986, and although much modified now, still retains great character and lovely views across the gardens.

My grandfather bought the lease to the hotel just before the end of WWII and we have just purchased the freehold some 67 years later !

All 59 bedrooms at West Lodge Park are very different as you would expect in an old house, and so we have taken care to photograph them all, so that you can pick your style in advance.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel - do come again soon when the 35 acres of trees and gardens will be starting to bloom again !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We hosted our wedding reception here 20 years ago and returned on Valentine's night for an Anniversary stay. We had a problem with the heating in our room, the Hotel's response was superb! Things go wrong, that can't be helped of course, BUT it is how they are dealt with that matters. We had a lovely meal and overnight stay. As a retiired 52 year old who travels widely, I thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following your Valentines night stay at West Lodge Park, and welcome back after 20 years since your wedding at the hotel !

So very sorry that an actuator valve in the boiler house (no, me neither !) failed causing your room to be cold on the night.

However I am glad that apart from that you had a good stay, and it will be great to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

The biggest thank you is for allowing us to put things right before committing to a Tripadvisor review, a fundamentally decent and courteous approach which I welcome in the relationship between hotel guests and hoteliers everywhere.

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at West Lodge Park. I would thoroughly recommend it from the champagne breakfasts to the afternoon teas and dinners. The staff are very helpful and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Everything done with a smile. The grounds are just lovely to walk around even when its very cold outside with the knowledge that when you step back inside the hotel it will be very cosy and inviting. Will definately recommend it and return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and the staff.

The weather has been very cold and a second snowfall has left the arboretum at West Lodge Park looking exquisitely beautiful if a trifle inaccessible without wellies ! (which we provide for our guests ....)

I am pleased to report that all our driveways and car parks are clear, and that a warm welcome awaits all our guests as usual during this winter period.

Thank you for taking the time to report to Tripadvisor following your stay at the hotel, and come back again when the weather warms up a little !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My wife and I celebrated her birthday and a recovery from a major operation by having a weekend stay. I had been to see the arboretum with The Royal Forestry Society and had been impressed by the well kept grounds years before. The staff were so helpful and welcoming when we booked by phone and then when we arrived. The food in the Mary Beale restaurant was true Masterchef. Full of flavor and beautifully presented. After three courses I had to take a walk before going to bed. Amazed how quiet the country side and grounds were despite being within the M25 and only 14 miles from the center of London.
The kipper I had for breakfast was so succulent. My wife does not like cooking them at home, so it was a treat.
The whole week end was tremendous value, not least being able to enjoy the walk around the trees.

Room Tip: Go for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review following your visit to West Lodge Park Hotel.

I am so glad that, as someone interested in trees and a member of the Royal Forestry Society, you were able to enjoy the grounds even in the depths of winter.

We have been so busy during this winter period planting dozens of young trees in the Beale Arboretum, and tending to the maturer trees through the recent gales.

We have also been busy working on our collection of Taxodium Distichum in preparation for an application for national collection status, to join our collection of Carpinus Betulus as an official National collection.

I am glad too that as well as the lovely trees, you found the staff and the food to be well up to scratch.

Do come again when the weather warms up, and feel free to ask for me if you would like another tour around the arboretum.

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Address: Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Lodge Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.