We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuredu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kuredu Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kuredu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great holiday island has everything you need. Excellent snorkelling on house reef. If you are feeling brave snorkelling on ocean side is worth negotiating way out. Go at high tide. 5 visit will return again

Room Tip: Select O Villa. Better restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Stephen,
Thank you for your short but sweet comments following your 5th visit to Kuredu.
For future guests reading this, please do be guided by our snorkelling map (issued on arrival) which indicates the best and safest areas to snorkel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kuredu for the 6th time.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,694
    595
    162
    56
    45
See reviews for
401
2,568
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Heaven on earth.

We travelled here on on our honeymoon, for 10 nights between October 25th and November 4th 2013. (All Inclusive - Definately worth it and advised for anywhere in Maldives as we would have ended up spending a ridiculous amount.)

Finding the perfect honeymoon location is a near impossible task however when I booked this trip to Kuredu I never knew what quite to expect. However it was one of the nicest places I've ever been. 25-30+ degrees for all 10 days along with heavenly views to match it all.

If anyone is looking for a paradise island, honeymoon or holiday Kuredu ticks all the boxes.

Accomocation - Jacuzzi Beach Villa
Fantastic view, room cleaned twice a day. Fan, TV, Room Safe, Docking bay for music (iPAD / iPod), All the necessities that one could require.

Staff
Always ready to help and were great.

Food
Definately go here on all inclusive and eat your hearts out. Food for everyones liking and more deserts and fresh fruit than one can imagine. Maldives is a muslim country so the meat here is Halal. You can eat all the chicken, beaf, lamb etc. There are some deserts or meals that contain wine in however with the variety on offer that one dish never made any difference to what to eat. If unsure what you can eat, the staff are very helpful and will guide you.

Diving / Snorkelling
Never done diving or knorkelling before and despite the nerves from me and the wife, the staff helped ease us into it. An amazing experiance that no one should miss out on. The diving staff were amazing and we now have our first two Padi dives to our names.

Island
Very well maintained. Staff are always visible during the day.
One of the larger maldivian islands. Me and the wife loved our after dinner walk for one hour around the whole island. It's truly something to see as living in London, I can't remember the last time I've seen so many stars !

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Beach Villa - Amazing Views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Kumail,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent Honeymoon vacation in Kuredu.
Congratulations on your step into the warm Indian Ocean waters and becomming Padi certified.
Perhaps this achievement and the fond memories you have of your days spent in Kuredu will draw you back to our heavenly island one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This review is long overdue as I kept meaning to write it since our return last year. However, once home, life always seems to get in the way! Now, as our 9th trip to Kuredu is so imminent (Saturday) it seems a good time to consider why we keep going back.

Our first visit to Kuredu was just for a week as, although it was my dream destination, my husband thought he would be bored. We had a few islands recommended to us but only Kuredu had a pool, so the choice was made. Interestingly, we never actually went in the pool that time! No doubt, we would have been just as happy wherever we went - same sea, same sand, same weather. However, for us Kuredu has its own special charm and we don't want to risk tryinjg anywhere else. Moreover, over the years we have been going, we have got to know many of the staff so well. They are absolutely wonderful, with such amazing memories. One of the most touching experiences last year for us was when we had a quick lunch at a restaurant close to the dive centre before my lesson. Just as I was leaving, one of the waiters (Mondi) came from the other side of the restaurant came over to talk to us. He had been at our normal allocated restaurant previously and, although not our own waiter then, could remember what time of year it was and who our waiter was.

The staff is probably the main reason we keep returning as, almost without exception, they all have an incredible knack of making everyone feel so special. Over the years we have seen several changes of management, but now the staff seem very happy. I have to disagree most strongly with the report which describes the staff quarters as a "ghetto". We have been taken round and it all looks lovely - in fact the pool area is probably better than the visitor ones.

There is quite often mention of the differences in the room categories as not everyone seems to have done sufficient research to know what they are booking. However, in our opinion, everything has been done to suit all tastes and budgets. The garden bungalows are the cheapest and, therefore, do not have all the trappings of the more expensive villas, but they are still comfy and on this fantastic island. The other end of the scale is the pool villa, which are absolutely amazing, though sadly out of most people's reach. However, they are not to everyone's taste as they are cut off from the Ocean view. In fact last year we got friendly with a couple who had arrived to find they had been upgraded to a pool villa and were most disappointed. I am sure whoever they were swapped with couldn't believe their luck!!

The island has always been kept immaculately clean and tidy, with gardeners and cleaners continually at work. Each time we go, we love wandering around to see what has changed and also who is where. There used to be a tendency for staff to remain in one place, but now they are moved around more. With the Facebook page so active now, it is so much easier to keep track of everyone, but we shall still enjoy finding everything out for ourselves.

Most people have the opinion that it is a mistake to return to a favoured holiday destination, for fear of disappointment. I must admit that for the first couple of returns, we wondered if that would be the case, but as soon as we step of the plane and breathe the Kuredu air, we know that the same magic remains. True, there have been one or two small changes that we haven't been so happy with, but overall the changes have been positive.

As my husband and I are now retired, we fear that each trip will be our last. However, within an hour or two of our arrival, we start planning what cut-backs and extra work we can do to come back. The friend who originally recommended Kuredu to us is very envious of our repeat visits but, with a growing family following her Kuredu honeymoon about 15 years ago, knows it will be some time before she returns herself.

The biggest drawback to Kuredu is the infamous Kuredu Blues that hit once you are home. This can only be cured by rebooking and starting a new countdown to the next time. Be warned if you are considering Kuredu - it will take over your life!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. If budget allows, beach villas upwards have a greater choice of restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Lynne,

Thank you for your lovely review of your Kuredu experiences over the years.
You really have summed up what makes our beautiful island so special not just to those that stay as our guests but also to those of us that have the pleasure of working in such a wonderful resort.
We all look forward to welcoming you back this weekend for your 9th stay and to join with us as we celebrate our 25th Anniversary.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I are well travelled but this was our first trip to the Maldives! My wife booked Kuredu for my 50th Birthday! It was the best possible experience ever. The service, food, resort & staff are amazing. The island is absolute paradise. We stayed in a beach bungalow (409) the location was fantastic, only a couple of minutes walk to all the amenities. The bungalow was basic but clean and our room boy Faisal (Frazer)was a star. We upgraded for the last couple of days for my birthday to a beach villa at the"o" resort, (326) the accomodation there is beautiful and we were completely overwhelmed with the villa and the "o" resort itself. The food is very good with a great choice every evening. Our favourite bar was the Akiri bar and Bobin the barman is an absolute legend, he had our drinks on the bar ready For us each evening. The island and staff are a credit to the General Manager Ken Flockhart! It is the first time ever we would go back to the same place twice! We cannot come up with one negative about our two week stay here. We were guests of honour at the Islands football match, greeting all the players and giving the trophy out at the end of the game to the man of the match, gutted not to be there for the final on the 9th Dec. We would recommend anybody to to go to Kuredu it's fabulous!

Room Tip: If you book a beach bungalow rooms numbered between 380 & 420 are very close to all areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear David & Gail,
Thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay at Kuredu and congratulations on your 50th birthday.
It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay so much that you are considering a return visit.
Indeed our Team Members are an absolute joy to work with and you have highlighted just two of the stars in Barman Bobin and Room Boy Faisal.
We look forward to the day when you step foot back on the warm white sands of Kuredu.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wanted to write a review, as I've read some negative things about Kuredu and some very positive things. I thought I'd share my own, honest opinion.

The island is beautiful. It's a rather big island, compared to some of the other resorts in the Maldives. It takes around 40 minutes to walk around, which you wouldn't want to do while the sun is up.

Arrival by sea plane is great. You get a really good view of some amazing sights and of the island itself before landing. We were met by some of the resort staff, and allocated a host - someone to talk to if we needed anything or had any questions/concerns. She was very welcoming, gave us a quick tour (showed us our allocated restaurant and some of the entertainment facilities) and then arranged a golf buggy to take us to our rooms. Our baggage was taken care of and magically arrived at our room about 30 minutes after we did.

The room was a good size, having one double and one single bed. We stayed in a Garden Bungalow, the lowest type of accommodation on the island. It's pretty basic, but clean. The rooms were cleaned twice a day, which was nice if you wanted to come and have a rest in the afternoon. We had tea/coffee making facilities in the room, along with a safe and a stereo/CD player (with an aux lead). The stereo wasn't wired up properly, and took a bit of fiddling around with to get working. Saying that, we only used it on once occasion. The rooms also offer free wifi, which was good. Our router wasn't plugged in, and it took us a few days to notice that we were getting slow speeds because we were using the neighbours connection. Speeds and reliability got better on plugging the router in).
The bathroom is outside. This sounds great, but there were a few ants around, and the odd bat/bird in the trees outside watching you shower. In no way are the bathroom's overlooked, which was a bit of a concern at first. This also means there's no air conditioning (or a fan) out there. It just took a little getting used to.

As I mentioned, you are allocated a restaurant. We were assured at our welcome meeting that this is purely to ensure there's never overcrowding. We were also assured that the restaurants all serve the same food. The food was delicious. Each evening had a different theme (French, Asian, Chef's Gala etc), but there was always variety and at least one other option from the main theme. There's a fresh cooking station, which serves fish/meat (cooked to your liking on a large flat plate) and fresh pasta and sauces. The other food is buffet style, in metal dishes with covers, or open. There was always fresh salad and fruit. The basic all inclusive gave us a good choice of drinks (basically anything unbranded alcohol-wise, but a good choice of soft drinks and juices/water).
The waiting staff in our restaurant were very attentive and friendly. They were constantly topping the water up and asking if we'd like any other drinks.

The basic all inclusive also gets you drinks in a few other bars scattered around the island (and in the a-la-carte (pay-extra-to-eat) restaurants. We ate at the Beach restaurant one night - they did a really good Surf and Turf (fillet steak and massive prawns)!

The pool area was always nice and clean and had a few shady areas to sit under. Spaces around the pool were limited, and thought seat/lounger reserving isn't allowed, it didn't stop some people), so my tip would be to get there early, spend the morning there, and go do something else in the afternoon. This also gets you out of the way of the people that have sat around the pool drinking all day, and are starting to get a little loud (not many of these though, most people were pretty sensible).

The activities and entertainment are what separate this island from many of the smaller islands. Every night there are at least two different entertainment evening's happening in the different bars, and the gold club has two TV's for watching live sport. The island has a top-notch dive centre and water sports centre, alongside an entertainment centre (with billiards, darts, table football, table tennis) and other land based activities like badminton, football and beach volleyball.

With the island being so big, another tip would be to try and get a room as close to your allocated restaurant as possible. We were around a 5 minute walk from ours, and that was far enough in constant 30-34 degrees temperatures. Some of the paths also were a bit more stoney the further away from the main areas you got. For a country whose motto is 'no shoes, no news', this was a little bit annoying from time to time, especially in the dark.

Overall, I would, and am, recommending Kuredu to others. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday, which also offers entertainment and a variety of activities, this is the place to come. The island has relaxing secluded beaches, with the benefit of activity a short walk away.

If you're looking for a totally relaxing, secluded Maldivian break - you'll probably want a smaller island, but having been to a different resort in the Maldives before, expect to be bored, unless laying on a beach everyday is your kind of enjoyment.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice in where on the island you stay. The key to a good room here is to pay. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear tlcooper,
Thank you for taking your time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay which is certainly good feedback for us as well as useful information for our future guests.
I would just like to clarify that the various categories of accommodation that we have available are grouped together and therefore there is a choice of where to stay on the island. We welcome advance requests by email for prefered locations and can provide a map of the island to assist our guests in making their accommodation decisions.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kuredu for another stay some time.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the moment we got there we could relax and enjoy paradise. Our 1st trip to Maldives and On arrival the staff greeted us and informed us as this was our honeymoon we were given the honeymoon room at the western end of the island WOW it was beautiful. We wish to thank all the staff, from the cooks to cleaners to barman and waiters. You new what we wanted you knew us by sight and name. We tried most of the activities from sailing to dolphins speed boat, diving, cruises, to a romantic dinner on the beach. however if we had a bone to pick it was the weather :) but in the whole we did what we could and enjoyed every bit of the resort, can't control the weather...yet.The whole resort was wonderful and we do plan on a return trip in the future. We made lots of new friends and look forward to their friendships. Overall well done and thank you for your efforts and the experience
Yours
Max and Sarah
Australia

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Max & Sarah,
Thank you for the review of your recent honeymoon vacation at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
Despite the inconsistent weather at the time of your stay it sounds like you had a wonderful time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Paradise Island sometime in the future.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

stayed for 1 week in August and the only problem was it wasn't long enough. Friendly Staff, gorgeous food and a beautiful island/resort.
On arrival we were greeted with a drink and upgraded from a beach Jacuzzi Villa to a Sea Villa.
The room was very clean and the sound of the ocean underneath made sleeping very easy.
We will be going back to the Maldives soon and staying at Kuredu again.

Room Tip: we booked a Jacuzzi Beach Villa and got upgrade to a Sea Villa which was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jon,
Thank you for your short review of your recent stay. It sounds like you had a lovely time and will want to come back to Kuredu one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. Your seaplane transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 2-Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows, 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.