We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and nothing but relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Kuredu Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lhaviyani Atoll   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kuredu
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relax and nothing but relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've just come back from amazing Maldives :( after spending one week at Kuredu in the stop of my honeymoon trip. I would recommend Kuredu because of the attentive service, long and white sandy beach, wildlife in the coral reef and facilities. I stayed in an overwater villa with an all-inclusive package and the experience was perfect. In the villa you have your own access to the sea and it's very quiet and private. Staff is extremely helpful, attentive and nice, always willing to help. Food is good (in all meals) and you can always find what you like most. There are several possibilities for entertainment, mainly aquatic-related as well as a tennis and badminton courts and a pitch-and-putt 9 holes golf course... Although I must recognize I did nothing but laying down on the beach :)

I'd definetely highlight the beach, long and with beautiful white sand. And what's more important, there are not many shells or dead coral in the bottom so you can walk into the sea without hurting your feet!.

Just one thing... Remember that this is not a 5* top luxury hotel so don't expect to be in an "Asian lux" kind of hotel like Ana Mandara, 6 senses, one and only, etc... because.... of course you're not paying that much!!!.

Room Tip: Try to have your villa booked in the area called "Sangu Resort"... It's much more quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,999
    477
    137
    47
    38
See reviews for
305
1946
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you want to have the best honeymoon here you must go! everything is great, the food, housing, water, sand, coconuts.
Their cocktails were sensational, entertainment .... and for 9 days while I was there I walked barefoot ..... but you did not need shoes, everywhere was white and fine sand!

go there and you will not regret!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

To say we were excited when we booked this holiday is an understatement.... and when we arrived the island lived up to everything we had hoped for. From the sea plane adventure getting there, to packing our bags on the way home we enjoyed every minute!

We had a beautiful beach villa, at the Sangu end of the island, which looked out onto the perfect sea. The snorkeling was brilliant - we recommend making use of the guided tour of the house reef, which we did at the beginning of the holiday and then we made our own way after that. The beaches often felt empty, which is exactly what we were after - the desert island feel! And the bars wee never over crowded.

The food was brilliant - always varied and plenty of choice of fresh dishes, salads and fruits. The staff were also fantastic - no request was too much, and they soon got to know you and your preferences, which was really a nice touch. Everyone (staff and other holiday makers) was very friendly, and we have some amazing memories.

It really was our perfect holiday!

A few little tips:
Take your own snorkels as the ones you hire on the island are subject to availability.
If you can, sit on the right hand side of the sea plane as you get a great view on the journey.
You dont need shoes! Honestly, we were told that and thought we should take a few pairs just in case... we didn't put shoes on once!

Room Tip: We had a beach villa on the south west of the island, which we thought was the best spot (we walked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First and most important mentions go to the staff, as aside from the surroundings, it is the staff that make the difference.

Adhil in housekeeping - always a bright smile, very friendly and chatty when we wanted to chat. The room was consistently cleaned to a high standard, meaning what was done one day, was done all the others.
Some luxury hotels we have been to, water was forgotten, towels were not changed the same way each day, the mini-bar was forgotten and similar. But Adhil always remembered our preferences and ensured we had everything we needed. Adhil was, surprising as it may seem considering where we were, a true highlight of our holiday at Kuredu.

Bobin in the Sangu Bar was great fun. A friendly smile, great service, a sense of humour and was the best barman we were served by.
Asim in the Sangu Restaurant was also very good. He remembered our drinks each day, took the time to have a little chat with us, made sure we had everything and if someone can serve well by stealth it is Asim. Whenever we left the table, we returned to clear decks, topped up water and it was as if the meal was starting afresh each time. Definitely very good service in the Sangu restaurant.

So the resort....
We stayed in the Sangu water villas at the opposite site of the island to the main resort.
Some of the garden / beach bungalows are on the seaplane side, which as they start flying at 6am , can mean a rude awakening if been in the bars until late. Saying this with Sangu experience as can still be woken by them from other side of island, expect a lot noisier in the beach bungalows.
Golf buggy taxi's operate reception to reception so easy to get around if walking a struggle or if too hot.
Sangu water villas are very nice. Large queen size bed if a little more, AC and ceiling fans.
Coffee facilities are nespresso machines which you can buy pods for in the main shop, however water buttons one large and one espresso, make a decent sized cuppa in the large mugs provided in room as longs as take preferred drink with you.

Villa has desk, two chairs, large unit with large tv on it, large wardrobe and overall plenty of space inside to relax. There was also an ipod dock with integrated CD player.
Outside desk has wooden bistro table, two recliners and the lower desk also has two recliners and there is a table for each seating area.
Mini washing line behind upper desk recliners means drying is a doddle.
We found the water villas had pretty much everything we needed.

Wifi on island is limited to two free areas, Akiri lounge and Sao Khatori in main resort. Wifi is available in room at 10 dollars for an hour, 15 for two and 20 for 24 hours.
Be warned, the wifi at the hub is not disconnected when you disconnect your device, so you cannot share usage across devices. You also can't subscribe to another package whilst there is time on the existing.
Akiri bar is full to the brim with wifi users so very very slow, Sao Khatori is open from 3 and not nearly as busy and much faster to access content. However this bar is not in any of the inclusive packages so for the luxury of wifi you do end up paying in some way.

Gold versus standard AI.
We chose Gold simply as we wanted to have what we wanted in the Sangu Bar (aside from some premium spirits - Jack Daniels) and didn't want to have to think about what we used from the minibar in the room.
Normal stock is
2 gin, 2 Smirnoff vodka, 2 whiskey, 2 Heineken, 2 tiger, one individual white and red and a sparkling.
2 water, 2 regular and 2 diet coke, 1 sprite, 2 tonic, 1 fanta, 1 bitter lemon, 1 orange and 2 red bull. Plenty of choice and as price ranges from USD 14.25 to 3.25, if drinking and relaxing is your thing and you clear out every day, you more than get your money's worth. There is also nuts and chocolate as you would expect.

Gold also means you can have any cocktail in the Sangu bar whereas standard AI you get the cocktail of the day though can still have local spirits.
The resort restaurants are all meant to be the same, but friends we made, did try the others and said Sangu was the better.

Breakfast is as you would expect, cereal, toasts, pastries, meats and an egg station. We found there wasn't enough time between breakfast and lunch to actually need the next meal, so we opted to have lunch and dinner.
There is a good salad bar available for both lunch and dinner. We found there was so much for the salad bar in terms of pate, fresh fish, cheese, meats and similar, that we didn't often feel the need for a full main. The salad bar was very fresh, regularly replenished and in the heat, was really nice to have as an option.

The evening meal normally had a theme. BBQ / western, Ceylon, Arabian, Mediterranean, Maldivian, and so on. Each evening there was something you could fancy, and the breakfast egg station turned in to a pasta / noodle / kebab / hot meat counter depending on the theme.

Food highlights were:
Burger Thursday at lunchtime - if you are missing some aspects of home, the burgers were lovely - Sangu doesn't serve chips - they are "fried potatoes" but all aspects of being chips without the name.
Noodles are good - uncooked they looked like super noodles, but that is where the similarities ended. Just be careful, the hot plate chefs are so lovely and generous, you do need to say no to that extra little bit.
Roasted meats - as expected no pork, but the lamb and beef were amazing. Minute steak on the hot plate, lovely lamb chops / kebabs. For proper carnivores like my other half and I, the meats were very good indeed.

To be fair on the food front there really is something for everyone, the only restaurant downside is the opening hours. Breakfast is late in comparison to other hotels, and not a lot of time between breakfast and lunch. The services are quite short unlike some other AI's, but the quality cannot be faulted.

Down sides -
The wifi as mentioned.
The sand pumping under the villa's at the upper 54's end, which is understandable to maintain the island, but annoying when the normally crystal clear water is cloudy if snorkelling if you thing. We didn't actually have the pump under our villa, but others who did were really unhappy about it.
Power cuts in the middle of the night - sometimes for 10 minutes, sometimes for longer. AC went off meaning it became exceptionally warm in the room. It was unusual for there to have been no overnight power outages.

Highlights / hints & tips.
The sea life from the villa - turtles, reef sharks, dolphins in the distance - amazing to wake up to and watch through the day.
Take flip flops for lunch service the only time we really needed them - the wooden villa walkways and sand are very very hot.
The island is sprayed each night for mosquitoes which is great. I am normally bitten to shreds, but this was first holiday where I haven't been consumed by them.

Room Tip: The upper numbered water villa's are closest to the restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went to this island on the 4th October for 7 nights. It is a large island with lots to do. we stayed in a beach bungalow which was all we needed 397 which was close to all the amenities some were quiet a walk to the bars and restaurants especially in 42 deg heat...The food was always hot and plenty of choice. My husband dived with the pro dive center and found them very professional and reasonably priced.The only negative that I would say is that there is no shade at all around the island not even the pool areas not good for those with small children...I think they should invest in a few parasols...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Kuredu and we weren't disappointed. We flew with BA, a direct flight and had a wait of 3 hrs in the private lounge before we were finally loaded onto the seaplane and on our way! The trip took 35 mins and we saw some amazing views of other islands before finally landing at Kuredu. We were taken straight to the main reception, given a refreshing punch drink and a much needed cold towel, we were then driven to the Sangu Reception where we were given our wrist bands and the holiday began! We choose the Water Villas as it was adult only and meant that the restaurant and bar we were assigned to would also be adults only. The Villas were basic but very clean, (like the rest of the resort) and had a wonderful view of the ocean, it was lovely to step down the stairs straight into the water. There are pleanty of things to see in the water, I saw a turtle, a reef shark and many colourful fish all near the villa! We were on the 'all gold' it meant that we could access the minibar, have any cocktail we wanted at any time (however there is an all inclusive cocktail offered each day free for those who are not on the all gold) and get a free dinner at Franco's, free 1 hour spa treatment, free golf and free dive lesson - not bad! The food was the same in all restaurants, there was a good choice and it was fresh and hot and very tasty. We did have a look at the menu in the 3 A la carte restaurants but found the buffets served pretty much the same food that were offered in Francos and The Beach (apart from Lobster and pizzas), however the Far East restaurant did offer a different choice of food. We didn't go to the gym (opened 8am till 8pm) but we had a peek, it offered a good range of machines and was air conditioned, we found the 40 mins walk around the whole island provided us with enough exercise! We had 2 spa treatments (one free!) they were worth the money, ok so they are not cheap but they are no more expensive than those offered at other resorts in places such as Mexico, Caribbean etc. Most of the children could be found around the pool in the main area of the resort, so if you wanted quiet you could escape to the Sangu bar or O Resort (again adult only). The nightlife was limited especially in the Sangu and O Resort however this was what we wanted, a quiet, peaceful, romantic evening. There was more lively entertainment in the main part of the resort for those who wanted it however. One major tip would be to take a carry all as your suitcases do arrive by boat late in the evening depending on your flight, also make sure you book the right room type to get the right area of the resort for you! You do not need shoes, I took flip flops only and hardly wore them! Concering bites! I get bitten everytime I go away, this time I hardly needed my insect repellent, I did see men in the morning blasting the sand with some machine, I assume this was to stop any sand mites, also there are nets around the bed, they also take hygeine seriously there were hand sanitisers all over the resort. We did tip as we thought the staff did a great job, but to be honest you got the same service if you didn't.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday and a much needed rest! I have certainly recommended Kuredu to my friends and anyone who wants an idea of where to go for a fab holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham on the Wolds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

General Information:This was my first time in the Maldives as a single traveller basically looking for a diving holiday. I endorse all of the "paradise island" comments; it is just what I hoped for. I will therefore concentrate on details that may help you decide whether this is for you and if so which options to choose.There are many atolls and islands that you can visit. Kuredu is at the upper end and generally gets four stars in the local comparison ratings There are three basic areas; the main arrival area, the Sangu and the O'Resort. You can pay for food and drinks as you go or opt for one of two all inclusive package called all inclusive and all inclusive gold. I opted for the all inclusive package in a Beach Villa (291) in the O'Resort. This made the O'Resort bar and restaurant my default eating place.The Beach Villas have a main room with air conditioning, TV, a fridge, a kingsize bed a sofa and a desk. There is a front balcony and back open ensuite facilities. The electricity is 220 volts supplied by diesel generators and the power sockets are standard three pin British. No need for travel adapters if you are British. It is hot and tee-shirts, shorts and sandals are the only clothes needed for the bars and restaurants. This place is cleaned to standards you will not believe (they rake the sand) and it is safe to walk in bare feet. Take swimming stuff and mask, snorkel and fins. Use sunblock (I used 15 to 50). Insects are not a huge problem but there are sandflies and mosquitos. Use 50% Deet insect repellent if you are like me and tend to get bitten and react with itchy lumps.The only currency accepted is US dollars (USD). You do not need to carry money as any extras can be charged to your room and paid for by credit card at the end of the stay. There are room safes but security did not seem to be a problem on this Island.

Activites: Snorkelling and Scuba: I have the PADI Advanced Open water diving qualification and would describe myself as warm water holiday diver. I went for the diving and there is only one provider called ProDivers. This is in the main part of the resort and they are excellent. Visit them after the introduction meeting and you will find an option that suits you. There is a liveaboard option. I did not see any technical/deep diving options and the sport diving is limited to 30m depth and 60 minutes dive time. They say they have a decompression chamber and they probably do. They are Nitrox obsessed (about 90% of the dives recommended Nitrox and I was suprised that I could take a shower without Nitrox) but air is fine. I recommend spending 5 USD more for a 15 L tank if you are tight on air with 10 L tank for 60 minutes. The water temperature was 30 centigrade down to 30 metres and a wetsuit is not necessary. Dive computers are compulsory. I have one, but if you do not you will have to hire one. I did 8 dives with equipment hire (BCD, regulator, wetsuit and weights) for 600 USD.
Other Activities; Mainly watersports like Paracending, windsurfing and kitesurfing. There is also badminton, a full size football pitch, table tennis, an outdoor chess board and a Spa. I did not use any of these. Kuredu has the only golf course in the Maldives so I had to play it. It has six holes and the longest is 55 yards. It costs $10 plus $3 for a ball. Nice bar, great fun and can you beat 21? My handicap is 27 so a round in minus 6; my best ever.. On the negative side there are no pushy sales people, no thumping nightclubs and no fighting drunks

Room Tip: Main resort for families. Sangu if you are getting married or want it really quiet. O'Resort if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop northern reef of Lhaviyani Atoll, Kuredu Island Resort celebrates twenty-five years of meritorious service to it’s guests. This large resort offers a range of options with seven restaurants, seven bars, nine categories of accommodation, sports and leisure activities. The resort operates single largest dive centre in Maldives. Kuredu Golf Club is the first golf club in Maldives and is still the largest. With 85% of the resort retained as nature, eco friendliness in operation has won international accolades. Be your holiday romantic, diving, golfing, sheer chill out, culinary exploration, Kuredu is the natural choice.Kuredu ... ... ... pure as silver, good as paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.