We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but a lot of extras!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kuredu Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a lot of extras!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is our second time in the Maldives and first time at kuredu, me my husband and 20 month daughter stayed in a garden bungalow 346. The room was lovely and the outside bathroom experience was great but it was way to far away from everything it was a good 15 min walk to breakfast , pool ect so I think they should put families near reception ect. The weather? Well it is rainy season of course we had a few days of rain but soon cleared up and the glorious sunshine but the last day and night on the resort was thunder storms and rain so hard and heavy it's a shame we didn't leave on a high. We went all inclusive and to be warned there is a lot of extras! For example , pedlows, ice creams, all cocktails, milk for my baby! All of this was included when we went to meeru a couple of years ago. Kuredu is a very big resort the second biggest in Maldives so that's why I think there's not a lot included in all inclusive. There's loads of restaurants , bars and tea rooms but they are extra even if your all inclusive. There was a lot of kids there surprisingly but didn't feel it catered for the children as such , free ice creams, milk on all inclusive package.
I did enjoy my holiday but the little things were missing in the resort and just felt like we had to pay out a lot of extras which should of been included in all inclusive package. 9th- 21st oct 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Hayley,

Warm greetings from the sunny Maldives,

We thank you for your review with your honest views of the holiday had with us earlier this month. While we observe that generally you had enjoyed your holiday, there were a few that you felt could have been of more value to your holiday satisfaction.

Maldives is traditionally a divers' paradise due to the variety of marine life that is found in a nation that is 99% ocean. This has it's effect on the facilities and packages that the resort has developed. As the resorts are allowed to develop not more than 20% of the island, the economics decides the facilities that would be more appropriate.

Kuredu has been a family resort and would continue to be family friendly. We have tried having some facilities for the children, but they are not being used. Nothing is more fascinating than the magic of the sand, lagoon and the swimming pool.

As you have observed, the resort is the second largest island resort in the Maldives and we have utilised that to spread out the accommodation and facilities. Each accommodation category is located in different parts of the island. The categories that are located close to the main area are the Beach Villas and Jacuzzi Beach Villas.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your daughter back for your next holiday in the Maldives. We thank you once again for taking time to review your holiday with us.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,305
    532
    147
    53
    43
See reviews for
354
2,230
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for our honeymoon. It's heaven. Great food and beautiful island with good facilities. Snorkelled everyday and saw stinkrays, a litany of fish, eels, small sharks etc. I would suggest getting a jaccuzi beach villa as it was great. What more do you need people. Book now!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear James,

Warm greetings from sunny Maldives.

it is with great pleasure do we note that you had a very memorable honeymoon with us.

We wish to immensely thank for the strong recommendation you have made of the resort to those who are planning their holiday yet for Maldives.

Snorkeling is indeed one of the best activities one can get engaged in. The resort has about two and half kilo meters of lagoon in all, offering a very extensive area to enjoy snorkeling.

We thank you once again for your review and look forward to your next visit with us.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This resort is average in terms of service/offerings. The beaches have a lot of shells so careful where you step. The water is beautiful, it is the maldives after all. The walkways here are just concrete covered in sand, nothing spectacular. The rooms are pretty average, the housekeeping is average, the restaurants are average. Breakfast/Lunch will almost be the same every day, dinner changes every night. I think the meat they cant get rid of in lunch gets used in dinner in currys and other stews. I had stomach issues and I ate in some of the dirtiest places before.

Everything cost extra here, from the Wifi to the drinks. For the price you pay, you could be getting 5 star service in a resort in the Caribbeans. If this resort was anywhere else, it would just be a really really average place. Don't expect any type of service that you haven't seen anywhere else. We stayed at the O room. The receptionist said that teas and coffees were unlimited but the room itself only have an espresso machine so you can't even boil water so what is the point of putting the tea and coffee there when you have to request a kettle anyway? Most restaurants are covered in sand, it just feels dirty to eat in.

This resort has a lot of people, don't expect an intimate setting, one night you had to wait in the bar to get a table in the restaurant. I traveled almost 16 hours on the plane to get here and it was just disappointing at how average this resort is. Other resorts have 24 hour room service that's free since you're paying for the all inclusive package, and free wifi. It cost $6 for a soda for room service, that is just utterly crazy.

The prodiver shop needs training in customer service. If you have any sand or rocks on your items when you return them, they will ask you to wash it for them. Is that not their job?

If you're looking for a really average vacation or honeymoon, stay here and don't expect anything spectacular. Remove the beautiful maldives, and you just have a plain old resort.

Room Tip: Stay in the O section, quietest and closest to the O restaurant which is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent our honeymoon on Kuredu in April 2011. We had a great time there, one night spent in Water villa (special gift for honeymooners), the rest of our stay spent in Kohamas jacuzzi beach villa (absolutely impressed by open-air bathroom :-).
The very first feeling was too wet and hot weather after leaving the board, but we were very surprised by Kuredu´s own lounge with cold towels, air-conditioning, snacks and coffee. After landing on Kuredu we were welcome by very kind staff, cold towels, fresh drink and sound of drums :-) It was amazing first impression!
Kuredu is paradise, with gorgeous sea and water life, delicious cuisine (continental with Maldivian specialities), very good service, rooms and staff.
Our best holiday ever, we hope we are coming back on day :-)

PS: In April there were rain showers almost every day, but very short (btw. it was pleasant cleaning of the air)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Klara,

Greetings to you from your honeymoon destination in the Maldives.

We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your special holiday with us. Nothing could be more rewarding for us than to read that you have plans to return back.

Your choice of accommodation is very appropriate for the occasion of your holiday. Water Villas and Jacuzzi Beach Villas have unique features, one being over water with direct access to the lagoon from you private deck and the other being right on the beach having Jacuzzi with day bed under a very traditional thatched hut..

We do hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon. We thank you once again for your review of the holiday.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we stayed in a garden bungalow no 384 for the first two weeks of October 2012,we loved everything about it including the outdoor bathroom.The room was spotless thanks to Aesa who cleaned it twice a day and made beautiful designs on the bed with flowers,thankyou for that, it made us feel special.The island is so beautiful and we knew we were in paradise.The staff all work so hard to keep the island clean and give you the best service possible.Food amazing,we ate in the Bonthi restaurant and never got bored with the choices as there was so much to choose from and it was not repetitive.Thank you Hassan our waiter,for the service you gave us,and also Ram who cooked lovely omelettes and eggs.We would also like to thank Bandara and Bobin for the lovely cocktails you both made and for keeping our glasses topped up constantly, and also Lalaith who made us so welcome on our first night. We could not find any fault in Kuredu the beaches were so beautiful with powder white sand and turquoise sea,we loved the fish the turtles the fruit bats ,the list is endless.We would recommend Kuredu it was the perfect holiday and we cant wait to come back one day,and we definitely will. Some tips for guests heading to Kuredu: Take a torch and plenty of sun cream (you will need it) and don't forget to cream your feet like I did......Ouch
Another thank you to Ken the general manager, another Pompey fan (good man). Finally to all the lovely people who we met on Kuredu a massive thank you for the laughter and making our time in paradise even better. If you choose to visit Kuredu you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow was perfect for our stay as we spent every moment we could outside in the sun. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Deb and Lee,

Warm Greetings to you from sunny Maldives,

We wish to thank you very much for the review of your holiday had with us earlier this month. It gives us immense satisfaction to note that we could meet your holiday expectations. We specifically wish to thank you for recommending us to those who are considering a holiday in the Maldives.

We are very happy to note that you have taken the efforts to mention our team members by their names for the quality of service they have rendered you and made a very positive impact on your holiday. We will certainly mention to them of your appreciation. The resort takes great pride in our team members and we have been very fortunate to retain them with us for many years.

Your review gives us the hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you again for your next possible holiday in the Maldives.

We thank you once again for you kind review.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Kuredu.

We mostly agree with the previous reviews, but the bed quality could have been better.

Our only advice is not to always trust your room cleaner. We had a situation that was dealt with at the time. Use the safe and don't leave anything valuable on your bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Eddie,

Warm greetings to you from Kuredu Island Resort and Spa,

Team Kuredu wishes to thank you very much for taking your time to pen a review of your holiday with us,

We have taken note of your comment that has borne a negative impact on your holiday. On behalf of every one in Kuredu, kindly accept our very sincere apologies.

We want to assure you this matter has been adequately addressed to ensure this is not heard of in our resort again.

We do hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back for your next holiday in the Maldives.

Thank you very much.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Asaph
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Kuredu.
Just got back from second holiday to Kuredu. We went back because we knew it was special, this time we saved heavily and upgraded to a water villa. We had a great holiday.
This year we decided that we would get a direct flight, it is a long way so we upgraded our seats for the 10 hour flight. Unfortunately the tour operator cancelled flights and re booked us on an emirates flight. We had flown with Emirates before and they are very good, their entertainment system is excellent but it meant a transfer in Dubai. The first flight was on an airbus 380 (excellent) but the transfer and second flight makes this a long day. We had two delays which meant that when we landed in Mali and went to get our seaplane we had missed it and had to wait 3 hours before the next one. Kuredu have their own lounge so this is not unpleasant but it is the last thing you want at the end of a long journey. I must say that from our own experiences and speaking to others this is unusual. Naturally we were shattered and to some people this would have ruined their holiday, but we knew that it was worth it, as for us Kuredu lives up to its slogan “welcome to paradise”.
The holiday was excellent and after 2 weeks we did not want to come home. The staff couldn’t do any better, facilities great and one of the advantages of being in a water villa is that we could go to any restaurant on the island, and they were all very good.
For anyone thinking of Maldives we would highly recommend Kerudu, it is one of the larger island’s so there is plenty to do. The lessons we learnt from the year before was take plenty of ‘Jungle formula’ insect repellent for in the evenings if you go out walking. We were not bitten once this trip.
The extra we paid to go into the water villa was not easy to come by, but what an experience, so much so that we will be saving to go back again. To go out onto your own sundeck in the ocean and watch the sea life and our daily visit of tortoises every morning was fantastic. We did our first snorkelling this year and couldn’t believe how great it was.
We believe that the islands website and the tour operator’s brochures do not do Kuredu justice; it certainly does not tell you everything that is included in the all-inclusive package, from golf lesson, sunset cruise, free massage, use of canoe, cocktails (of the day) as well as all the normal you would expect.
You have free Wi-Fi in two of the bars, the only thing I would change is charge $1 per day for each room and have it free throughout the island. For me with an OAP mother I like to Skype home.
I have to mention some of the staff as I do not expect that you will get service like this anywhere else, From Ibrahim who looked after our water villa, to Liusham and Samir who looked after us in the restaurant as well as Sajan our favourite cook. Darsh and Joseph in the Sangu bar and Lalaith, Bobin, Akiviz, Gurpreet, Losly and Sarath in the pool and main bar. To Ken (general manager) who goes out of his way to make sure his guests are having a great holiday. If we have missed any names please forgive us as all the staff were excellent.
So we would give Kuredu 10 out of 10 and cannot wait to go back.
To all on the island, all our thanks.

Room Tip: If you can go for the water villa's
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMChris, Director of Sales at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Peter,

Warm greetings to you from Kuredu Island Resort and Spa,

Team Kuredu wishes to thank you very much for taking time to pen your review of the holiday you recently had wish us.

It has been a very right decision to go for the right kind of accommodation that fits into your concept of holiday. As you have experienced, the options you had does make a large difference to the holiday experience.

We wish to thank you for listing out our team members who have served you to an extent that you have named then all with fond memories. Each of them would be delighted to learn that they could make a positive impact on your holiday.

Our very sincere "thank you" is also due to the strong recommendation you have made in the review to those who are desiring to have their holiday in the Maldives. We look forward to you next visit.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Chris Nargunam
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. Your seaplane transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 2-Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows, 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.