We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraser and Cassie wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Broomhall Castle to your Saves list
Broomhall Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fraser and Cassie wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

A big thank you to Rod, Gavin and all the staff at Broomhall for a fantastic wedding.
The whole weekend went without a hitch. We were all made to feel so relaxed and at ease. Food and service were great and the whole day was lovely. All our guests left the next day with nothing but praise for the hotel and staff. Keep up the good work.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi guys

thanks for the great revue and glad you enjoyed yourselves.. we all did! was a hoot of a wedding and looking forward to seeing you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    104
    33
    20
    11
See reviews for
89
216
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowen Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have never sent in a review of a property before, but I have never been treated so poorly by a hotel owner before this and had to share. The owner called me a liar when I pointed these things out....and then refused to give a refund because we weren't willing to spend another night. This place is filthy. It's not even a castle.....it was a nursing home for 40 years before the present owner turned it into a hotel. Food was awful...breakfast eggs tasted like the fish from the night before. Garbage in the parking lot, the elevator was scary...it dropped 3 inches when we stepped into it, there was hair in the bathtub, the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly (yellow stains in the bowl), cobwebs in the doorway, the windows were so dirty that you couldn't see out clearly and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. AVOID THIS AWFUL PLACE.

Room Tip: Do not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
and so the lies continue, I am not even going to waste time responding to your comments, anyone with half a brain even the slightest bit of common sense can see that you are full of it! I hope and pray that no other hotel in the world has to put up with this and we will be in touch with Trip adviser to get this removed.
And the reason you weren't given a refund is that you pointed out nothing that was actually genuine, for example when you didn't finish your meal and were asked by a member of staff what was wrong you said nothing you simply said you just didn't like it, which indicates personal taste and not a problem with our chef or food quality...

I pity any hotel you visit and hope they treat you with the contempt you deserve. In words of a fellow hospitality senior manager,
for those who believe that the customer is always right, they are not, the customer is entitled to their opinion and it is usually wrong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We went to spend New year at the Castle because we were considering getting married there. From the moment we arrived we were treated amazingly. I have never seen staff work so hard to please their guests. We are definitely getting married there next yr.xx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Tracey.. suffering from deja Vu here, I am pretty sure I just responded to one of yours!! glad you still liking us and can't wait for the wedding

Rod :) x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Our wedding could not of been MORE perfect!!! Castle beautiful, rooms stunning, food delicious, view breath taking and the staff well just bloody fantastic credit to you all they all did an amazing job! Can't wait to come back and stay xxxx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Jenna

Thanks for an awesome review and will pass on everything to the team, glad your big day was all you wanted it to be and gutted I wasn't here for it, but i will surprise you with a visit and a couple of beers next time I am in London!

Regards and thanks again

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Broomhall has had many uses over its history. It is an impressive structure and the lure and romance of a night in a castle is a must have. Access to the castle is via a narrow village road and some repair is need. The exterior of the castle seems well maintained allow some effort on the grounds would really set off the classic structure. Check-in was very quick and David was extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our room was well furnished although a writing desk would be helpful. The bed was comfortable and the ensuite was clean and modern. Nothing can be done about the creeking floors but some of the carpet was well worn and a coat of paint would clean up some walls. Don't expect Internet service in your room or even in some of the lounges. The thick walls just don't permit it. We took dinner there and while the presentation of my wife's seabass and my lamb chops and loins was excellent, the seabass was strong and the lamb was tasty but 3/4 fat. Breakfast the next morning was excellent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
hi Doug

Thank you for the review and glad you overall enjoyed your stay with us, the road leading to the castle us unfortunately out of our hands, hopefully enough complaints about it and the local council will get round to fixing it, our driveway is being worked on so thats half the battle, squeeky floorboards are not so easy to fix but we are working our way round them..
Next time you are back in Scotland hopefully you will be able to stay with us again and see the improvements

Regards

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We found a great last minute deal to stay a night at the 'Castle' via Laterooms whilst on a tour of Scotland. First impressions were positively reinforced by a friendly email from the hotel confirming the reservation.

The driveway up to the hotel could do with resurfacing but the building itself looked great externally. Check in was easy and quick and we went to the room. Broomhall Castle has had various uses over the years - the history in the information pack in the room was quite intriguing - and prior to becoming a hotel was an old people's home, which is evident in a few ways once you go up from reception, but it wasn't a big deal. The room was lovely with a very high ceiling and classic furniture and the bathroom was nicely, and recently, refurbished. Letting things down a little were worn old green carpet, creaky floors and a slightly shabby feeling but overall it felt perfectly decent, like a slightly worn old aristocratic mansion!

We didn't partake in dinner at the hotel, but did visit the bar on our return that evening. There were only a few people around, but the barman was very friendly and the room next to the bar in which we sat was absolutely beautiful, with a huge fireplace and comfy sofas! In the morning breakfast was efficiently served in the lovely dining room, and portions were huge (definitely no lunch needed that day!).

Overall, we felt that if the hotel had a few quid they could make the place more 'high end', but then the cost of staying would go up and it might lose a little of it's charm. As it is, it's quirky but fun, the service is good, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi MRBen

Thanks for a great review, and glad to hear you like it, you will be pleased to hear that we are working on the drive (just waiting for a couple of days we are empty so we can close it down to strip it and resurface it) and we are working out way around updating rooms and touching up paint etc, hopefully you will be able to come back in the not to distant future

Regards and thank you once again

Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Attended a conference where there were lots of hitches, not a seamless operation. Coffee was served in the morning for delegates arriving and the dirty cups had to be used again for mid-morning coffee. This ran out out anyway and the majority had to go without. Sound was poor for the speakers and the projector was used on a wall which resulted in a poor view.Lunch was disappointing, the soup was lukewarm and sandwiches very uninspiring. The restaurant was bland with no character. Some of the furniture in the bar area was really worn and torn-perhaps a vintage look?! It was pleasant enough but just didn't live up to expectations from the impression the outside of the building gives which is a shame. The hotel is set in an area where you need access to a car, it's not very accessible otherwise. We wouldn't use it again for a conference venue as it just isn't suited to hosting this type of function. Probably be okay for a wedding but the quality of the food would have to improve.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Guest Relations Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I am not going to go into any details other than to say that your company would not be welcome back here, and that your key speaker is the rudest, nastiest and most horrible creature I have had the misfortune of meeting and if he ever showed up at our hotel again I would not be held responsible for my actions, he insulted me, my castle and my staff.

All your points are answerable tea and coffee was only paid for on arrival and after lunch, the sandwiches were chosen by the conference organizer from an extensive list of options, there is nothing wrong with the sound quality in our function hall, and we have hundreds of weddings and conferences a year, yours is the only complaint we have had.

Gleneagles is only approachable by Car, what is your point? maybe we should move the castle to an airport or train station, but then again that wouldn't help with the sound

Kind Regards and thank you for letting me know you won't be back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Address: Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with ten good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Scotland/Menstrie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broomhall Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.