We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad day maybe??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Broomhall Castle to your Saves list
Broomhall Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bad day maybe??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I was working in the area and chose to stay here as the reviews were good and it was convenient. On arrival I could find no one in reception nor in the bar to book me in, someone did appear after about 10 minutes. Similarly on going down to the bar for a drink before dinner it was still unattended, again I could find no staff in the dinning room to assist. On a positive note the food was good and attractively presented. The TV in the room suffered very badly from loss of signal despite trying to reposition the portable aerial making it very frustrating to try and watch anything. Perhaps I was unlucky and it was just a bad day, but not sure I would book to stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Ken

thank you for leaving a review for us on Trip Advisor and sorry to hear about the experience you had with us. I can assure you this must have been a bad day and all we can do is apologise for this. I do hope you will come back to us and find out how good we really are and should you wish to book please contact us directly and I will do you a cracking deal and make sure you can get what you want when you want it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    104
    33
    20
    11
See reviews for
89
216
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I'm currently working in the area and need a hotel 2 nights per week. Stayed in a few others in the area but none offered the comfort, friendliness and value for money that you get at Broomhall. The location is stunning - no surprise that this is a much favoured wedding venue. The rooms are very comfortable with period furniture and tastefully decorated. No hairdryers in the rooms but one was made available for me on my first visit (remember to take my own now). There are plenty of reception rooms with free Wifi available (no Wifi signal in the bedrooms). All of the staff are friendly and accomodating - nothing seems to be too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is a little limited, but all is exceptional quality and value for money. If you want to venture out for dinner, there are a few nice restaurants in Bridge of Allan (approx 10 mins by car). Breakfast is served at the table rather than buffet style and again, a very high standard. The overall feel of the hotel is quite casual/informal but the attention to detail is meticulous and unlike larger hotels, I've not had to query anything on my bills. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - families, couples, as well as those travelling on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Anne

Thank you for leaving us a review and glad you have been enjoying your stays with us, and looking forward to welcoming you back to the castle during May, trying to give you a different room everytime so you get a great feel for the place :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First visit to Broomhall and I was most impressed. The main hotel area was dated but this added to the embiance of the place,The bedrooms were excellent ,spacious clean and well equipped.The food was very good but the evening meals were slightly on the high side price wise. All the staff were very friendly and most helpful.I would certainly make a return visit and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Michael

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again in the future.. We always like to welcome people back to the castle, and try and improve each time.. although we don't plan on changing too much..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our second time at this hotel although this time with two small children. The staff were very welcoming and it really is this service which makes it such a pleasure to stay here. They were very helpful and very good with the children.

The rooms all appear to be very simply but very nicely furnished, and the beds are so nice! The building has some real quirkiness to it. This is a hotel with real character. Yes, there are some creaky floors, but if you want bland then there are plenty of characterless chain hotels which look identical whether you're in Stirling or Southampton.

The food is really very good, and the dining room is a very pleasant place with plenty of room on and around the tables.

Broomhall Castle has certainly lived up to expectations for our return visit. The staff really are very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Evening David
always a pleasure seeing familiar faces back at the castle, and this time with the kids! Let us know next time you are planning a trip up North and we will certainly look after you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

booked this hotel for birthday night away and it ticked all the boxes. First of all, gavin was an excellent host, making us feel very welcome throughout our stay. The two davids kept me going in rum...thanks!!!. The hotel itself is very secluded and we were first met by a couple of deer on our way in and by birdsong. Its so tranquill.
Inside the hotel its an oasis of calm with its large sittingrooms and bar. The room itself was excellent;tidy, with a small sitting room in the turret. The bathroom was clean and had a big stand alone bath which was great to soak in.
Dinner was excellent with good service and plenty of space between tables to give some privacy.
i would recommend this hotel even though some parts are worn at the edges , which i think adds to the ambience.Some one mentioned in previous post about the creaking floors but the only creaking that bothered me was my knees!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at Broomhall Castle over Easter, what an absolute pleasure, this is a really unique Castle to stay in, they keep it 'simple but perfect' in the words of the manager on duty and it is so true. The staff, the building, all the unique bedrooms, the FOOD wow, all excellent you have a fantastic product, keep it going and thank you it's a privilige to stay with you

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

been looking for hotels to stay in around scotland other than atholl palace in pitlochry which is getting expensive. so we tried broomhall castle as it looked nice on internet. when we arrived we were greeted and shown our room, the staff were fantastic which makes it a shame to moan about the hotel. all the flooring around the building creaked whenever it was walked on which made it very hard to relax in our room . could not get to sleep as the guests above our room decided to run a bath at 2am and we could hear everything they were shouting. i know this is not the staffs fault but it shows the quality of the building. the fire doors are out of a old office building and one has a 20mm gap in it making it ILLEGAL. NOT a £95 a room hotel more like £40. meals were good though maybe a little over priced. we'll keep looking for other hotels as this one needs a lot of investment. i know this sounds like i'm a moaner but i'm really not, this place was just a step too far. won't be returning unless we find thing have changed.

Room Tip: choose the top floor if you can. you won't have to listen to people above you. large beds are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, General Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Alan

thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor and I am sorry to hear we weren't up to your standards, the flooring is something we are working our way around doing one room at a time, I appreciate that this is can be irritating especially when other guests decide to dance around and have baths at 2am! I can assure you that the fire doors are legal, and not out of an old office and as we passed our last fire safety certification last October with 100% and nothing has been changed there is nothing illegal about any of the safety features in the castle.
As I said we are upgrading the rooms by securing the floors, but this does take time and we are getting there so hopefully when you try us again in the future you will find the floor boards less creaky and (bathing aside) hopefully you will have a great nights sleep and find that we are worth every penny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Address: Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with ten good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Scotland/Menstrie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broomhall Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.