We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drochil Castle Farmhouse

Drochil Castle Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Linton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drochil Castle Farmhouse
Save
You added Drochil Castle Farmhouse to your Saves list
West Linton, West Linton EH46 7DD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 West Linton B&B and Inns
Hull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst attending an event in the local area. We had a lovely stay. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived as did our dogs.
Our room (Valley View) was large and airy, furnished to a high standard,very comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything you could want, including an excellent en suite. The photos on the web site do not do it justice!
We set off to explore Peebles, when we returned Ann provided a tea tray and some delicious home made truffles which we had in the lounge before retiring to bed. After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed an excellent breakfast of fresh fruit, toast and a cooked breakfast (with lots of local produce) to set us up for the day. We were sent on our way (a full day on the grouse moors) with some home made cake just to make sure! Left feeling rested and relaxed, thank you. Would highly recommend to other travellers and hope to return.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann B, Owner at Drochil Castle Farmhouse, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of Drochil Castle Bed & Breakfast, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Although we had booked a room in advance we were greeted in a very off hand manner as Mrs Black was away for the day and had forgotten to tell her husband that we were expected so the room wasn't ready for us. As we were going out for the evening we were not too concerned as there was plenty of time for the room to be prepared. When we arrived back at midnight the room was like a fridge but I thought once we were in bed we would soon warm up........... but we didn't. I have never been so cold in all my life, and yes I do live in Scotland and I don't have double glazing. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann B, Owner at Drochil Castle Farmhouse, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy staying at Drochil Castle Farmhouse and apologise for not being here to welcome you on your arrival. I have contacted you via Facebook to offer a free nights accommodation and hope that you decide to come back to the Farmhouse for an enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our second stay at Drochil Castle Farmhouse and B&B and it was just as wonderful as the first time. The farmhouse is set in a beautiful situation, the rooms are very nicely appointed, very comfortable, large and airy and very clean. The hostess/owner, Ann Black is an incredible hostess, very warm and welcoming and always very helpful and her full "Scottish" breakfast was to die for and carried us well through the entire day until dinner/supper time. We cannot say enough about Drochil Castle Farmhouse and Ann ... we will definitely return on our next trip to Scotland as we love this area and cannot get enough of it when we visit. Thank you Ann1

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We fell in love with this place. It is situated in an incredibly beautiful area and has its own ruined castle in the grounds. Ann Black is a very busy lady but still has time to make you feel welcome, sit and chat about the local area and the wonderful house and farm and also to provide you with tea and biscuits on arrival. Our room was located on the ground floor - a large, comfortable ensuite room. Breakfast was served in a lovely light and airy conservatory with an amazing view. There was an extensive choice - yoghurt, fresh fruit, cereal, full cooked breakfast, toast and marmalade. The farmhouse is about 8 miles from the historic town of Peebles, 20 from Edinburgh and a short distance from the village of West Linton. We asked Ann if she could recommend somewhere close by for us to eat our evening meal. She suggested the Old Bakery in West Linton and phoned to check there would be a table available for us. This proved to be an excellent place to eat with great choice, including vegetarian choices. We spent three nights there and will return when next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arrived as we were en-route from Edinburgh to wales and wanted to make a start on the journey. The B and B is in a beautiful location and the hostess was great. Breakfast is wonerful with a fresh fruit platter, cereals and a full Scottish breakfast! Not all rooms have en-suite so make sure you are aware of this (it is clear on their website).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were there in march 2013 for 4 days. It was a lovely bed &breakfast, especially breakfast, made by Ann! This place is so gorgeous; not only the house as well the environment. The bedroom was very luxurous and the houseroom with fireplace was very cosey and warm. We would like to thank David and Ann for there warm hospitallity and ofcourse our special greet to their dog Mac ;-) The little 'man' is hilarious!
Greets, Bert en Wendy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saddleworth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It was the first B&B on our recent holiday and what a start! Ann's baking is a real treat and her wonderful breakfast in a large stunning conservatory with views to match left us wishing we could stay longer. Our large bedroom had many thoughtful touches. We have considerable experience of B&Bs and we rate Drochil Farmhouse extremely highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drochil Castle Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drochil Castle Farmhouse

Address: West Linton, West Linton EH46 7DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > West Linton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Linton
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Drochil Castle is a traditional Scottish farmhouse, offering a relaxed and homely atmosphere to all its guests. In winter months enjoy a roaring log fire and in the summer explore the spectacular scenery of the Scottish Borders. The B&B commands stunning views over its rolling grassland surroundings; a truly beautiful place to escape to and yet still within 5 miles of Peebles and 25 miles of Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drochil Castle Farmhouse West Linton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drochil Castle Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.