We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place for an unpretentious lunch with local produce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Carfraemill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge at Carfraemill to your Saves list
The Lodge at Carfraemill
Oxton, Lauder TD2 6RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gargunnock
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A fine place for an unpretentious lunch with local produce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I meet a colleague here twice a year. He lives in the Borders so it's a reasonable place for us to get together. We always have the same thing Eyemouth-landed (so it's really fresh) haddock: his battered, mine in breadcrumbs followed by coffee. Just a good, old-fashioned inn with reasonable prices and no pretence. The staff are very polite and efficient - it's just liek being at your aunty's. Today I washed it down with a half of "Game Bird" from the Broughton Brewery, also not far away. Good quality, good value local produce.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Carfraemill, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Just dropping a line to thank you for your comments. I remember serving you the last time you were here, so look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    23
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
35
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a family meal tonight and has been good in past. Tonight was a let down, wasn't very hot, garlic mushrooms very tasteless. The potatoes on the roast dinners were not cooked properly and the chips were hard. Did not get the choice of salad or veg with scampi. One of the roast dinners had very little gravy so we had to ask for more. Very expensive for what we got 2 course meal for 5 adults and I kids chicken gouging £125!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Carfraemill, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal on Sunday, but do hope you will come again for a more enjoyable experience. Apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We got married here 2years ago and when we visited it was it was lie yesterday. The staff and Jo and Susan were like family members, food on both nights was fantastic and we had our favourite room. Looking forward to going back. We couldn't recommend The Lodge anymore, this place is great

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Carfraemill, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Great to hear that you have enjoyed yet another stay with us, and thanks for your positive feedback. We'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I ate at The Lodge at Carfraemill for Fathers Day with family and was not disappointed. We had a really nice meal which included fillet steaks all round (8oz) all of which went down a treat.

The staff are friendly and attentive and engaged with us from our arrival until our departure. We missed starters because we've ate at The Lodge before and know that the portions are quite generous and so there was no need for our party to go for 4 courses.

We all ordered 8oz fillet steaks (there were 5 of us) and they were cooked well (according to our requirements) Steaks are priced without any accompaniments and orders are taken to create individual dishes depending on what you want to eat with your steak. I opted for hand cut chips (superb) onion rings (a little greasy for my liking) and coleslaw. Others had roast potatoes and veg, or mushrooms and salad. Everyone enjoyed their own dish.

We had a grand cheese board complimented by a nice glass of port and finished with a reasonable desert (I had apple crumble - but not enough ice cream).

We drank a nice red Merlot which was reasonably priced and complimented the steaks beautifully.

All in all a hearty meal in pleasant surroundings. Special mention must go to all the staff and in particular Chris who was an outstanding host.

Well done The Lodge, keep it up and we'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Carfraemill, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic comments regarding your meal on Father's Day. Chris will be pleased to know it was a satisfying evening.

Hoping to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Went to this hotel for my birthday evening meal. Staff were wonderful and very attentive. The food (fillet steak in particular) was the best we've ever tasted. We have been several times before and love everything about this hotel. They are very child friendly so if (like us your not) when booking your table ask for one in the bar area. The Lodge at Carfraemill is a wonderful experience I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Carfraemill, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
I am thrilled to hear that your birthday experience at Carfraemill was a good one, and that you enjoyed your meal. We are always happy to accommodate children. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We arrived on Saturday 28th April 2012 about 30 minutes early. Even although there was 30 ladies the staff could not have made us more welcome. We were shown to our tables straight away and were given refreshing cups of tea and coffee. Our meals were freshly cooked and served piping hot within a short time of arrival. The staff were very friendly and attended to all our needs.The scones, jam and cakes were delicious. Although our ladies range in ages from 60 to80 years of age (with the exception of 4 guests who were 12 to 30 years of age) everyone agreed with the quality of service and the excellence of the food, we will certainly be back and will be recommending this establishment for any coach parties guilds etc. Thankyou Jo and all your staff for a most enjoyable day.
Regrads
Helen Duddy
Secretary St John Ogilvie Ladies Club
High Blantyre

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Carfraemill, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thanks so much for letting us know you enjoyed it, and don't hesitate to book with us again. We look forward to seeing your ladies at Carfraemill again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have worked in the 'top end' of the Hotel & Catering Industry for 25 years and just thought I would do a quick review about the service we received on the way home from Edinburgh last night.

We dropped in at about 6.00pm with three very tired young children looking for an early dinner. The welcome was very friendly and helpful as we needed to establish the menu was going to be OK for the kids. My wife ordered the food while I had time to read the newspaper (that was available) as the kids were completely occupied playing with a host of toys that were provided.

I was delighted when the food arrived as it was all presented well (pub style) and the overall quality was excellent, especially the children’s meals.

All in all it was a very relaxing pleasant experience and this was due to the fact that they had very pleasant well trained staff, very aware of children’s needs and cook fresh imaginative food for children.

Well Done

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T, Manager at The Lodge at Carfraemill, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. I have copied your response to the staff on duty.
I hope to welcome you and your family to Carfraemill in the near future.

With best wishes

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Carfraemill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Carfraemill

Address: Oxton, Lauder TD2 6RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Lauder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lauder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run hotel nestled on the edge of the Lammermuir Hills in Lauderdale. We have have 10 individually styled bedrooms and a renowned restaurant serving the very best of local produce all day every day. At Carfraemill, we love to host weddings, parties, family gatherings and business events - we can accommodate small intimate affairs in a cosy private room, to larger events in our award-winning restaurant, country lodge style function room or fabulous marquee. We are truly family-friendly and baby-friendly: whether you bring your little ones to eat, celebrate or stay, we will make them feel extremely welcome so you can enjoy relaxed and happy times at Carfraemill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge at Carfraemill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Carfraemill Hotel Edinburgh
The Lodge At Carfraemill Lauder, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Carfraemill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.