We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lauderdale Hotel

Lauderdale Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lauderdale Hotel to your Saves list
Lauderdale Hotel
1 Edinburgh Road, Lauder TD26TW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lauder
Scotland, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was part of the group with David A. As the management response stated my wife and I stayed at the Lauderdale for 2 extended periods of time in 2012 & 2013, during both stays the staff, service and food were all exceptional, however on the night in question we had recommended to our good friends David A and his wife that we go to the Lauderdale,the 4 of us go out eating on a regular basis to a variety of places. The Soup that both David & I had was not up to the usual standard, it was watery and lacked any form of taste. My wife had the Fish & Chips which was good, I had the Thai Curry which was also excellent. David had a Steak which was not up to standard and subsequently had it replaced, the replacement was also sub standard but the most embarrasing thing was the Chilli served up to David's wife, it was dried out and looked crusty and inedible, pleased to say this was resolved when she opted for the Fish and Chips. At this stage I have to answer to Mr McKays response, if we could see that the Soup was sub standard and the Chilli was dried up why didn't his Chef/ Staff see it and why does he feel the need to defend this particular complaint ? Hospitality is a fickle business, you can have hundreds of excellent meals in an establishment as my wife and I undoubtedly have had at the Lauderdale but this can all be overshadowed by one bad experience as this case proves, sadly it has put us off and caused embarassment to my wife and I as we recommended the food. The response could have been worded much better and only exarcerbated the issue by trying to justify..... loss of brownie points there. I regret to say that the outcome is loss of custom by us and that is something I never thought I'd ever say about an otherwise superb Hotel, therefore there are losers on both sides here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here twice - when working locally... Was impressd by the quality of the food .. I've had the special Curry - Thai Green Curry and a Minute steak, in Pitta bread with a side salad ... off the snack menu.

I've also tried items from the dessert menu and found them very well presented and tasty.


Breakfast : I had the 'works', but there was quite a few variants available.


The staff were attentive and the owner and his son pleasant ..... this friendly welcome ensured I came back


I

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

was looking forward to night out with friends from lauder there choice of venue this hotel for dinner im afraid i will not be back and if anybody asks me ill give them honest answer re food soup out of packet steak cold chilli very very dry probably re cooked they offered to re cook my wife opted for fish and chips and i got another steak sirlion it was not we paid bill in full ill never be back chef needs a look at himself

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaronmckay, General Manager at Lauderdale Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
This gentleman did come to dinner with friends who have both stayed and eaten here on many occasions and never had any reason to complain. I can assure him that the soup was not out of a packet as he described but was homemade by one of our chefs as are all our soups with local ingredients. I did apologise regarding the chilli as it was an extremely busy night and it had possibly sat for a little longer than normal under the hotlights whilst waiting on the party to finish their starters. He stated to me that his 2nd steak which was cooked from scratch was not a sirloin but I assured him that it was and we have never had any complaints from anyone before regarding our steaks, most people say they are the best they have tasted in a long time. Once again I apologise that he felt this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lauderdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauderdale Hotel

Address: 1 Edinburgh Road, Lauder TD26TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Lauder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lauder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lauderdale Hotel is the ideal base to explore the Scottish Borders and Edinburgh. Set in large private gardens and situated on the A68 just a stones throw from all the major tourist attractions in the Borders and less than 30 minutes from Edinburgh. The hotel provides excellent quality accommodation with all rooms having been refurbished in 2011. There is also a restaurant serving food all day from an extensive menu based on locally sourced produce, as well as wide range of drinks and speciality coffees. The Hotel also has a function room holding up to 150 and several smaller meeting rooms, all complimented by plentiful free parking and free high speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lauderdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderdale Hotel Lauder, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauderdale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.