We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airhouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airhouses
Save
You added Airhouses to your Saves list
Oxton | Lauder, Oxton, Lauder TD2 6PX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Scottish Malt Whisky
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I don't believe in Heaven,but if I did........
Perfect lodge for two,cosy ,warm,views to boggle at,great bed,pigs with character to feed,walks from the door and a hot tub afterwards with a glass in hand.
Martin and Carol run the show with kindness and care.We even had Scottish sunshine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We really do appreciate guests taking the time to write a positive review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Airhouses. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is truly special...the views are spectacular! The lodges are of exceptional high quality and the hot tub adds that extra bit of luxury. The couple that own the lodges (Carol and Martin) could not do enough for us! The hot tub serviced twice a day which was great. Thanks for a great stay! Ron and Lorraine Clark

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive reveiw. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday even though we had some appalling weather, with snow, during stay. One of the magical things about Scotland is you can have so many different seasons in one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We are world travellers, and currently have been travelling for three months. We have two children aged 8 & 7 who are also use to travelling, so we pretty much try to stay in self contained accommodation. We arrived at the air houses late and were greeted by Martin and his wife Carol. Taken to the Buchanan house after travelling for 6 hrs from London. How lovely to arrive to a refrigerator packed with goodies enough for our first meal. The accommodation is so clean and well kept it felt like home. There was everything we needed and more, the towels were fantastic, the beds more than comfortable, and nothing looked tired and old like it normally does in self contained accommodation.So we travelled a long way to get here, all the way from Australia, and would highly reccomend this accommodation to anyone. 5 out of 5 guys. Thanks for organising the snow on Saturday morning the most amazing views. Oh the tower house pub down the road was great for local fish and local people. Oh the spotty dog deli in louder is awesome too. Got some fresh deli goods ordered for our stay via online.

Room Tip: Buchanan house was fantastic for the six of us roomy and Cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit such a wonderful review. We love to know that people have enjoyed their stay at airhouses and we hope you will be back to stay again sometime in the future. Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just back from a great weekend in The Lamont with 2 other couples. The accommodation is excellent - very clean and very well equiped . The views are spectacular especially from the fabulous hot tub which held the six of us no problem. Breakfast pack etc is of top quality. Very peaceful and quiet - perfect for a long weekend or longer with friends or just as a couple. Enjoyed feeding all the animals . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Airhouses, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It is good to know you enjoyed the Breakfast Welcome basket. We are now able to replace the local free range eggs with our very own free range eggs. Our hens now have a lovely new house and are laying beautifully. Once again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The details on the web site are accurate but it can't describe the truly wonderful experience which awaited us. Martin and Carol are "on the ball" and not only genuinely friendly but very professional. Martin does not stop maintaining the hot tubs as well as looking after his farm. He must get asked the same questions over and over by various guests and he still engages in interesting answers and conversation. The lodge is spacious and the bathrooms are fantastic. So much time and attention has been paid to ensuring that everything one could wish for is on hand. Board games, books, a wonderful coffee machine with a fantastic supply of various coffees and Brodies chocolates which I have to get more of. Feeding the animals was a great experience for the entire family. The tranquil and quiet surroundings were just what we city folk needed. Shopping for food was only 40 minutes away by car, either to Edinburgh or Galashiels. Thanks for the welcome pack of food and a great holiday, From Russell, Fiona and the kids.

Room Tip: All lodges have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Airhouses and hope you will all be back again at some time in the future. We had never really appreciated the views until people started staying in our lodges and the veiws never fail to impress. We are very lucky to live here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in the Buchanan Lodge for 3 nights with our 2 children aged 8 and 3. We all had a great time. The lodge is really lovely and comfortable and the view was amazing. The highlight was the hot tub, we all loved sitiing in it admiring the view. Although it was very cold when we got out of it! Unfortunately the weather wasn't really that great and poured at times.

The kids loved all the animals. The ponies and the pigs would come running as soon as my daughter wandered over to them. Plently of space for kids to run around and a really good treasure trail that we did in the afternoon. Very well thought out, the owner had even put Shaun the Sheep farm packs on the kids beds with their names on them. A very nice touch. And my husband really enjoyed the breakfast basket.

The whole property is very well maintained by the owners and many thanks to Martin for his endless patience with my children.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to write it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you spent time trying out our Treasure Trail. We hope you have sent in your answer on line and submitted a limerick for a chance of winning some vouchers. We now have a similar puzzle trail in place, using the same route but aimed at the under 12s. Although adults are enjoying it too. Again many thanks and hope to see you back at Airhouses soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a midweek, Monday to Friday, break. This is our second visit and we stayed in The Lodge, our first visit was as a group and we stayed in The Buchanan. Both lodges are very well equipped with everything you could possibly need at your fingertips. The hot tub is definitely the highlight of the lodges, it was fantastic to sit and relax in the peace and quite with the starry skies above.
The animals on the grounds of the lodges provide good entertainment and are friendly, they will greet you happily especially if you bring apples!
I would definitely recommend Clay Pigeon shooting at Roxburghe Hotel in Kelso, the instructor was very good and we had an enjoyable day. Kelso is around 1 hours drive from Oxton and is a lovely village to visit.
We also travelled into Edinburgh centre for a day using the park and ride at Sheriffhall, it is around 30mins drive from Oxton and another 20-30mins on the bus but I would recommend travelling this way as driving and parking in Edinbugh is not cheap nor easy! The bus is £3.20 for an adult day ticket.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are very lucky to be in such a beautiful situation yet have so much close by. The Park and Ride for Edinburgh is used a lot by our guests as it does make it so much easier to enjoy the whole City. Equally in the other direction, Kelso has much to offer and the clay pigeon shooting and also archery seem to be a great success. Again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airhouses

Address: Oxton | Lauder, Oxton, Lauder TD2 6PX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Lauder > Oxton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Oxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self-catering lodges set in 633 acres of farmland in the Scottish Borders but just a half hour drive from Edinburgh, the capital city of Scotland. Each lodge has its own hot tub and stunning views. Complimentary Scottish breakfast basket using local produce, fresh fruit, chocolates, toiletries and so much more are provided in each lodge. Pet pigs, Shetland ponies, llama and alpacas can all be fed or taken or a walk. 3.5 MilesCircular treasure trail/jogging trail from your lodge incorporating the village of Oxton plus wildlife walks around the farm. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airhouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.