We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Haugh Hotel

Haugh Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Haugh Hotel to your Saves list
Haugh Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cromdale PH26 3LW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cromdale B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The hotel looked ok from outside but when entered front door was different, rang for someone to book us in eventually husband came smile would have been nice ,shown to room nice size but not my decor too mumsy bed not big enough for a couple, Decided to eat in hotel that night not fresh as was said .Hotel in a large village but not anything else there if wanted to go elsewhere .Hotel advertise as bar meals available to public but when a son & his elderly dad came in they were asked if staying at hotel said no so was told not serving meals to them strange I thought.We never ate there next night drove to next town had indian was beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Good value small hotel in a easy to find location, yes right on the main road but the road is not too busy so no worries about late night traffic. Only 5 minutes from Grantown on Spey which has an abundance of great restaurants and i would recommend The Craig Bar and The Garth as places to eat, but the Haugh served a very good hearty breakfast with perfect poached eggs, tasty sausages and good bacon. Clean rooms in need of some tlc but it seems to be a work in progress, well worth a stay if you are looking for a room.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was met with a welcome and I was shown to a great room. It was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was great. The restaurant, on the other hand, is a different story, and I shall review separately. This is definitely more of a B&B than a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

There were 2 couples staying 2 nights. Although the outward look of the hotel is a little dark, perhaps even dreary, DO NOT be fooled as inside you will get a warm welcome from Sue & excellent food cooked by her husband. The breakfasts were excellent with cereals, yoghurt, a FULL English, toast, coffee/tea and even porridge if you wished. We found we didn't need a lunch at all, so good & filling were the breakfasts.
As there was nowhere else to eat in the village we were a little concerned but there was no need to be as there was a wide ranging menu changing daily and at very reasonable prices.
Our rooms were excellent - indeed the largest on our 10 day tour of the Highlands. Room 1 was the biggest with a superbly comfortable pair of leather armchairs. We had the usual range of tea & coffee making facilities but this was the only place to provide us with drinking chocolate too. Our friends were in Room 3 which was equally large but a little chillier as it sits above the virtually unused public bar below. However, the owners explained how to use the additional heating supplied.
We can all thoroughly recommend this economically priced hotel which is perfectly placed to reach Aviemore, Grantown and the Speyside Whiskey Trail. There is no need to visit all the distilleries as Sue stocks a great range of malt whiskeys & my cousin & I enjoyed the two tasting evenings at the Haugh Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 for armchair luxury although the early morning sun does stream in from the east facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great stay in a well run very friendly hotel. Good food, great beer and very pleasant and helpful staff (owner). Would highly recommend if you are visiting the area. In addition they are biker friendly which was good for myself and three companions on a weekend biking tour of the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Large bright airy rooms, spotlessly clean. Had our evening meal as well as our breakfast and food was delicious. The owner made sure we had everything we needed including us asking for a packed lunch half an hour before we were due to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had to book a two day stay here because of a family funeral. We have known of this hotel for many years but have not stayed there before. I have to say that our time there was very enjoyable. The room we were given had a refurbished bathroom which was tastefully finished. The room itself was clean. The bedding was of a high quality and had a delicate smell and the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were a treat with a lot of selection to choose from and served piping hot. Enough to set anyone up for the day! My only minus mark would be that there was no evening meal as we are used to DBB. You are able, however, to purchase a meal in the bar area. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haugh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haugh Hotel

Address: Cromdale PH26 3LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Cromdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cromdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haugh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Haugh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haugh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.