We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean lines, great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LeCiel Hotel

Save Saved
You added LeCiel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LeCiel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   200 Sandestin Blvd North, Miramar Beach, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Clean lines, great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This Hotel was labeled as a 4 star and I suspect this is because of its proximity to the resort amenities. However, on the property itself, I would only rate this as a 2.5 star based on the lack of hotel services and the front desk open with limited hours. As others have stated you have to check in at another property across the resort and then drive to your building/hotel.

There is a new shuttle service to ferry folks around the resort, but when one has to wait 30-45 minutes for the shuttle to arrive...its a waist of time. You can get in you car and drive to another part of the resort in minutes. For me, 15 minutes wait max...oh, we never did see the shuttle at the stop we needed, just saw them driving around.

The hotel is very clean and well decorated despite the age of the building and the location is stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay side room for a good view. The other side of the hotel overlooks a parking lot and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
PracticalDude,

We thank you for choosing Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we hope you choose to visit us again soon. We were sorry to see you were not completely satisfied with your stay at LeCiel. It is a great location and has the most amazing sunsets from the bayside balconies as any where else on the resort. We do operate the front desk limited hours during the off season and we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We do our best to meet all of our guests needs and we apologize if we did not meet all of your expectations. We do hope you will choose Sandestin again. We have over 1300 units to choose from among our 2400 acres and we are confident we have something that will meet/exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact me upon making your next reservation at executiveoffice@sandestin.com.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    33
    27
    28
See reviews for
34
43
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

LeCiel was renamed (from Bayside name) between approximately 2011 and 2013, when it was partially renovated. This old multistory hotel at Sandestin Beach Resort is a rather dark, homely building located right on the bay at the "bayside" side of the resort. Water views are very nice from higher levels, which have tiny balconies overlooking the bay. Rooms are similar to an average Ramada or maybe a Best Western; not as nice as an average Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express. But rooms are clean, some have new carpet, and the bathrooms have been partially renovated, painted, and seemed clean. Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators, and tiny coffee pots with very bad coffee. Best of all, the beds were super comfortable.

The parking lot at night is very dark, a little scary if you're alone, and the entrance to the lobby is poorly lit. I didn't see any signs on the building to indicate I'd arrived at LeCiel, although discreet signs along the route indicated I was going in the right direction. Public rooms are decorated in a funky old world leather and metal style that I didn't quite understand, kind of like a new age pirate ship or something. A glass wall bay viewing room overlooks the porch, with giant scopes and metal/leather barrel chairs. The front desk closes at night, but registration after hours is accomplished at the Grand hotel a couple miles away, inside the Resort. Front desk employees at both places are friendly and gracious.

LeCiel is a bus ride to the beach; or drive your car four or so miles and take your chances for one of the few parking spaces at the public beach access points. For a beach vacation there are far superior accommodations along the beach at one of the many rental houses or few Sandestin hotels; or go a few miles further west off Highway 98 in Destin where thousands of hotel rooms are right on the beach. The beach is absolutely perfect... be sure to check out the walk down to the beach from whatever hotel you choose, because some locations have very steep and long stairways from the road to the beach, while other locations are situated right on the flat beach area.

Sandestin Beach Resort is about more than just the beach. The enormously child friendly play area near the Village area just a few minutes ride from LeCiel has a zip line for kids, remote controlled boats on a small pond, a ropes course for kids, child friendly eating spots, an old fashioned carousel, and other activities... including an old timey candy store. Take money, and lots of it. Every single activity is about double to triple what we expected, Two adults with two children for a half day runs about $500 if they enjoy several activities before stopping for candy or ice cream and then lunch.

LeCiel is adequate, inexpensive at the $200.00 we paid for a two-night weekend, which included taxes. Next time I'd try the major hotel at the Resort, The Grand. It looked much nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for bayside on a high floor; when they're not busy there's no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
GoThere88,
Thank you for your most recent visit to Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return. We are saddened to see you were not completely satisfied with your stay here at the resort. We have so much to offer and so many different unit types and locations and we are sorry you were not pleased with LeCiel. We have something for everyone here among our 2400 acres and we do hope you had a chance to take advantage of some of our many complimentary amenities. Again, one of our reservation specialist will be more than happy to assist you in booking your next stay with us in the Grand Complex. I you have any questions please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this because the pictures made it look very modern/updated and we love the resort. We were so disgusted when we got to our room and it reeked of cigarette smoke. We actually ended up changing to a different hotel in the same resort at the suggestion of the staff. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
SLeger225,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to see you were not completely satisfied with your initial accommodations. We do hope after being accommodated you enjoyed the rest of your visit at Sandestin. We have so much to offer our registered guests among our 2400 acres. Hope you had a chance to take advantage of some of the complimentary amenities we offer...bikes, kayaks, tennis and unlimited complimentary transportation. Please feel free to contact me when making your next reservation at executiveoffice@sandestin.com and I will see you are placed in a unit that meets/exceeds your expectations of what we have to offer. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miramar Beach hotels

Zürich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We turned up at 7pm, just after nightfall. The gatehouse guard was unintelligible and from what little he said that was understandable he directed us in the opposite direction to the property. Little did we know that after 6pm registration is 2 miles away, and it took about half an hour to find a registration desk that was open. The signposting, when we did figure out which building we needed, was shockingly poor, and we were unnecessarily annoyed by the whole place by the time we'd managed to check in and get to the room.

The room itself was clean, nice view, good facilities, comfortable beds - in short, everything you'd expect from a reasonable hotel. If only the gatehouse people could (a) speak english properly and (b) give out resort maps, that would make the new arrival experience so much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Al S,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin. We are so happy you chose to stay with us while in our area. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at LeCiel and that your unit was all you expected it to be. We do apologize for the issues you encountered upon arriving at the security gate. This issue has been forwarded to the appropriate department for review and action. We are sorry for any inconvenience you encountered as to not having an agent at the desk full time. We staff in the off season based upon the occupancy of the buiding and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you had a chance to enjoy some of the many complimentary amenities we offer our guests and we look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Leciel was a great stay. We requested to change rooms to have a better view and they were very helpful and accommodating. The only slight negative was it seemed that the front desk at leciel was often closed and we had to drive to the other side of the resort to deal with any issues we had. We did stay over Christmas so I realize that this is probably the reason for that. But even the day after Christmas the desk was still closed.

Overall, sandestin is a great place to stay, no matter where you are at on the resort. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear paulholley,
Thank you so much for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort for your most recent stay in the area. We appreciate your business and we do hope you will choose to visit us again soon. So happy to see you enjoyed your stay in LeCiel. The most beautiful sunrises and sunsets on the resort can be found from the balconies of LeCiel. We are so we pleased we were able to accommodate your requests and aide you in creating amazing memories while visiting. We do look forward to your next stay with us!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Some positives:
nice location - if you have the good fortune of being on the water side, you'll have a great view. If not, well - they have a reasonably attractive parking lot.
reasonable price - I booked at the government rate ($77/night); the hotels.com rate wasn't too much higher ($85 - $120).
Some staff is well trained: The gentleman (Aaron) who checked us in was friendly and greeted us by name the next day when we were wandering around another part of the resort. A very nice touch of hospitality.

More negatives:
Check-in inconvenience: As others have noted, if you attempt to check in after 6PM during the off season, you'll be re-directed elsewhere and then have to drive back to the hotel. Luckily, we arrived around 5PM.
Outrageous food prices: Breakfast for two was nearly $40 (including tip). Two coffees at the cafe came to $10+. I understand this is a resort and overhead is high, but I still think this is a bit abusive.
Poor maintenance: The shower head in our room was crusted with hard water stains. The build up was obvious and couldn't possibly be something that was just missed by housekeeping.
Poorly furnished rooms: The decor and vibe of the room is completely uninviting. The bed was comfortable, but the rest of the room was just sad.
Some less-well trained staff: The young woman who checked us out wasn't rude, but didn't exactly inspire me to want to return. She didn't ask how my stay was, and spent a long time trying to work the computer before silently handing me my receipt. I can get that kind of treatment at a Motel 6. Our server at breakfast was similar - 100% business, no warmth.

All in all, while there are certainly a number of nice features about the Sandestin resort's LeCiel Hotel, there is just not enough 'there' there to make me want to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear gcmanke2,
Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. I was saddened to see that you were not completely satisfied with LeCiel and your unit. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Thank you for mentioning Aaron and his professionalism at the front desk. He is an asset and we are so glad he is part of the Sandestin team. We do hope you had a chance to enjoy all of our complimentary amenities during your stay. Please know we have many other areas of the resort that we know you would love and would meet your every need. In the future, please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com and I will see upon your next stay you are placed in a unit that meets/exceeds your expectations of what we have to offer.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at LeCiel for one night recently. The hotel was fully booked and although I had requested a "bay view on a high floor" they were only able to put us on the first floor. The room was on the bay side but hedges totally block the view of the water, uless you step outside onto the little patio. I have to say that the check-in person looked long and hard at the bookings to find us another room but said they were full.
the beds were very comfortable; everything worked well from the coffee machine to the hot water in the shower.
We paid their $99 "hot rate" and I think it was the right price.
Walking is nice in the morning right out the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Amoessereinitalia,
We want to thank you for choosing Sandestin for your most recent stay here in our area. LeCiel is a great property and I am sorry you were not placed on a high floor on the bayside of the property. We have the most amazing sunsets and views from the LeCeil bayside balconies. It is in a great location; close to the fitness center, Links golf course and has a restaurant close by as well. With 2400 acres we have great places to walk and explore. We hope you will come back and visit again soon. Please let me know when you make reservations and I will see you get the best rate possible and are placed on a high bayside unit so you can enjoy the views. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LeCiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LeCiel Hotel

Address: 200 Sandestin Blvd North, Miramar Beach, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Miramar Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Miramar Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LeCiel Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LeCiel is a 175 unit condo/hotel situated on the beautiful shore of the Choctawhatchee Bay in the wonderful Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. LeCiel features fabulous bay views on the north and great golf course and lake views on the south. With quick and convenient access to the sugar white sand beaches of the Gulf Coast just across the resort. Great choices for shopping and dining abound throughout the Sandestin Resort as well as additional great shopping and dining nearby at the Grand Boulevard at Sandestin shopping center and Silver Sands Premium Outlet - one of the largest premium outlet centers in the country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your LeCiel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LeCiel Hotel Miramar Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LeCiel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.