We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor start, average ending” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LeCiel Hotel

Save Saved
You added LeCiel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LeCiel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   200 Sandestin Blvd North, Miramar Beach, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Zürich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor start, average ending”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We turned up at 7pm, just after nightfall. The gatehouse guard was unintelligible and from what little he said that was understandable he directed us in the opposite direction to the property. Little did we know that after 6pm registration is 2 miles away, and it took about half an hour to find a registration desk that was open. The signposting, when we did figure out which building we needed, was shockingly poor, and we were unnecessarily annoyed by the whole place by the time we'd managed to check in and get to the room.

The room itself was clean, nice view, good facilities, comfortable beds - in short, everything you'd expect from a reasonable hotel. If only the gatehouse people could (a) speak english properly and (b) give out resort maps, that would make the new arrival experience so much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Al S,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin. We are so happy you chose to stay with us while in our area. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at LeCiel and that your unit was all you expected it to be. We do apologize for the issues you encountered upon arriving at the security gate. This issue has been forwarded to the appropriate department for review and action. We are sorry for any inconvenience you encountered as to not having an agent at the desk full time. We staff in the off season based upon the occupancy of the buiding and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you had a chance to enjoy some of the many complimentary amenities we offer our guests and we look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    28
    25
    27
See reviews for
33
43
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Leciel was a great stay. We requested to change rooms to have a better view and they were very helpful and accommodating. The only slight negative was it seemed that the front desk at leciel was often closed and we had to drive to the other side of the resort to deal with any issues we had. We did stay over Christmas so I realize that this is probably the reason for that. But even the day after Christmas the desk was still closed.

Overall, sandestin is a great place to stay, no matter where you are at on the resort. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear paulholley,
Thank you so much for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort for your most recent stay in the area. We appreciate your business and we do hope you will choose to visit us again soon. So happy to see you enjoyed your stay in LeCiel. The most beautiful sunrises and sunsets on the resort can be found from the balconies of LeCiel. We are so we pleased we were able to accommodate your requests and aide you in creating amazing memories while visiting. We do look forward to your next stay with us!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Some positives:
nice location - if you have the good fortune of being on the water side, you'll have a great view. If not, well - they have a reasonably attractive parking lot.
reasonable price - I booked at the government rate ($77/night); the hotels.com rate wasn't too much higher ($85 - $120).
Some staff is well trained: The gentleman (Aaron) who checked us in was friendly and greeted us by name the next day when we were wandering around another part of the resort. A very nice touch of hospitality.

More negatives:
Check-in inconvenience: As others have noted, if you attempt to check in after 6PM during the off season, you'll be re-directed elsewhere and then have to drive back to the hotel. Luckily, we arrived around 5PM.
Outrageous food prices: Breakfast for two was nearly $40 (including tip). Two coffees at the cafe came to $10+. I understand this is a resort and overhead is high, but I still think this is a bit abusive.
Poor maintenance: The shower head in our room was crusted with hard water stains. The build up was obvious and couldn't possibly be something that was just missed by housekeeping.
Poorly furnished rooms: The decor and vibe of the room is completely uninviting. The bed was comfortable, but the rest of the room was just sad.
Some less-well trained staff: The young woman who checked us out wasn't rude, but didn't exactly inspire me to want to return. She didn't ask how my stay was, and spent a long time trying to work the computer before silently handing me my receipt. I can get that kind of treatment at a Motel 6. Our server at breakfast was similar - 100% business, no warmth.

All in all, while there are certainly a number of nice features about the Sandestin resort's LeCiel Hotel, there is just not enough 'there' there to make me want to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear gcmanke2,
Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. I was saddened to see that you were not completely satisfied with LeCiel and your unit. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Thank you for mentioning Aaron and his professionalism at the front desk. He is an asset and we are so glad he is part of the Sandestin team. We do hope you had a chance to enjoy all of our complimentary amenities during your stay. Please know we have many other areas of the resort that we know you would love and would meet your every need. In the future, please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com and I will see upon your next stay you are placed in a unit that meets/exceeds your expectations of what we have to offer.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at LeCiel for one night recently. The hotel was fully booked and although I had requested a "bay view on a high floor" they were only able to put us on the first floor. The room was on the bay side but hedges totally block the view of the water, uless you step outside onto the little patio. I have to say that the check-in person looked long and hard at the bookings to find us another room but said they were full.
the beds were very comfortable; everything worked well from the coffee machine to the hot water in the shower.
We paid their $99 "hot rate" and I think it was the right price.
Walking is nice in the morning right out the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Amoessereinitalia,
We want to thank you for choosing Sandestin for your most recent stay here in our area. LeCiel is a great property and I am sorry you were not placed on a high floor on the bayside of the property. We have the most amazing sunsets and views from the LeCeil bayside balconies. It is in a great location; close to the fitness center, Links golf course and has a restaurant close by as well. With 2400 acres we have great places to walk and explore. We hope you will come back and visit again soon. Please let me know when you make reservations and I will see you get the best rate possible and are placed on a high bayside unit so you can enjoy the views. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

LeCiel is a managed property on the Sandestin Resort complex. I have stayed at several areas. This one had a great view of the bay, and was very quiet. While I enjoyed it, and its proximity to my conference, it was not the newest of accommodations. Overall, it was very good. No surprises, and very affordable.

Room Tip: Bayside rooms are scenic and serene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Kankead8,
Thank you so much for your review of LeCiel. We appreciate your business and hope you return to see us again soon. I am sure you were able to enjoy the wonderful sunrises and sunsets from your balcony at LeCiel. The best sunset views are from that property...and you are correct, it is a nice, quiet location to enjoy your stay. We do hope you were able to take advantage of some of our complimentary amenities while you were here for your conference. Again, we thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I travel approximately 75 - 100 nights per year.

1) Booked 3 night stay through Hotels.com. Pricing all inclusive. Zero balance at check in. One week later receive a resort fee charge on credit card. Get the run around. LeCeil says it is in their contract with Hotels.com & Expedia. Hotels.com says I'll have to work it out with Le Ceil - not their problem. If you are going to stay here watch for hidden fees.

2) Hotel is worn and old even with "updates" completed this year. Bird droppings all over the balcony - couldn't step outside. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are covered in bird crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear tom p,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort and LeCeil. I apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with the hotel and all it had to offer. When booking with a third party they do not collect our resort fee when you book. The resort fee helps to fund the many complimentary amenities we offer all of our resort guests. We collect this fee upon check-in. I am sorry you were not informed by the booking agent about these fees. We do hope you will visit us again as we would love for you to be able to enjoy the beautiful sunsets and views from the balcony. We offer many other types of accommodations that may suit you as well. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Le Ciel is a much older hotel that just got some paint splattered on it. We had a very late arrival which we informed the hotel of and were assured that everything would be just fine. We arrived only to find out that after 9 PM all check ins occurred at the Grand Hotel which is in the complete opposite direction of Le Ciel and at night in the dark with speeds of 19 mph or 23 mph it was a pain the behind to find.

After arriving at what was supposed to be a suite - we find that it was just a regular hotel room w/ two beds that were not Queen sized beds by a LONG shot. The "bar" was a closet with a Keurig maker sitting on it. I am sorry but if you are going to advertise something as a boutique hotel then I am expecting something new and stylish this hotel misses the mark. Even with the 2 million dollar renovation it leaves so much to be done. the ceilings were stained - they were putting in new lighting fixtures in the main lobby when we arrived so it looked like a construction zone.

I was truly embarrassed to have brought my mom and sisters here. And not to mention the fact that it was EXTREMELY OVERPRICED for what you actually get. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at LeCiel Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear KACDavis,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We regret that you were not 100% satisfied with your accommodations. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and I am sorry we did not do meet your expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your check-in, we do have limited hours of 10-6 at the LeCeil check-in location during the off season. Feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com to discuss in further detail. Again, we apologize for your inconvenience and we do hope you will visit us again and as we have many other areas on property that may better fit your needs.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LeCiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LeCiel Hotel

Address: 200 Sandestin Blvd North, Miramar Beach, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Miramar Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Miramar Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LeCiel Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LeCiel is a 175 unit condo/hotel situated on the beautiful shore of the Choctawhatchee Bay in the wonderful Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. LeCiel features fabulous bay views on the north and great golf course and lake views on the south. With quick and convenient access to the sugar white sand beaches of the Gulf Coast just across the resort. Great choices for shopping and dining abound throughout the Sandestin Resort as well as additional great shopping and dining nearby at the Grand Boulevard at Sandestin shopping center and Silver Sands Premium Outlet - one of the largest premium outlet centers in the country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your LeCiel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LeCiel Hotel Miramar Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LeCiel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.