We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Using concord grapes in Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Coast Wine Cellars

Emerald Coast Wine Cellars
1708 Scenic Gulf Dr., Miramar Beach, FL 32550
8508379500
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Using concord grapes in Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

They offer a couple traditional wines, chardonnay and merlot, but since these grapes don't grow well in the heat of the South, they are not particularly good. And they offer the usual southern Muscadine grapes in a couple of wines, which is an acquired taste. The big surprise here is that they feature several wines made from concord grapes, and they are quite good--stand out from their others. Bought a bottle for back at the condo, and will look for it in our local stores. Inexpensive wines. Worth a visit for a tasting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The wines were decent but having visited other wineries I was surprised by a few things that did not happen on our visit...
1) the glasses were never rinsed between pours. We were told/asked to take additional sips to empty the glass
2) there were no crackers or anything to cleanse our palates between wines
3) we had to ask for water to try to cleanse our palate...I am used to water being offered and readily available by staff.
I'm not sure if I would make another drive to Destin just to visit this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My sister's and I visited this winery as a fun activity the day before one of them was getting married. The tasting was free, informative, and we got to try ALL the wines! The wine itself was wonderful, especially the local muscadine wines. Carlos and Beach Berry were my favorite (Carlos for an every day wine and Beach Berry for when I can't decide between dessert or a glass of wine ... it takes care of both cravings at once!). The staff was great. We left with a case of wine and I went back the next day to get a couple chilled bottles of wine to drink while we were getting ready for the wedding!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly. Good wine. Great price. Enjoyed the wine tasting. Staff was very helpful and answered my many questions. I went back for more wine the day before we left Destin!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best winery in Destin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go to a winery on our trip and this seemed to be the only one nearby. It was very nice the staff was friendly and helpful. The tastings were free and that's always a plus. The wines were good and we took two bottles home. One of each of the local red and white muscadine. We didn't know that Florida had any local grape production until we went there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Coast Wine Cellars also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Emerald Coast Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Coast Wine Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.