We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mambeg country house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mambeg Country Guest House

Mambeg Country Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mambeg Country Guest House to your Saves list
Mambeg Country Guest House
Garelochhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0EN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Garelochhead B&B and Inns
oswestry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“mambeg country house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

we stayed at this bed and breakfast for one night and wished it was longer.We could not fault it in any way.the accommodation was so comfortable and the breakfast was superb.dave was very helpful.highly recommended;

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My Son due to start at Faslane, so good excuse to drive him up to visit Lochs.
Stayed at Mambeg Guesthouse overnight and Dave and Marion were the perfect hosts.
Convenient having the double rooms which were clean, comfy with good facilities and stunning scenic views. A good hearty breakfast was very well presented and lots of choice.
Excellent value for money, no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a night during our 3 day hike of The Three Lochs Way. When we made it to Garelochhead in the evening, we had dinner at the Anchor Inn and then Dave, the owner of the Guesthouse, came to pick us up! We ended up getting two rooms joined together: a gorgeous double and a cosy triple room, sharing a spacious bathroom. It was perfect for us and the dog had lots of room to sprawl out at the end of the day! We had a delicious breakfast the following morning, after sleeping like logs. I'm a vegetarian and I was well catered for. We also had packed lunches made for us which were perfect. When we were ready to set off again, Dave drove us back to where we had finished on the walking route. He also kindly took us past a pharmacy on the way, so that we could buy some more plasters for emerging blisters!

We were incredibly well looked after and really enjoyed our stay here. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for a bit of tranquility or a little bit of heaven after walking a lot of miles!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent two nights here on our holiday on the West Coast of Scotland. We were greeted by the owner Dave who was terribly friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location was stunning overlooking the loch and it was so peaceful - a far cry from the busy main route past Loch Lomond. The room was beautiful and had loads of space. Breakfast was yummy and Dave and his wife could not have been more helpful. This was a little bit of relaxation and peace and only a very short drive from all the bits you want to see in and around Loch Lomond and the Trosachs. This place is a gem and I will recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were up visiting our daughter and family and what a lovely B & B Mambeg Country Guest House was. Location was great, greeted by a very friendly pony and goose!
The room was lovely, clean and every comfort we required, stunning views across Loch Lomand and area. The choice at breakfast was also good, choice of fruit, cereal yogurt and of course to follow a lovely cooked breakfast.. I always like the little touches and "Mambeg" didn't fail me, at breakfast the fruit juice and milk were standing in "ice" bowls to keep them lovely and cold nothing worse than warm milk or fruit juice! The little touches in the room were the complimentary shower gel/shampoo etc, face cloth also cotton buds and shower cap! very thoughtful a definite home from home, great hosts great B&B Thanks Jan & Tim & two Jack Russel's

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

perfect surroundings , excellent hosts , top marks all round to be honest , dave the owner was very friendly , and welcomed myself my partner , 3 kids and 2 dogs after a long drive from the midlands in england , , he gave us our space but was always around when needed , the room was amazing , freeview was a bit stuttery but we spent most of our time there asleep the first nite , the breakfast the next morning was to die for , marion made the best scotch pancakes weve ever tasted , so much so my daughter asked for more ,
either way with this place you cant go wrong for anything ,
price wise , we thought it was very fair , especially when i could take my dogs ,
home from home definitely ,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

There is a little gem in Western Scotland.
Head to Garelochhead and to the small hamlet of Mambeg
You are greeted by a goose called Daisy and a proud Shetland pony called Muirfoot Munroe.
Park up and you instantly greeted by one of the best hosting couples at a Country House I have ever experienced.
Nothing is a pain or a trawl.
The breakfast is phenomenol!
The accomodation like a home from home.
If you want peace, quite and some home comforts then head here!
Absolutely spot on!
And Classic Cars to boot ....................Heaven :)

Room Tip: Look tired ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mambeg Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mambeg Country Guest House

Address: Garelochhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Garelochhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Garelochhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mambeg Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mambeg Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.