We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Shiel Hotel

Loch Shiel Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Acharacle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Shiel Hotel
Save
You added Loch Shiel Hotel to your Saves list
Acharacle, Acharacle PH36 4JL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Acharacle
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Victorian Hotel is 'up to date' but as a result lost much of its original charm. That said we were accorded a lovely welcome for a bar meal (dressed crab) in front of a blazing fire (it was March after all).

Ardnamurchan needs no write up - just to be there is enough.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Had a great couple of nights here. Lovely location, great room and a very warm welcome from the lovely staff. Food very nice as well. We were looking for a dog friendly hotel a this place ticked every box. Hope to return to this great area very soon, magical place to get away from it all (mobile phone coverage not great which, in my opinion was a bonus). It's so good to find wee gems like this place.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a shower and a bath but best of all, wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

4 of us ( 2 from Edinburgh and 2 from Brighton) have spent a memorable New Year saying close to Acharacle despite the challenging weather. We saw the New year in at the Loch Shiel Hotel which was packed with atmosphere and local colour with a full bar and a talented band playing for most of the evening. This experience was topped off with an excellent meal on New year's day, perfectly cooked sirloin steaks, a delicious venison burger served on a ciabatta bun and home made lasagna in generous portions with thick cut chips and a choice of vegetables and salad.
The service is friendly and personal and as regular visitors to this beautiful corner of the highlands we hope that the new management of the Loch Shiel Hotel enjoy the success they deserve for many more years to come.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Despite a 2* showing on the signboard outside we found this lovely friendly hotel to be refurbished to 5* standard. The manageress was very considerate of very tired travellers ...., finding us a quiet room (because there was to be singing in the bar til late that night).
Breakfast was generous and delicious. The location wonderful, with views of the lake.
We loved it. It made our weekend!

Room Tip: lake views stunning, and sunny with wonderful sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

The Loch Shiel Hotel was areal gem of a find while I was touring some of the best countryside Scotland has to offer. The hotel has unique and well appointed rooms with amazing views from all sides. Loch Shiel offers some great photo ops and is just a short walk from the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant and the food and menu recommendation were perfect. The manager, Linda, had a great selection of beer and spirits and guided me to try the Arran Blonde- simply mouth-watering. It's definitely worth planning a stop here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Rooms are comfortable, food is good with fair size portions, staff are friendly and there is wifi in the public rooms...tea/ coffee in rooms, TV, clock radio....if you are looking for a good 2 star, do consider Loch Shiel.

Room Tip: Room 1 is less expensive, but is still comfortable. Room 3 is larger, has views of the loch and is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonbie, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great Hotel in one of Scotlands most lovely areas. Very nice helpful staff, clean room and bathroom. Reasonable rates AND SUPERB FOOD. Easy to get to from the south via the Corran Ferry, good WiFi. Will defiantly go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Shiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Shiel Hotel

Address: Acharacle, Acharacle PH36 4JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Acharacle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Acharacle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Shiel Hotel is now under new ownership & new management .We are a small 8 bedroomed, family run hotel in the West Highlands of Scotland. Offering home cooked seasonal food, light lunches, evening meals in our friendly bar or restaurant. With views over Loch Shiel and the hills of Moidart beyond we offer a welcome escape from the hustle & bustle of your everyday routine.Great food & a warm welcome awaits ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Sheil Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel Acharacle, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Shiel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.