We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a very friendly and homely place....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coylet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coylet Inn to your Saves list
Coylet Inn
Loch Eck, Loch Eck PA23 8SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Eck
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“If you want a very friendly and homely place....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Coylet Inn is a regular haunt of ours, as we stay at the caravan park a mile away. The log burning fires in both the lounge and restaurant are lovely, and owners of just a few years, are Craig and Philippa, who are a young couple making a good impression. The food is great, and very reasonably priced. The decor is very 'old worlde', but it wouldn't be the same if it were changed. So if you are looking for a friendly place where you can take your dog and have a drink, sitting inside or out, then this is the place to go. Take in the excellent scenery around as you do so, on the edge of Loch Eck..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    45
    6
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
100
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Against all the odds the Coylet is seemingly on the up rather than on its uppers. The place has not yet atttained its former standing but I am biased towards the 1980's-a hard act to follow- which the young encumbents have wisely decided not to do. Thankfully, though,the roaring log fires are back, having been quenched unceremoniously-too much hastle- by mine host previous, so the whole atmosphere is undeniably warm and friendly. Wholesome fare without fantasy or frills, the chips are damned ugly but taste great, makes the dining experience languidly sleep inducing. And you will sleep, as dogs do curled up of an evening in the bar. Dogs are allowed in all areas except the dining room but don't take your cat to stay as there is no room to swing it in your nicely bijoux (a Coylet quirk) room. The bed is large and comfortable, the room is warm but controllable, the toilet sometimes flushes and the sink taps sometimes work. The shower, there are two in the bath in Room 1, makes for some interesting flexibility. Double jointed clients should have few problems. The plumbing here is part of the charm and you should get used to it. Work in progress since 1998. Serious point coming. The stairs are not for the faint hearted or the infirm being precariously steep and circular. If you can get to bed, sleep will come once the dining room empties. Even the regular roar of log-lorries thundering past your window will not keep you awake especially as they are now restricted to 40mph.
The view from all rooms is timeless and wonderfully emotive. A lot can beforgiven here.
Don't expect haute cuisine because you won't get it. Don't expect a quick filling hot bath and a long soak after a great stroll along the far banks from Glenbranter, that is not on the cards. Don't expect more than you are paying for but what you are paying for is worth every penny. I wish the place every success. We have rebooked...

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Huge log fireplace, excellent drinks and food. Scenery is gorgeous! Serves food appropriate to Scotland and it's very good, as is the service. Dog friendly, too. Don't miss it; if you have the opportunity, do take advantage of it and ENJOY!

Room Tip: I have never stayed overnight, but, if I were to, I'd choose the room with bath overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you are in need of a complete break this is the place for you. Very pleasant surroundings overlooking Loch Eck. There is no TV but it was not missed. It is always a good sign when the locals frequent a pub. On quiz night there was standing room only and a wonderful friendly atmosphere.
The food is exceptional both in quality and quantity. 2 steak dinners & a bottle of wine for £30 Very friendly staff who didn't hover but were attentive.
The steep stair may be an issue for the less able but Craig did offer to carry our luggage and there are handrails to hold onto.
Bedrooms were very comfortable with chairs sited near the window to gaze out onto the loch.
All in all we had a lovely relaxing stay and wish Craig, Pip and all their staff continued success. They deserve it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

One of those wee gems that is easy to overlook, the Coylet Inn is a small four bed roomed inn that is popular with the locals and their dogs though, as the entry sign says... no horses!
Much has been written about the, almost vertical, spiral staircase but this quirk only adds to the charm of the place. It's certainly different, just be sure you're aware of it when booking though we, and older guests too, had no issues with it.
We were in room 4 and the front window gives a beautiful vista over Loch Eck (many other places would charge a premium for such a view) and the room stretches right through to the back of the building where the rear window looks over the rear garden and woods. Sadly, the poor weather hampered any wildlife spotting opportunities.
Some of the bedroom furniture and fittings are a little dated or mismatched though this is understandable. Apparently, due to the staircase, most of the big stuff was lifted in last time the roof was off(!) so upgrades will naturally be infrequent. Having said that, both the bed and the bath were very comfortable and the room provides everything you need to enjoy your stay. No TV, due to no reception, but you really won't miss it.... the view is much better!
Nearby is the beautiful, fairy tale-like, Pucks Glen, probably one of the nicest walks in Scotland and well worth a visit, whatever the weather. Also close by is the famous Benmore botanical gardens though we were disappointed with our visit as there is very little to see at this time of year (perhaps a discounted admission would be fairer out of season?)
Both evening meals and breakfast are very nice and menu prices are reasonable. Craig, Pip and other staff work hard to maintain the high standards and are always on hand to offer help, advice and useful information to enhance your stay. Don't forget Tim, the resident border collie, who will also offer a warm welcome to both two and four legged guests, whenever the rest of the staff are busy!
At £85 per couple per night for B&B, it may be a little expensive for what it is. The Coylet Inn appears to be punching above its weight but it does it very well and deserves to go on to bigger and better things.
I, for one,would not hesitate to return. Recommended.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great place with lots of character, even while the weather was foul outdoors! Both people and doggy friendly. My wife and I had a lovely stay and would gladly recommend it.
Like I said lots of character, one point of caution I would say is that the stairs up to the rooms are very narrow and steep. Could be difficult for some people, on the other hand I did note there was a fire escape out the back, etc so maybe other arrangements can be made for access?
Our room was above the Bar (Not noisy!) and had a beautiful view of the Loch from the room and a very spacious bathroom with a view up into the forest at the back.

Very nice. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have just spent four nights at the Coylet Inn, first time back for two years. I must say that Craig and Pip are a vast improvement to the previous management. They are very friendly and helpful, the hospitality and food was excellent. Rooms were very comfortable, plenty of hot water, and a very good drying room. The bar has a lovely log fire, good beer, and a very good selection of 'Scotch Broth' !!!! Have already told Craig that we will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coylet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coylet Inn

Address: Loch Eck, Loch Eck PA23 8SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Loch Eck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Eck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally called the "Loch Eck Inn" This 17th Century Coaching Inn is right on the shores of Loch Eck, said by some to be the one of the prettiest in Scotland.Situated in Scotland's First National Park, Just one hour west of, Glasgow, we welcome anyone and everyone who wants to come and sample the fresh air and breathtaking views.The name Coylet means " a wooded inlet" or " wooded narrows" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coylet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coylet Hotel Loch Eck
Coylet Inn Loch Eck, Scotland - Argyll And Bute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coylet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.