We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marykirk Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marykirk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marykirk Hotel
Save
You added Marykirk Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street | Montrose, Marykirk AB30 1UT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marykirk
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have stayed here twice. The owner and staff make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive.
The rooms are basic but warm and comfortable.

The bar and restaurant both serve good quality, reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4g63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having fished the North Esk on Saturday, in bitter cold conditions, it was a pleasure to get in to a warm comfortable Hotel. We were welcomed by the proprietor, and shown to our rooms. The rooms were spotless, warm, and well appointed. We all had an evening meal in the restaurant, and the food was very good indeed, an open fire added to the ambience. We spent the evening in the bar, celebrating the forthcoming wedding of one of our company, and the bar staff were excellent. Will make a point of visiting the hotel next time we are fishing the North Esk. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marykirk H, Owner at Marykirk Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your fishing holiday at the Marykirk Hotel and I hope to see you again next fishing season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent food and at very reasonable prices. Good atmosphere in the restuarant. The best eating place around that part of Kincardineshire. The staff are very helpful and the log fire is a great place to sit around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my son and mother last night - great welcome upon arrival, 2 lovely rooms which were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Will not hesitate to book again when I am next in Scotland. Wonderful breakfast cooked by David - thank you - such a friendly and welcoming hotel - cannot recommend enough. Great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLouLou_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marykirk H, Owner at Marykirk Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. My staff and I are grateful for your kind comments which encourage us to continue in our efforts to meet or exceed our customer expectations. I am delighted that you find the Hotel welcoming and that you and your friends enjoy our food and hospitality. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have stayed here a few times, always a very warm greeting, Teresa the owner very helpful. Good class of room, lovely resturant & bar, good food. Most definately stay again. Clean good size rooms, friendly staff, great area for touring. Enjoyed peaceful setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very comfortable and warm room. The room and ensuite, as with the rest of the hotel, was as clean as a pin. The landlady was very warm and welcoming. I had a bar meal in the evening which was delicious - as was breakfast the following morning. I will definitely stay again. Firebreak.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely time at the hotel. Great food, warm hospitality good room. Watching the Olympic opening ceremony with all the locals was a night we won't forget easily. Will definitely stay there again on our next fishing trip to the esk.
Jon & Lou-lou

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnas49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marykirk
5.6 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
5.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
5.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
21.0 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marykirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marykirk Hotel

Address: Main Street | Montrose, Marykirk AB30 1UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Marykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marykirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marykirk Hotel is situated in the charming village of Marykirk, just 4 miles from Montrose town centre, and 30 minutes drive south of Aberdeen along the A90 dual carriageway. The Hotel nestles in the rolling Montrose countryside only 200 metres from the River Esk, world famous for its salmon and trout fishing. A former Coaching Inn, the hotel was built in the mid 1800s. As a Grade C Listed Building, it still retains original charm and character although tastefully modernised: all guest room accommodation have en-suite facilities, central heating, flat screen TVs, and tea/coffee making facilities. Standing in an acre of grounds, the Marykirk Hotel has a landscaped beer garden plus a small front car park and a rear car park for 20+ cars. Both car parks are monitored by CCTV. The Hotel has a full Hotel Licence and a Children's Licence. Families with children are particularly welcome in both the bar and restaurant. As well as our cosy Stables Bar serving bar meals every lunchtime and evenings, the Marykirk's Esk Restaurant seats 35 persons and is open in the evenings from Friday to Sundays, offering quality dining at competitive prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marykirk Hotel Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing