We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eight stayed over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marykirk Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marykirk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marykirk Hotel
Main Street, Marykirk AB30 1UT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Marykirk
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eight stayed over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having fished the North Esk on Saturday, in bitter cold conditions, it was a pleasure to get in to a warm comfortable Hotel. We were welcomed by the proprietor, and shown to our rooms. The rooms were spotless, warm, and well appointed. We all had an evening meal in the restaurant, and the food was very good indeed, an open fire added to the ambience. We spent the evening in the bar, celebrating the forthcoming wedding of one of our company, and the bar staff were excellent. Will make a point of visiting the hotel next time we are fishing the North Esk. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marykirk H, Owner at Marykirk Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your fishing holiday at the Marykirk Hotel and I hope to see you again next fishing season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent food and at very reasonable prices. Good atmosphere in the restuarant. The best eating place around that part of Kincardineshire. The staff are very helpful and the log fire is a great place to sit around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my son and mother last night - great welcome upon arrival, 2 lovely rooms which were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Will not hesitate to book again when I am next in Scotland. Wonderful breakfast cooked by David - thank you - such a friendly and welcoming hotel - cannot recommend enough. Great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marykirk H, Owner at Marykirk Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. My staff and I are grateful for your kind comments which encourage us to continue in our efforts to meet or exceed our customer expectations. I am delighted that you find the Hotel welcoming and that you and your friends enjoy our food and hospitality. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have stayed here a few times, always a very warm greeting, Teresa the owner very helpful. Good class of room, lovely resturant & bar, good food. Most definately stay again. Clean good size rooms, friendly staff, great area for touring. Enjoyed peaceful setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very comfortable and warm room. The room and ensuite, as with the rest of the hotel, was as clean as a pin. The landlady was very warm and welcoming. I had a bar meal in the evening which was delicious - as was breakfast the following morning. I will definitely stay again. Firebreak.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely time at the hotel. Great food, warm hospitality good room. Watching the Olympic opening ceremony with all the locals was a night we won't forget easily. Will definitely stay there again on our next fishing trip to the esk.
Jon & Lou-lou

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This really is a smashing small hotel, we visit regularly for meals, and the occasional drink at night, and have never found it to be less than excellent. Welcoming, Very good food, the menus changed regularly, the service is very good and very friendly. The wood burning stove in the bar is so lovely in cold weather too....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jardinbleu, Owner at Marykirk Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate very much your time and your positive comments. I will continue to do my utmost to keep the Marykirk food and hospitality standards as high as possible and I look forward to your continued patronage. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marykirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marykirk Hotel

Also Known As:
Marykirk Hotel Aberdeenshire
Address: Main Street, Marykirk AB30 1UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Marykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Marykirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marykirk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marykirk Hotel to your Saves list