We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly hotel with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Kinord Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Loch Kinord Hotel to your Saves list
Loch Kinord Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly hotel with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a wedding party, and found it all very enjoyable. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, coping well with the arrival of lots of wedding guests at the same time. My room was comfortable and well-equipped (I particularly appreciated the provision of iron & ironing board), and the bathroom (though not luxurious) had all that was needed. The food was particularly good - modern but not pretentious, well-presented, with good quality ingredients and generous portions. Breakfasts were cooked to order & delicious, and there was a good selection on the buffet. Service in the restaurant was efficient, and staff were at all times helpful and accommodating.

My only (slight) issue with my room was that I found the pillows very firm - I was pleased they were synthetic, but would have liked it if one had been a bit softer. It wasn't a big deal though - I'd be very happy to stay here again, or to have a meal here.

Room Tip: My room was at the side, so I could see the main road, but road noise not an issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    79
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
31
138
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winchburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at the Lock Kinord for 4 nights from 29/04/2013 to 03/05/2013 we were met on arrival by the owner and made welcome from the start .The room was welcoming and tidy ,The bedroom had a four poster ,large tv on the wall tea coffee .My room had a very large bathroom with both shower and bath.The food was fantastic very well presented and a delight to eat .Bar prices are fair ,Add to that the staff and you have a must stop hotel .Almost as an after thought you have great scenery .A trip to Aberdeen may take a wee bit longer than from closer hotels to the city but the drive is a bonus

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a wedding and had a great time. The food was excellent. The vegetarian option was lovely, and I noticed on the regular menu that they do normally have a few vegetarian options, which is quite unusual for most restaurants. The rooms were nice, and the staff were very friendly. It is worth staying here, or just to try for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a wedding in the Highlands for one night. We booked one of the last rooms left which was a king room with 4 poster bed and a hot tub. The staff were very welcoming when we checked in, helped us by booking a taxi to the wedding and told us where to go for a walk - lovely lake behind the hotel!

The room was great with a very Scottish feel and the jacuzzi bath and shower was amazing. It was very clean and comfortable.

We had dinner and drinks in the restaurant which was lovely, an after the wedding the bar stayed open until 4am to accommodate our after-ceilidh drinks which was brilliant.

Cooked to order Scottish breakfast was included and excellent the next morning.

I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for four nights it was a very enjoyable stay , staff and owners very helpful . Good food.
Would definitely stay again.
There are verandas being put on some of the rooms which is a good touch.
The resent owners have been there for 15yrs I think which means they are doing something right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Stratford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A lovely hotel conveniently located for Aberdeen but not at Aberdeen prices. Room was nice but a bit small. Staff were great, exceptionally friendly and helpful. Superb food, if a little bit pricey. We left too early for breakfast service but were impressed by the fact that continental breakfast was laid out for us so we didn't go without.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had three nights at the Loch Kinord and would heartily recommend it. We found it idealy located for both the Lecht and Glenshee ski areas with both within about 45 minutes drive. The hotel is delightfull with a nice restaurant, lounge and bar. The room we had was well appointed with a good sized ensuite bathroom.

The management and staff are pleasant and helpful and the breakfast and dinner can't be faulted. The food in the restaurant is exceptionally good and dining there is not to be missed.

We will certainly stay again as and when we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loch Kinord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Kinord Hotel

Address: Ballater Road | Royal Deeside, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dinnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Kinord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside making an ideal location for many sporting & tourist activities in the area including Balmoral Castle, whiskey distillery, Cairngorm National Park and Muir of Dinnet Nature Reserve on the doorstep. Great food, fine wine and Malt Whiskey to enjoy in front of real fires. Family owned and run country house hotel so you can be sure of a warm welcome and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Kinord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Kinord
Loch Kinord Dinnet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Kinord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.