We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local and friendly pub.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonn Ruray Bar & Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tonn Ruray Bar & Bistro
59 Main Street, Dundrum BT33 0LU, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 restaurants in Dundrum
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Dallas TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great local and friendly pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a local pub that is the gathering place for the community. Taken over by Bridget a few years back she has cleaned up the clientele and knows how to create atmosphere and how to serve.

We enjoyed an evening here in conversation while staying at The Carriage House next door. If you are looking for a real Irish pub why look any further, this is it. Come back again and again....you will be greeted as family.

No food just drinks.....you can bring in take out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    6
    4
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went here just once for a drink and I was very impressed, its quaint and welcoming pub.

Not really much else to say, would recommend coming if you're in the area. Shame for the bad reviews but I always take those written by "1 review members" with a pinch of salt.

I was told by a real-life Irish man that the name means "wave" in Gaelic...illustrated by the sign (bit of trivia for you)

Stay for a drink, if you don't like it, move on; but I'm sure you'll stay.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just back from a long weekend visit to see my daughter and her fiance' ,they have recently moved to the village. First time any of us had been in the pub, we had such a good time the first night, welcoming locals and Breegin (spelling?) was a fabulous and friendly host. Went in the following 2 nights and had the same great 'craic' ... not rated for for food as I only had drinks .....will be a regular on my future visits....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundrum, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very disapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

full of local pal people that do not fit in with the locals a local watering hole for people that like a drink or two

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Craic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Popped in for a pint & stayed for many. The atmosphere was excellent with a big fire roaring. Had a sing song with all the locals.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonn Ruray Bar & Bistro also viewed

Dundrum, County Down
Dundrum, County Down
 
Dundrum, County Down
Dundrum, County Down
 

Been to Tonn Ruray Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonn Ruray Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.