We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pit: National Coal Museum

Big Pit: National Coal Museum
Blaenafon, Blaenavon NP4 9XP, Wales
029 2057 3650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Blaenavon
Type: Historic Sites, Caverns/ Caves, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a unique underground tour of a real coalmine, where hundreds of men, women and children once worked to extract the precious mineral that stoked furnaces and lit the household fires of the world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Big Pit is one of the best museum/attractions I have visited in a long time - I also can't believe that it's free! The site covers all aspects of life in and around the mines ranging from the industrial history, working conditions, living conditions & the effects on family & health, the political issues, local & national legacy of the pit closures and much more. Every member of staff we encountered was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    67
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Must :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been to Big Pit 4 times in my life, the last time being before Christmas when I took my Partner who is Polish to visit, to give him an insight into the work the men in my family did. He really enjoyed it and so did I. Its a brilliant place to go if the weather isnt too good and another plus its free entry so theres no excuse really not to go...You enter into reception claim your tickets and then make your way to the comfortable seating area to await a miner who will be your tour guide and take you underground, you then walk through to be given your hardhat and battery for the light which goes around the waist, any electrical equipment and bags are stored safely for when you come back. Next you go into the lift which takes you underground, The tourguide starts talking as soon you get into the lift giving lots of informtion and history on the pit, mining etc. After a short while You reach the pit bottom where You start your tour underground at various points the group stops and the tourguide gives talks on the miners lamp, coal, dangers underground, children and women working in pits, basically everything that happens underground. My family is a mining family so I knew most things but also learned a lot of new things and for someone not from Wales or any mining area its an excellent insight and learning tour. The tour lasts quite some time but goes quick as its not your boring type of tour but keeps you engaged and the tourguide was quite funny. Make sure to wear a coat and suitable footwear as it can be quite damp and cold underground. After the tour You come back to the surface and leave your lamp and hardhats in the original lamproom. After that your free to look around the other exhibitions. make sure to go to the pit baths there is a wonderful exhibiton, I found it quite emotional listening to the recording of the men singing in the showers, was really good, the exhibiton goes from beginning of coal right up to present day. Tells You all about the strikes equipment what Coal is everything You need to Know, and good displays. There are also various other things to see, and make sure also to visit the pit canteen where You can eat some good food for a good price, Overall its a must, If Your from South Wales more than likely You have visited, but if not go or take someone who isnt from Wales :-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top marks all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Exceptionally interesting and well run. Friendly, professional and knowledgeable guides. Not too crowded and group sizes limited. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absoultely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Took Ozzie visitors to Big Pit and they had a wonderful time. The guides are amazing and so full of knowledge. I have been three times in the last year and never tire of it as the different guides all do their own thing which makes it a unique experience. If anyone has not been or they are thinking of going it is a must, but wrap up warm if you are going in winter it's very cold in Blaenavon when the wind blows.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic picture of our industrial past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited the mine yesterday (18/12/12), it offered a fantastic insight in to the history of mining in Wales as well as the lives of the miners who worked there. Due to the time of year the Museum was quite quiet and we had a tour guide all to ourselves which was brilliant, the fact that all the guides are ex miners allows them to offer interesting anecdotes and a level of passion that would not otherwise be possible.

The trip underground was very rousing and allows you to get a real picture of what things were like for the men, women and children working down there. I particularly enjoyed the enthusiasm from the guides as well as the guys working down there on maintenance jobs, they also helped make an experience which could be a little scary a lot of fun and thoroughly interesting.

If you have the opportunity to visit I would not miss out on this!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Pit: National Coal Museum also viewed

 
Raglan, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Big Pit: National Coal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Pit: National Coal Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.