We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome in the hills.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhiw Goch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trawsfynydd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rhiw Goch Inn
Save
You added The Rhiw Goch Inn to your Saves list
Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a warm welcome in the hills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Rhiw Goch Inn was to be our place to eat and drink for our stay in north wales for 5 days, the public bar has a lovely log fire to greet you,night or day. the bar staff were all very welcoming and a good choice of drinks at the bar including two real ales which were tested every night and allways passed ! we ate in the bar every night allthough there is a further area behind the bar and a lovely restaurant to eat in too. there was a good choice on the the menu and the meals were all lovely, there is a great sunday carvery and wed/thurs nights they do a two for one offer on the menu which was great value, there was always plenty of staff to serve you and they all had a smile on thier face, good pub grub, good beer ! good staff ,, what more do you need !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    4
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at holiday village so decided to eat here. We thought it was very over priced average pub food did not warrant inflated prices only ate here once preferred getting a meal deal instead from tesco or fish and chips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Such potential. This old building with traditional decor could have been a gem, but it was spoilt by catering to the campsite that surrounded it, being overpriced and employing staff that didn't seem to care much. Not my sort of pub and I could not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were directed to this 'restaurant' as the closest location to the place we were staying.
On arrival all signs direct you to the large car park at the rear, having parked facing the building there are 2 signs immediately apparent directing you to either the bar or 'a la carte' restaurant.
We chose the restaurant, which was perhaps our downfall. The interior of the restaurant looked a little 'tired', and the furniture, coverings etc would not be what I expected in an 'a la carte' restaurant. The restauarnt was not very busy though we still had a 5 minute wait before someone appeared to direct us to a table.
Now, we were slightly disturbed to discover the menu was a plastic folded affair proclaiming to be the menu for both the bar and restaurant. Whilst deciding on our meals I asked the waitress for drinks, only to be informed that they could not provide drinks in the restaurant and I would have to make my own way into the bar and purchase my drinks from there and return with them.
This maybe should have been another warning sign but I duly made my way to the bar.
Now, on entering the bar, the contrast could not have been greater, a nice environment with leather seating, wood panelliing, and a real country estate pub feel to it. This is where we should really have decided to have our meal.
Once the food arrived in the restaurant we were unfortunately met with further disappointment, whilst the lamb shank and the pie ordered were very nice, the use of tinned potatoes, over blanched broccoli and cauliflower detracted from what could have been a very nice meal.
We did finish off the evening with a dessert which again was ok but nothing special. We also felt it didnt provide best value for money, maybe due to its captive audience, with cost of meals and desserts being a little on the high side.

All the staff were quite friendly, though a little young, which may account for the inability to provide drinks within the restaurant.
As the Inn is located adjacent to a holiday village it may be that its appeal is directed more towards these residents rather than passing trade. I would also assume that many residents use their cabins over a wekend and by the sunday evening, the night of our visit, many have left to return home and the Inn does not have the same numbers of clients for which to make an effort.

The food had the potential to be really good but was let down by the accompaniments and the initial impression that the restaurant was perhaps a little more special than was the case. Unfortunately I dont think this is somewhere I would recommend as a restaurant, though by all means visit the bar as this appeared to real place to be.
Not somewhere we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Use the bar, not the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We we saying in one of the beautiful log cabins and walked to the Rhiw Goch , atmosphere was really relaxed , prices reasonable and food really nice, the waitresses made a real fuss of the kids and they absolutely loved it , can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Pub was on the site of Transwynydd Holiday Village, a 10 minute walk from our cabin (take a torch is you are planning on walking back!!) If you eat in this pub Friday - Sunday the meals are quite expensive - weekdays they are 2 For 1 and very good value.
The meals come in large portions and there is more than enough to fill even a big appetite.
Pricewise the Lamb Shank was £14.55 and the Ribs around £11, Burgers £9 each, which is quite pricey for a pub meal, excellent value however when 2 For 1. The food though is very good quality, the Pork Ribs dropping off the bone, the 12oz Burgers fresh and tasty.....good quality meat, served with chips and salad. We sat in two different seats in the bar on two nights and it was very cold despite there being some portable heaters in......however this wont be a problem in the late spring/summer when I would guess they are busier. There are comfy sofas to relax in and the drinks are reasonably priced. There is a separate restaurant part if you prefer with a specials board. Neither night did we have space for a pudding.
There is a small games room, gaming machines, shooting game pool table etc.
Overall, the quality here is great, the staff were friendly and helpful when asked a few questions about the area. Recommended visit if staying local.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived hoping to stay in the bunkhouse at the nearby holiday village but they were shut. Our only other option was to ask at the Pub, and to our luck the bar man at Rhiw Goch Inn went out of his way to contact his boss, phoning his friends and calling anyone he knew to sort us out with a place to stay on New Years Day 2013. The barman got hold of us boss who offered the four of us a place in their static caravan opposite the Inn, for a hugely generous price. We were moved into an extremely comfortable and warm caravan at short notice. We felt very lucky to experience such kindness and generosity; we really felt like they went out of their way to help us out, even though they did not need to!

Thanks again Rhiw Goch Inn, we hope you like the balloon hats we made you! Happy New Year, all the best for 2013.
Holly, Grace, Paul and Nick

Room Tip: Static Caravan is extremely comfortable and very reasonably priced. Perfect for when needing a place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rhiw Goch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhiw Goch Inn

Address: Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Rhiw Goch Hotel Trawsfynydd
The Rhiw Goch Inn Trawsfynydd, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhiw Goch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.