We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for 'pub grub'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhiw Goch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trawsfynydd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rhiw Goch Inn
Save
You added The Rhiw Goch Inn to your Saves list
Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Expensive for 'pub grub'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Trawsfyndd holiday village in a delightful log cabin for the weekend. Had a recommendation to eat at the Rhiw Goch so we booked a table for our first evening. Nice country pub feel when you walk in but horrified to be led to a table in a room that wasn't dissimilar to a school canteen, bright lights and just tables and chairs crammed in. Asked if there was a table in the bar area and thankfully there was: we really would've hated sitting in that big ugly room. 2 of us, my partner and I, had a steak. He had the t bone at £20 and I had the sirloin (or was it rump, sorry can't remember) at £18. Really happy to pay these prices if the food is good, don't mind at all, but it was mediocre. Steaks were tough, chips tasted as though they'd been cooked and then warmed up. I had the pepper sauce which was delicious thank goodness. Daughter had what was supposed to be chicken in a stilton sauce. The chicken breast was filled with stuffing, like a sage and onion stuffing and the whole thing was swimming in a cheddar type cheese sauce. Son in law had a minted burger which he said was lovely. The bill came to £115 inc 2 drinks each which was an awful lot of money for pub grub sitting in a pub bar (or a canteen type room). Such a shame. Staff were ok and were busy. We were thinking of going back on our second night of our weekend away but there was no way after the first night. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    5
    10
    3
See reviews for
16
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

came to the holiday village for a week spent three good nights here , eat here twice food lovely bit to much on plates but great choice . staff very freindly owner happy soul always humming . guy behind bar [young lad ] there on tue wed night very good attitude he makes that place nothing to much does his job well and happy to spend time with tourists to give them info thankyou for great time , jamie , shirley

Room Tip: didnt stay in the rooms however the bar and resturant very nice open fires warm and welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Went to the Rhiw Goch as was staying in a holiday cottage in the main Trawsfynydd village about 2 mile away, The food was fantastic and very large portions - minted lamb burger and also a Curry. Well recomended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

A crowd of us went to rhiw goch for an evening meal, had heard that their sunday carvery was outstanding. Two of us had the duck, presentation wise it was ok, had asked for the sauce to come on the side incase we wouldent like it, but it came on the duck, that dident appear a big problem as we could scrape it off. But as we started eating the duck it was so tough the knife would not cutt through it, and was coverd in fat. The Vegetables and chips ok, we both left over half our duck's and told the waitress. And that was the last we heard, the complaint was dealt with poorly, we paid £14.50 for something we didn't eat, or even get an explenation for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Well worth a visit. Excellent Food and homely atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Staying locally while we were on our Easter biking holiday. We booked for 9 of us. Surroundings fantastic. Price of drinks very reasonable. And the food spot on. Staff very welcoming and very helpful. You'd be silly not to pay a visit.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Popped up from nearby Cadair View Lodge for a recce and a lovely pint of real ale and top up the email with the wifi which was readily made available.

Recce proved excellent with the friendly reception and promising menu so we visited again for a delicious meal. That proved the winner for us so we booked the Sunday carvery and thoroughly enjoyed it.

This pub is run by a lovely team and staff who make you very welcome. Service was top notch, meals were brilliant and the real ale was spot on.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trawsfynydd
3.1 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
8.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Groes Hotel
Tyn-y-Groes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ganllwyd
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pengwern
Pengwern
#2 of 2 in Llan Ffestiniog
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhiw Goch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhiw Goch Inn

Address: Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Rhiw Goch Hotel Trawsfynydd
The Rhiw Goch Inn Trawsfynydd, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhiw Goch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.