We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhiw Goch Inn

The Rhiw Goch Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trawsfynydd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rhiw Goch Inn
Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

A crowd of us went to rhiw goch for an evening meal, had heard that their sunday carvery was outstanding. Two of us had the duck, presentation wise it was ok, had asked for the sauce to come on the side incase we wouldent like it, but it came on the duck, that dident appear a big problem as we could scrape it off. But as we started eating the duck it was so tough the knife would not cutt through it, and was coverd in fat. The Vegetables and chips ok, we both left over half our duck's and told the waitress. And that was the last we heard, the complaint was dealt with poorly, we paid £14.50 for something we didn't eat, or even get an explenation for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    4
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Well worth a visit. Excellent Food and homely atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Staying locally while we were on our Easter biking holiday. We booked for 9 of us. Surroundings fantastic. Price of drinks very reasonable. And the food spot on. Staff very welcoming and very helpful. You'd be silly not to pay a visit.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Popped up from nearby Cadair View Lodge for a recce and a lovely pint of real ale and top up the email with the wifi which was readily made available.

Recce proved excellent with the friendly reception and promising menu so we visited again for a delicious meal. That proved the winner for us so we booked the Sunday carvery and thoroughly enjoyed it.

This pub is run by a lovely team and staff who make you very welcome. Service was top notch, meals were brilliant and the real ale was spot on.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed in the Rhiw Goch cottage for 2 nights. We were the first guests living in the cottage - all was brand new - the kitchen, the furniture, the line etc. The Owner (Mr. Riley) is just amazing - doing everything himself (buying all the stuff for the cottage, serving breakfast to the guests, bringing flowers etc. ) and so positive all the time, all charm and smiles! We liked him a lot!
The cottage is not big but very roomy (3 bedrooms, 2 of which have 2-level beds, so 11 people can sleep there quite comfy! ideal for families with chidren). The living room has got 2 leather sofas, an armchair, a table, a fire place, a TV-set, a stand lamp; the kitchen is fully equiped with all kinds of dishware, there is a dish-washing machine, a fridge, an oven etc. The bathroom has a shower and a bath (and a window with am amazing view!)

Breakfast is served in the Rhiw Goch Bar and includes cereals, toasts and cooked English breakfast (potatoes, tomatoes, sausages, mashrooms, eggs..)

The location is great - hills and sheep all around, all quite and green and sunny and just peacefull and beautiful! a very relaxing countryside place.

Loved the place, the owner, the service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

During our 3 night stay a Cae Gwyn Farm just down the road, we ate at the pub/restaurant 2 out of the three nights. The first night it was just my partner and I, I was very impressed with the amount of choice on the menu in the vegetarian section, more than I have seen in most places. We were also impressed with the number of specials chalked up on the walls, starters, mains and puddings.
The second evening we ate there we were joined by 4 others, who were all equally impressed with the variety, portions and quality of the meals. The waitresses were very helpful and friendly, I couldn't fault their service. The speed of the preparation of the meals was spot on also!
We also stayed around after the meals and had a few drinks and played pool and table football in the games room which was good fun, the pub was lively and friendly and had a fun atmosphere. The added bonus was that when we mentioned we were staying at cae Gwyn we received a 10% discount off our total bill, brilliant stuff!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011 via mobile

7 of us ranging between age 46 down to 7 dined here 3 times during our weeks stay at the holiday village.

the service was excellent, staff were always friendly and helpful. and we never waited long for our food.

on the whole the food was good except for very undercooked veg on the roast dinner. the portions were huge and we only managed to make it to desert once! the children really enjoyed their meals.

the only downside really was the prices. a bit steep for what is basically pub food.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rhiw Goch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhiw Goch Inn

Address: Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Also Known As:
The Rhiw Goch Hotel Trawsfynydd
The Rhiw Goch Inn Trawsfynydd, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhiw Goch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Rhiw Goch Inn to your Saves list