We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sausage I've tasted in a long time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berriew
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lion Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added The Lion Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
on the B4390, Berriew SY21 8PQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Berriew B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Sausage I've tasted in a long time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Lion Hotel for 2 nights over the easter weekend, my partner and nephew. Great to find somwhere we could take the dog too !

Rooms where clean and bed extremeley comfortable. .
We ate at the restraunt on both evenings and all emptied our plates.

Karaoke on the Friday made an interesting and enjoyable change.


The delightful village of Berriew is set in a beautiful location for walking, cycling and generally taking in some of the best landscapes Wales has to offer.

We will be back.The dog loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
49
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights here predominately as dog friendly. We had two lovely breakfasts and two delicious evening meals. Vegetarian options limited but I had veg lasagne and was very tasty . We never used our car after parking up walked to newtown and Welshpool along the canal from Berriew most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We have a free upgrade to room two very pleasant not disturbed by any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the Lion numerous times when it was owned by Beryl and Trudy, so wondered what it would be like under its new ownership.

We were given a warm welcome by Martin, who offered help with our luggage. One of his staff took us up to our usual room (no 2) and asked if he should switch on the radiator and to let them know if we needed anything. The room hadn't changed, except that the dressing table and stool were no longer there (we never used them - their removal makes the room more spacious) and there were no biscuits as in the past.

The main restaurant menu is now shorter, with 5 or 6 choices for each course. Sadly, like some other recent reviewers, we discovered when ordering that at least one starter, one main and one dessert were not available, although an alternative dessert was offered. However, the food we chose was well cooked, well presented and plentiful - my wife asked for her steak to be cooked rare - it was and she pronounced it very tender. Breakfast was also good (although porridge is no longer available).

I imagine things are still settling down, so give it a chance.

Room Tip: Over the years, we have found Room 2 suits us best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We's never been here before but picked it up from the good pub guide. As we were sat in the bar we overheard a conversation saying the pub had changed hands in the last few weeks. I have no idea what the place was like before so can't compare. This is a homely pub serving a couple of decent real ales. However, unless you like your food fresh from the freezer, don't eat here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

went with freinds all i can say it was a disaster poor menu one meal ineadable 2 meals came with different potatoes from order steaks not done as ordered and no vegatables just a few onion rings only 1 choice of red wine would never go back.sad really because the last time we went
i would have recommended it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Popped into The Lion Hotel in Berriew on a Friday night nice atmosphere. Best beer battered fish and chips had in a long time. Batter light and crispy, fish white and flaky, tartar sauce freshly made. Good service. Really worth trying. Will go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales (United Kingdom)
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Considering the fact that there are lots of changes going on, including it seems a change of ownership, we had a very pleasant, unhurried lunch here and look forward to returning when all has settled down. All the meals we have had in the past have been excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lion Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel & Restaurant

Address: on the B4390, Berriew SY21 8PQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Berriew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Berriew
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel & Restaurant Berriew, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.