We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Pwll Deri

YHA Pwll Deri
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trefasser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YHA Pwll Deri
Save
You added YHA Pwll Deri to your Saves list
Castell Mawr, Trefasser SA64 0LR , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed one night whilst walking the coast path. We were lucky enough to be in Room 4 (obviously the one to go for) with the most amazing views. The view from the dining area is stunning too. The hostel is self catering only, but the kitchen is fairly small. Since we walked in that didn't bother us as our cooking was very minimal. The lounge is nice but also quite small and slightly cold. The volunteer wardens were welcoming and trying hard. Many thanks to the party of 15 cyclists who had to leave in the small hours to catch the ferry for the next leg of their charity trip: they managed to get up and out with too much disturbance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
6
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

A wonderful hostel in an amazing cliff top location, this did not disappoint. I can't wait to return for a few days as I only had one night here on my way to Skomer Island. We stayed in Room 4 with a splendid view. Only criticism, our room and bathroom was not as clean as it should have been, compared with our room at Poppit Sands, which is also volunteer run and was absolutely spotless. The ensuite loo had a huge, ugly, plastic loo roll holder for some reason, please remove it!

Room Tip: Take lots of goodies to eat and drink, it's isolated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed here with 2 teens over October half -term. It was amazing, were very fortunate to have room 4 with a double bed and 2 twins, en-suite and two windows overlooking the best views. Facilities were great, however, I can imagine it would be congested in the kitchen when the hostel was full! Amazing dining area and very cosy lounge with open fire. We had the best warden in the world, the amazing Yvonne who really made our stay, we all miss her cheery laugh and smiley face, the most amazing warden ever! Highly recommended and we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 4 proper beds, ensuite and 2 windows, 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankee in Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Pwll Deri is a fantastip place to stay. The location on the cliff offers breathtaking views of the Welsh coast. If you had those views at a hotel, you would be charged ten times the cost of the youth hostel! The hostel sleeps 22 people. When I was there it was fairly empty; therefore, there was plenty of space to move about. I would imagine that during peak season it could get rather crowded. The self-catering kitchen is well equipped and there was plenty of space in the many refrigerators that were provided. It is definitely out in the middle of nowhere so stock up at the grocery store in Goodwick/ Fishguard. The lounge is cozy for those rainy days and there is even a drying room to get rid of all your wet gear. I would definitely recommend this hostel - although rather reluctantly because I don't want too many people to find out and fill it up!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Unbelievable views from this hostel. Our room was clean, with ensuite bath. Beds were comfy and sheet, duvet and pillows were provided. An excellent night sleep. The only complaint about this hostel is the kitchen is a bit small and was crowded around dinner time. Convenient to coastal path. Self catering.

  • Liked — Views, cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — Kitchen was too small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Pwll Deri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Pwll Deri

Address: Castell Mawr, Trefasser SA64 0LR , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Trefasser
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Trefasser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Pwll Deri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.