We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay - and hope to be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trenewydd Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Dogmaels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trenewydd Farm Cottages
Save
You added Trenewydd Farm Cottages to your Saves list
St Dogmaels, St. Dogmaels SA43 3BJ, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First stay - and hope to be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We found Trenewydd Farm online quite by chance when my partner was attending a course in the area and what a find! Linda couldn't do enough for us and had even left a selection of family DVDs and books in our cottage for our arrival. Next day, our three-year old son was thrilled to feed the rabbits and guinea pigs, meet the Shetland ponies and watch the chickens. We stayed in the smallest cottage, which was plenty big enough for three and probably the most well-equipped of any we've ever stayed in, even down to weighing scales and a dishwasher. We certainly hope to visit again in the future, hopefully in the summer when we can take advantage of the lovely outdoor pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

A very memorable stay
We stayed at the 5 bed room cottage during late August 2011 and I must say it was a great experience. The location is great – secluded and quiet.. but very accessible to nearby Tesco’s and many attractions nearby. Centrally located to Snowdon and South Wales.
The pool and the mini animal farm were a constant source of attraction to my 3 year old daughter. It’s been 2 months and she still talks of the pony and the labbit (she still can’t spell “r”). Very clean and tidy rooms. Delightful hosting and both Tony and Linda made us feel more than at home.
Well a 5 bed room cottage with a 5 star feeling. Thank you Tony and Linda. Looking forward to our next trip soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have been visiting Wales and England for the last 9 years, we came across this gem in 2008, and it is the first time we have ever returned to the same place. Tony and Linda are very welcoming and the cottages are just lovely. We have stayed in 3 different cottages on the farm, and each one was lovely. We have never had an issue with the electricity and the most we ever paid for the week was £3 or £4 pounds, and that was in a house with 7 people. The swings, slide and football area are an added bonus. The pool is just lovely, very clean as is everything on the farm. Animal feeding time, which is around 5 everyday was a great hit with our kids aged 2 to 9. We are just back and are already looking forward to next year. Thanks Tony and Linda,,,,,,,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My friend and I stayed three nights here late April/early May. There was plenty of spaces to park. We were greeted by Linda who was extremely lovely and showed us round our cottage and ensured we had everything we needed including making up an extra room for us. We found a welcome tray of hot drinks and slices of Bara Brith. The cottage was very homely, nicely decorated, extremely clean and the owners had kindly heated hot water ready for our arrival. There were plenty of leaflets regarding tourist information, along with DVDs, books and Freeview TV if an evening in was the preference. Linda also took the time to give advice about local attractions. 

As the B&B rooms were unavailable Linda came personally every morning to the cottage to cook and provide a full breakfast at our chosen time- what amazing service!

We made full use of the welcoming pool on two of the days, which was lovely and warm considering we were swimming evenings in April.  

Linda and Tony have plenty of animals, we sadly didn't have time to visit the sheep but we saw the chickens. The ponies were very friendly, as were the rabbits and guinea pigs. Katie the cat was shy at first but eventually he allowed us to pat his head. Linda took the time again to explain the life stories of some of the animals - worth a listen. We were able to feed the rabbits and ponies - carrots seem a good choice. If, like me, and you are a big kid at heart feed Galaxy and Yorkie and get a cuddle with George the rabbit (the friendliest, excitable foot thumping one!!). 

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

On arrival, the cottage was lovely and warm, nicely decorated and even tea & cake was ready for our arrival, which was most appreciated after a long drive. The kids loved the lambs (Bill & Ben) particularly being allowed to feed them too. Linda was a most gracious host and happy to recommend nearby food and drink options plus attractions. The pool looked lovely but not quite ready for our stay, it was a little cold however to perhaps go swimming outside. Rooms very comfy and kitchen equiped with practically everything you need to self cater. We will be revisiting very soon and recommending to all our friends & family. Thank you Linda & Tony.

Room Tip: Family friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed here after Christmas, and booked several of the cottages so our friends (also with young children) could all be together but have the home comforts that make travelling with small children much easier. The cottages are all right next to each other, centred on the driveway to the farm. We didn't make use of the garden or patios but the children enjoyed the small play area, ride-on toys and the animals (though one of the shetlands nipped our child's finger!). The houses were very clean and well-equipped, and the owners are on hand to sort out any problems. We had one maintenance issue which was resolved the same day. Everything was in good working order and we appreciated having a cot, stairgate & highchair provided. (The highchair only had a three point harness so was not ideal for my active toddler). The living area in our cottage (Ty Mawr) had plenty of space and seating and accommodated a large number of us in the evenings.

The owners were helpful and friendly and have a very thorough approach to maintaining the properties.

We spent most of our time walking or on the beach rather than visiting local sights and attractions, though we enjoyed lunch in Cardigan.

The biggest drawback to the property was the electricity charge: you are allowed 50 free units (per half week) and any further usage is charged at 10p a unit which we discovered mounted up extremely quickly with use of the heaters and hot water.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Check whether the pool is open for use.
Enjoy the CD/dvd/video/book libraries - watch films in your room or in the spacious lounge. But - make sure you can work the tv, remotes and dvd players etc first while the owners are around to ask.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trenewydd Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenewydd Farm Cottages

Address: St Dogmaels, St. Dogmaels SA43 3BJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in St. Dogmaels
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven immaculate holiday cottages or Bed & Breakfast accommodation varying from romantic cottage for 2 with 4-poster bed to larger cottages ideal for family reunions/groups up to 40. Relax by the swimming pool after walking the coastal path, watching the dolphins in Cardigan Bay or enjoying our many local beaches - a typical day at Trenewydd. Pampering Packages in the privacy of your own cottage and many Outdoor Activities available locally. Children's play areas with football field, swings, see-saw and animals to feed and cuddle. There is something for everyone here at Trenewydd and many memories are made here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trenewydd Farm Cottages St. Dogmaels, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trenewydd Farm Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.