We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay at the Beggars Reach Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beggars Reach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beggars Reach Hotel to your Saves list
Beggars Reach Hotel
Burton | Milford Haven, Burton SA73 1PD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Short stay at the Beggars Reach Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I went there as the other reviews seemed good and we wanted to explore the area. A lovely place to relax and walk around the grounds and is used for weddings due to the great settings. Food and service was very good with friendly and pleasant staff. There is also a cheaper restaurant a few minutes drive down near the waters edge with views towards the cleddau bridge and marina.
Would recommend a short stay at Beggars Reach or a longer break but more expensive than some others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    17
    20
    15
See reviews for
49
42
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A week ago Sept 9th we stayed at this hotel. We wanted to stay in a Hotel to explore that part of Wales. The reviews sounded good as a 3 star hotel. The location was nice although difficult to get to. Very few people staying at the Hotel which could have been a sign. The room was not good and needed and needed in our view redecoating. The batroom was not clean and the mat in the bath for the shower was so dirty I took it to reception who were disgusted with it as well.
The dinner was very poor and my wife and I could hardly eat any of it. Upon complaint they offer us a free meal, but frankly we did not want more of the same.
On check out I requested that they should consider a reduction given our meal - which in fairness they granted this.

Room Tip: Suggest you take a look at the room and bathroom before you commit to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had booked into the Hotel for the night before catching the ferry from Fishguard. We'd spent a lot of time picking the hotel and had let them know that we were travelling from Kent and would be arriving late.

What a shock to find that they had booked us in on the wrong night: despite the e-mail confirming the booking. The night team kept the restaurant open for us while they found an alternative place to stay. However we were still charged full price for the meal and could not relax as we had to move on immediately.

Next morning had a call to apologise again and offer a refund on the meal. Shame when we got home and saw our bank statement ~ only partial on the meal. Seemed like a half hearted apology.

Room Tip: Phone when booking to confirm that they have booked you in on the right night! Don't rely on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here while visiting Pembrokeshire. Superb breakfast -nice having fish as a change from the standard fry up. Didn't have the evening meal but heard it was good. Staff lovely and it was nice to chat to the owner too, who made us feel very welcome. Hostess tray in lovely bedroom had biscuits and horlicks! Nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Chose the Beggars as our wedding location. Outstanding service from Will, Gill and his team. Excellent food and exactly the wedding we wanted. Thank you so much, you have given us the treasured memories we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just had 2 lovely nights at Beggars Reach hotel. Was there for a wedding. The room was comfortable, and very quiet. The hotel staff were friendly, and very professional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochriw, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited this hotel in July from Thursday to Saturday.We stayed in room 11 which was really big with a living area and bedroom. We had evening meal which was lovely and the breakfast was good also.The grounds were really nice for having photos with the wedding party.Again the food you couldn't fault. Had a lovely stay and would deffinately recommend.

Room Tip: Room 11 very spacious but very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beggars Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggars Reach Hotel

Address: Burton | Milford Haven, Burton SA73 1PD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Village Rectory and now a beautiful hotel with 30 en suite double bedded rooms all with FREE WiFi. The hotel is a little Welsh secret waiting to be discovered ! The hotel is set in a tranquil and pretty spot near Milford Haven,Haverfordwest and Pembroke. It has 9 acres of attractive landscaped gardens and is surrounded by the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside. There is a bar, lounge and restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with locally sourced produce.The hotel has a very pretty Orangery and Terrace overlooking the hotel gardens and can also cater for conferencs and banqueting with space for up to 180+ for a large event or 300 informaly. There is free wifi and parking on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Beggars Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggars Reach Burton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beggars Reach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.