We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The BlueBell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The BlueBell Hotel to your Saves list
The BlueBell Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 The Parade, Neath SA11 1RA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Balloch, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter and I spent a couple of nights here last week. It is a lovely boutique hotel with modern décor. Our room was a generous size with living space and comfortable, clean beds and air conditioning. We had a full breakfast cooked to order both mornings - very tasty!
The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel is the lack of parking facilities. There is a large car park at the station nearby but I was reluctant to park there as I was collecting my daughter from a wedding reception late at night and did not relish the thought of walking there on my own. There are some spaces available on the street without restrictions from 6pm - 8am but it meant having to drive around the town several times in order to secure one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    52
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
72
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My brother and I stayed at the Bluebell hotel for 2 nights and were not disappointed. The room was nice and spacious with twin beds and a nice living area space with a big flat screen TV and wifi. The bathroom was lovely with a big bath and shower and all the necessary toiletries. Breakfast was really nice, cooked to order as well as a selection of pastries, cereals and fruits. The ladies at reception were also very helpful. The only thing I would say to be aware of is the parking. The hotel does have a car park but the spaces are very limited! Other than that, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stopped here several times over the last few years and its always a favourite place to stay.

Service is always good with the staff being friendly and attentive.

The rooms are very smart having all mod cons (mini bar, aircon, desk, chairs etc), perhaps a bit dark with the brown décor but the beds never fail to give you a good nights sleep, excellent.

Breakfast is excellent if you are going for the cooked option. I would echo what others have said about the continental option, its lacking given what other hotels offer now.

If I have one niggle about the hotel its the parking or lack there of. The staff go out of their way to squeeze your car into the basement (holds around 4 cars) or the small car park next to the hotel (room for around 5/6) cars. The problem can be trying to get your car out in the morning when others are parked in front of you as they have used every possible parking inch. Free local on road parking is available depending on the time of day you arrive and depart.

All in all a great hotel despite the parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Bluebell many times and have enjoyed the spacious rooms and general ambience of the hotel. It is true the rooms can be very dark and working at night is difficult.
The most disappointing has been the lack of choice of the continental breakfast menu. The fruit is usually picked over and I have been down just half an hour after the start of breakfast to find only some miserable slices of plum and thin slices of orange and grapefruit. The choice of cereal is pitiful and if I were to rely on a solely continental breakfast would find it completely inadequate.
The cooked breakfast menu offers a better selection but again when I requested scrambled eggs and salmon was told they were waiting for the fish to be delivered by the fishmonger!!
It seems there is a problem with the ordering process and surely it is the responsibility of the chef to ensure there is ample stock to meet the requirements of the menu.
Unfortunately a basically god hotel is marred by indifferent kitchen staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night recently whilst visiting Neath for business.

The staff at reception are very friendly and helpful. The room is big, modern and clean. The bed is a good size and extremely comfortable.

My stay included a full breakfast (where as my booking only indicated a continental breakfast was included) so this was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast was truly excellent and a very good start to my day!

I do not know the area very well but the location seemed centralised. I was on the doorstep of what looked like a main high street so there is a choice of pubs and restaurants if you fancy taking a wander.

My only slight criticism is the hotel car park. It is horrendously small and narrow, so if there is more than one car already parked and you have a larger car like I do, parking and even exiting the car park is a royal pain. I felt very uncomfortable leaving my brand new car in such a narrow area with the fear that someone would hit it on their way out!

Overall though, this hotel is an excellent standard and great value for money. I would happily stay here again and I fully understand why it is rated so highly!


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Haven`t stayed here. Neath is not a holiday resort!!
I have often had lunch at La Mancha, the hotel`s restaurant and occasionally dinner.
Modern, clean surroundings, relaxing atmosphere and lovely service.
Set and a la carte menus fresh with a good choice, Meat and fish displayed in a glass case at the counter.
Starters, mains and puddings always enjoyable.
Set menus good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for the Wales Dragon Ride Sportive.

On the plus side

Rooms huge, well appointed, well maintained, clean - can't fault them.

Staff are superb, very accommodating, very pleasant. By way of example, when the chef understood that there was a huge bike ride going on and that most of the guests would be leaving very early in the morning he offered to open the kitchen and serve an early morning breakfast - service like that is hard to find.

On the negative side

The area is pretty run down, this is not in a quaint village but rather the middle of the town, we were there on a Saturday and Sunday evenings, there was a very noisy nightclub down the road on both nights - suggest asking for a room at the back rather than the front of the hotel to avoid the issue.

Overall a very decent hotel - with excellent staff

Room Tip: Back of the hotel at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The BlueBell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BlueBell Hotel

Address: 14 The Parade, Neath SA11 1RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BlueBell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acquaint yourself with the Bluebell, Neath's only four-star boutique hotel, located in the heart of the town centre, within walking distance of the town’s key amenities and attractions. Our hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the stunning Neath Valleys, with its many scenic walks, and celebrated waterfalls. The hotel offers guests excellent hotel accommodation, superb dining facilities and secured on-site parking. The Bluebell Hotel is the perfect choice for those looking for something a little bit special in which to celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The BlueBell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebell Hotel Neath
The BlueBell Hotel Neath, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BlueBell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.