We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Standard - Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The BlueBell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The BlueBell Hotel to your Saves list
The BlueBell Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 The Parade, Neath SA11 1RA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Standard - Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just has a weekend break to visit Swansea but decide to stay at the Bluebell Hotel Neath due to the excellent reviews, we were not disappointed. The room is decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The Staff are friendly and helpful. We only stayed B&B so can not comment on the restaurant for evening meal, but for breakfast it was very good. The standard of the Hotel far exceeds the price, I would in future happily pay more. I do not say that often.

Room Tip: Its only problem, and its not the Bluebell's fault, is that it is on The Parade so you do get no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    58
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
81
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised, what a gem. Had a lovely large room, beautifully decorated with a comfortable bed and fantastic bath towels. The staff were all friendly and helpful, directing us to a place to park the car as their private parking was full. This hotel has brought Neath into the 21st century with it's decor and comfort. It is very reasonably priced and the location is great for the centre of the town. If you are a light sleeper, i would try to get a room at the back as it was quite noisy staying in a room that faced the main road. We ate in the restaurant attached "La Mancha" and had a lovely meal. It was unusual to go up and order your food from a sort of counter where it was displayed in it's raw state - but it was great to see that it was really good quality produce. I had the Gambas to start, they were huge and very tasty. They restaurant staff were efficient and attentive. Richard who oversees the restaurant is the most charming, helpful and friendly person you could every meet. He made you feel like a valued customer and checked to make sure you were happy with your meal and the service, his attention to detail is exceptional. This helped to make the evening wonderful. We will definitely be back to this hotel and most certainly book a table in this restaurant when we do. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back. We had a room at the front and it was difficult to get to sleep as pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

overnight stop en route to west coast of Wales. What a find, and all thansk to TA too.. thanks previous reviewers. Can only agree that in a town that has some less than boutique shop fronts, this was gorgeous. Friendly satff, hotel and restaurant, lovely room - at the front, a bit noisy from the karaoke but we sorted the windows to shut fully eventually. Huge room, good toiletries and big mugs for tea / coffee.. a particular need of my travel buddy! Breakfast was superb, as weas dinner in their restaurant.
can't go wrong here, will be back if passing although won't make a special journey just to visit Neath itself.

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper, ask to be at the back on a weekend night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Like a reviewer before us, we spent a night there after taking our son to Swansea University. We arrived there to be told 'unfortunately' we have had to upgrade your room. We had a fantastic stay in a lovely room, spacious bathroom with bath and shower. The bed was so comfortable and spacious and even the pillows are worth a mention!
The clean and pleasant atmosphere was apparent in every part of the hotel, the staff were lovely and welcoming and the breakfast on Sunday morning was really nice, with a great choice.
We too have decided that we will be booking this hotel whenever we visit Swansea, so Lesleywineglass, we might be fighting you for a room!
Finally, great value for money is how we would rate this hotel. Thanks Bluebell, we look forward to seeing you again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stopped at the Bluebell for one night after having taken our son to Swansea University. On arrival, 'check in' was really friendly. We went to our first floor room and, upon entering, were really pleasantly surprised to find the high standard of accommodation for the price we had paid - we had previously stayed at another Neath hotel not very far away, and had paid a good deal more, for a far inferior room. The room was exceptionally clean, chic, well set out and modern. Next morning, we went to breakfast - what a choice - continental, Welsh, English, Vegetarian. We ordered English and were not disappointed - very hot and tasty.

On a slight downside, parking is extremely limited, and is the only thing we could fault this hotel for - but don't let this put you off as there is public parking nearby.

We will be visiting Swansea on a regular basis over the next three years whilst our son studies, and this will be our regular port of call.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The room my husband and I had was fab - large, airy and modern and very luxurious! There was a tv in the wall in the bathroom so we could watch it in the bath. The bed was huge and very comfortable with crisp white bed linen and our clothes were hung in a wardrobe that slid away making more room in the bedroom!
There was a large writing desk with another tv suspended over it and, in the window, a table and chairs. There was even a slide away kitchen sink area!
The restaurant, La Mancha, serves a good selection of freshly cooked fish and meat, that you can choose yourself from the counter and it all has a Spanish theme. The deserts are delicious!
There is a small underground secure parking area and also a small parking area at the side of the hotel.
The staff were lovely - very friendly, polite and helpful, and the general manager took the time to see we ok too.
All in all, this was a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend The Bluebell to anyone who likes a modern, classy hotel with that special touch (and great food!)

Room Tip: The rooms all have a different theme - all fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

You know the moment ... You have booked a hotel or the reviews you checked on tripadvisor, but pulling up outside you wonder ... Is this the right place ?

I was on a one night business trip and booked at short notice , but rather than stay at the usual holiday inns , thought I would try somewhere different... I was glad I did.

The hotels only draw back is limited parking , around 5 spaces outside and 2 underground ( to access these you need to checkin at reception).
The celebrity room I had was huge , newly refurbished and comfortable.
It does face the road and the subway sandwich shop and is at a road junction ,so could imagine it being noisy come Friday and Saturday night.
There is double glazing which helps , but maybe triple glazing is needed.
The restraunt is Mediterranean based , with a chalk board menu selection of fresh fish , steaks and other dishes.
Is reasonably priced and of good quality.
There is also a daily early bird special , from which I had a very nice melon balls and fresh fruit followed by gammon and pineapple.
There is a good selection of wines and beers plus liqueur and standard coffees.
The staff are all very friendly and welcoming.
The breakfast choice is ample with English or welsh breakfast( with cockles).

if in the area for business or pleasure give it a try if you fancy something different from the usual hotel chains.

Room Tip: Ones at the back may be quieter ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The BlueBell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BlueBell Hotel

Address: 14 The Parade, Neath SA11 1RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BlueBell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acquaint yourself with the Bluebell, Neath's only four-star boutique hotel, located in the heart of the town centre, within walking distance of the town’s key amenities and attractions. Our hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the stunning Neath Valleys, with its many scenic walks, and celebrated waterfalls. The hotel offers guests excellent hotel accommodation, superb dining facilities and secured on-site parking. The Bluebell Hotel is the perfect choice for those looking for something a little bit special in which to celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The BlueBell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebell Hotel Neath
The BlueBell Hotel Neath, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BlueBell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.